Food Textures

Happy Friday friends!!! 😀

I don’t know about you but I am so ready for the weekend! All that stands between me and the weekend are a splint critique and a presentation.

Since I know you’re all wondering, the winner of my Lush Nuts giveaway is:

Melissa from Hungry Healthy Happy!!!! Congrats girlie :). Email me your shipping information asap!

———-

So I’ve been loving my granola that I was sent last week from Love Grown Foods. Last night I had a super tasty bowl of the Apple Walnut Delight with some vanilla chobani- a total winner of a combination!

All mixed together!

I’m trying to savor the granola for as long as possible because it’s so good! Although, when I think about it, I probably wouldn’t have eaten this granola a couple of years ago because of the coconut. I now like coconut but I used to absolutely hate it! And it wasn’t because I didn’t like the taste…it was the texture that I didn’t like.

You see, I’m a texture person. And by that I mean there are a lot of foods that I don’t like because the texture freaks me out. Here are some of the major ones:

Peaches: the fuzz gives me the willies (yes I did just say willies)

Bananas: Ok, I love bananas but I hate banana strings. Thank goodness you can get rid of them and still eat the banana!

Raw Broccoli: OMG I absolutely cannot eat raw broccoli. The way those little balls of the floret (I’m sorry I don’t know what else to call them) crumble in my mouth as I’m eating them make me want to gag. Actually I usually do gag when I eat raw broccoli. It’s pretty much an automatic response haha.

Runny Eggs: I only like my eggs cooked completely. If the yolk isn’t cooked, the sliminess is just blech….so gross. I kind of wish I liked runny eggs because then I’d be able to enjoy them sunny side up! Maybe someday…

Those are just four of the food textures that freak me out and thus I cannot and will not eat. And there are plenty more but I won’t bore you. I know…I’m weird :). I can’t help it. I’ve always been a picky eater but thankfully my palate has been able to expand as I’ve gotten older! At least I can still maintain a healthy diet eating other foods!

Oh, and I’ll leave you with this website I came across last night. It lets you click on a body part and then it will show you a bunch of different exercises you can do for that area!

Exercise Finder

Hope you all have a fantastic Friday!

Questions:

Do you have any foods that you don’t like because of the texture?

Have you ever been or are you a picky eater?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on October 21, 2011, in About Me, Giveaway, Random. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Thank you for sharing this website… I am definitely bookmarking it!

    And that is too funny about these texture issues you have! I personally don’t have them, but my mom certainly does! She also hates the peach fuzz (it gives her the willies too 🙂 ) and she also hates slimy things- papaya and mangos will never cross her lips! I used to be such a picky eater when I was younger! Well I was just quite unwilling to try anything new, so I probably did like the stuff I turned down, but never gave it a chance

  2. Nope – not a picky eater at all! I eat about anything you put in front of me. It’s a blessing and a curse, really. haha

  3. I’m hardly picky at all – I’ll pretty much eat anything. As for textures that weird me out, I’m not a huge fan of cooked mushrooms, tapioca pudding, and flaan because of the texture. They don’t make me gag or anything, and I’ll eat it if I have to, but the “slimy” texture of them kinda weirds me out.

  4. I’ve seen that website before it’s awesome!!! That granola is soo good. I’m holding on to the last bit I have to savor it too! haha. I don’t like the banana strings either but they’re not that bad. I pretty much eat anything though. I can’t really think of anything that really freaks me out!

  5. I can’t eat cottage cheese, seriously makes me shudder to think about it. I also can’t stand sweet potatoes, squash and zucchini because of the texture. I’m thinking about trying each of them roasted to see if I’ll like them then.

    LOL @ the broccoli, I used to HATE it cooked and would only eat it raw; now I’ll take broccoli anyway I can get it. Oh and the banana strings totally gross me out, I have to take them off!

  6. I used to be a lot pickier than I am now. But a couple of things I don’t like due to the texture are cottage cheese, flan, and eggs (unless they are scrambled or in an omlette).

    Cottage cheese totally makes me want to barf haha. I can’t even look at it!

  7. I am not a picky eater at all. I used to be all my friend’s family’s favorite dinner guest when I was little because I wasn’t picky and would eat anything they put in front of me. I used to request the adult menu at restaurants because I wanted more options than just hot dogs and mac and cheese:)

    I do agree with you on the banana strings though. I peal them all off before eating.

  8. Oh YAY! Thanks, doll! That made my day much better after a rough morning. 🙂

    Textures don’t usually bother me too much. I come from a big family, so we weren’t allowed to be picky! If we didn’t like it, we didn’t eat, so was never picky. 🙂

  9. I really don’t like pumpkin pie because of the texture! I like pumpkin flavor but I just can’t get past the mushy texture of pumpkin pie

  10. I’m the exact same way!!! I can’t eat eggs, any kind of eggs, I gag everytime. I sooooo want to be able to eat eggs, I watch my boyfriends cook his eggs and I get so jealous, I just can’t stomach them. Mushrooms and tomatoes are the same. I also can’t eat any kind of melons, as soon as I bit into them I gag. I’ve always hated milk, even as a baby my mom said I wouldn’t drink milk, I don’t know what it is, but I put almond milk in my cereal, but in my whole 24 years, I’ve never had a glass of milk! There’s many more too, I’m weird like that too haha, I want to be able to like these foods, I get jealous when people eat them and say how good they are, I’m sure they probably taste good, I just can’t handle the texture haha

  11. I love dippy eggs, but if the white is a little undercooked and runny I can’t eat it. I’m not a picky eater but there are some textures that make me want to throw up.

  12. BROCCOLI, RUNNY EGGS AND PEACHES…..uh oh, those are all my favorite things ha:) I agree about the banana strings, those are just wrong. That website is awesome!

  13. I hate raw broccoli and banana strings too! Haha 🙂

  14. pretty sure i have and will eat anything. I love cavier, snails, raw broccoli, eggs, etc. I’ve even had frog legs. Scary I know, but they are good!

  15. I used to be such a picky eater. I went through a phase where all I could stomach was cheese sandwiches on white bread. I was bad. Now I’ll try anything as long as it’s vegan!

  1. Pingback: Eating Veggies

Leave a Reply

