Stress Relief

Hi friends!! 😀

**You can still enter my Rocco DiSpirito book giveaway so make sure you do!!**

So, this week instead of attending class I am going “out in the field” and observing occupational therapists working. On Monday I was in a hospital and I saw several things that were really overwhelming for me. At the end of the day I felt kind of stressed, tired, and overwhelmed by everything. I wasn’t planning on working out that day because I was so tired, but as soon as I got home I realized that I needed a way to relieve my stress. So, I headed to the gym and got a quick workout in. I felt so much better, and after watching some tv and talking to Chris and my friends my overwhelming feelings were gone!

Finding healthy ways to relieve stress is really important. We all experience stress sometimes- that’s just a natural part of life. How you respond to stress can really help determine how you will ultimately feel.

I thought I’d share some of the ways that I relieve stress.

1. Exercise

Working out not only helps me clear my head and thoughts, but sometimes the pounding, jerking around, pushing types of movement can help take out some anger!

2. Talking to Chris, friends, and family.

Having social support when I’m feeling down or things are hard is so important for me! Sometimes I just need to vent and get things out and other times I need to talk through them. Either way, I love knowing that I can call someone or talk to them in person and they can help validate my feelings, calm me down, and offer suggestions.

3. Turning on some music and dancing!

Sometimes, just listening to upbeat music and “dancing it out” is just really cathartic for me! And I always get reminded of these dance scenes:

4. Watching some tv.

Watching something mindless or entertaining is a great way to get my mind off of why I am stressed and it often allows me to calm down!

5. Do you something that I love.

Sometimes reading, writing, or blogging is a great way for me to relieve stress. When I’m doing something that I truly enjoy I can start to feel better and clear my mind!

6. Taking a hot shower.

I realize that taking a hot shower may be hard on your skin, but I LOVE it. Something about it just calms me down and makes me feel so good :).

7. Petting Zoey

There is something about petting an animal that is really soothing. Whenever I pet Zoey I just feel more happy and relaxed. Plus, she’s a cutie so that helps too.

8. Getting some fresh air.

Usually when I get fresh air I go for a walk, so the combo of walking and breathing in the all of the smells is really peaceful. It also gives me time to think about what’s causing my stress.

I have plenty of other ways that I relieve stress, but those are some of the big ways that enable me to do so! I hate being stressed and feeling anxious about something. It’s much better for me to calm myself down!

Hope you all have a great Wednesday!

 

Questions:

Have you ever been really overwhelmed by something that you’re working toward becoming? How did you handle it?

What are some ways that you relieve stress?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on October 25, 2011, in About Me, Mind. Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. Glad to see you’re feeling better!! 🙂 these are great stress relieving tips! I especially love the Proposal video. 😉 talking To loved ones and reading an old book I’ve read before always help me!

  2. I love this post!! I was going to do something similar. Such great tips. I love that video from the Proposal, I die. Feel better girl, you will do awesome in school 😀

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I definitely fall into my fair share of “stress ruts” and I’d have to say that social support is my #1! Whenever I’m feeling down, usually a quick phone call to my mom will perk up my spirits 🙂

    Glad you’re feeling better! Are you full-time at the hospital all week?

  4. What a great list. Just reading it makes me feel less stressed out. I think exercise is my favorite. With some loud music playing on the Ipod.

  5. This is most certainly a fantastic list Lindsay… I feel ya on the stress thing too, sometimes I feel like feeling sorry for myself, curling up into a ball and crying my eyes out… yeah not that productive haha

    My mom and just escaping for “me” time is key for me to de stress!

  6. good for you linz! i know doing practical work can be overwhelming when in college, especially since you are in grad school. But its a good thing, teaches us how to handle it. Which you did by exercise. A good stress relief indeed.

  7. All of these stress relievers are exactly how I try to deal with my stress too. I usually vent to a close friend, my husband, or my mom, and then I go get a good workout on and blast my music. I always feel so much better afterward. Making a “to do list” or writing my thoughts down helps me feel not so overwhelmed too. I hope today is better for you lady! 😉

  8. All of the above! Those are all great stress relievers! On the weekend I was lying on my couch watching TV and both my kitties were lying beside me and I remember thinking how hard it is to be stressed out with sleep kitties nearby 🙂

    I am feeling a little stressed today, so my plan is to hit up Body Pump after work. Hopefully that takes care of it!

  9. That scene in the Proposal is one one of my all time favorites! lol And exercise and fresh air are my top two stress relievers..or reading a magazine!

  10. Awe, sorry you were feeling overwhelmed. Some days are like that, huh? Usually I cook or bake. It always makes me feel better! 🙂

  11. I love to relieve stress by working out! I think its the best way, especially combining working out and getting fresh air by going for a run or walk outside:)

  12. Girl, I feel your pain. Grad school was incredibly challenging and stressful for me. I got through it with the support of my family and friends, but it was definitely tough. Organization and planning ahead always helped, so that I wouldn’t be stressing about finishing something last minute!

    And P.S. that scene from “The Proposal” kills me every time. Too funny!

  13. Running is my stress relief. Works every morning 🙂

  14. It may sound silly but when I get really stressed and overwhelmed I make sure I tell myself to just do one thing at a time. Often at work I’ll jump from task to task and need to just focus on one thing.

    If I really need a stress reliever, I’ll take a trip to see my parents. Home cooking and time with my family always does the trick.

  15. hahaha both of those videos cracked me up. Dancing is a GREAT stress reliever! For me, so is baking! And running, if I’m in the right mood.

    Oh and snuggling. haha

    I hope you’re feeling better!

  16. That is my favorite scene in “The Proposal”! I exercise and blog to relieve stress.

  17. Law school overwhelms me on a weekly basis which is why I love kickboxing for stress relief. Not only is it an amazing workout, you can let your anger out on the bag and leave feeling like a new person.

  18. I forgot all about Hitch! Too funny. 🙂 I think snuggle time with my kitties helps a lot… as does making the hubs cook dinner.

  19. Hi! I blog at http://artificiallybalanced.wordpress.com/ and wanted to let you know I found your blog and read it all afternoon yesterday! I ended up trying one of your interval workouts and LOVED it! I am actually writing about it on my blog so I am going to mention yours… thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

    • Hi!! Thank you so much for trying my workout!! I’m so glad you liked it! I’ll definitely be checking out your blog once my busy week is over! 😀

  20. Usually school and traffic are at the root of my stress, so coming home to my roommates, fresh air, snuggling with my kitty, and a nap all work wonders! That and cooking, blogging, etc. Have a great weekend!

  1. Pingback: Mushy | Hungry Healthy Happy

  2. Pingback: Spreading the Love

Leave a Reply

