Saturday Stretching – Hip Flexors

Hello friends!! I hope you are all having a great Saturday so far. Um…can we talk about how there is a winter storm heading toward Boston?? And that my area is supposed to get 3-5 inches of snow tonight!! It’s freaking October! Thank goodness I will be escaping the cold and going to Florida to see Chris in less than two weeks :D.

This week I’ve noticed how incredibly tight my hip flexors are. I’m talking reallllyyyy tight people. Yesterday they were so tight that it was hard to lift my leg up when I was sitting in a chair. My hip flexors are an area that always seems to get really tight on me. I’ve tried stretching them out but I think I need to come up with some different types of stretches in order for them to really feel better.

So, I decided to look up different stretches that target the hip flexors and I thought I’d share them with you all! It’s really common for people to have tight hip flexors from sitting all day and running, and if they are too tight it can lead to lower back pain.

I’m thinking of starting a blog series on stretching. What do you guys think? I figure each week (until I run out of areas) I’ll do some research and find a bunch of different stretches that target different areas of the body. I think it can be beneficial to a bunch of different stretches to use so you aren’t always doing the same ones and so that you can really work on stretching the muscles fully! You all can let me know which muscles seem to get really tight on you that way I can cater the posts to your interests!

Stretching is so incredibly important and it’s something that I often neglect as part of my workout routine. Here are some of the benefits of stretching:

  • It can increase flexibility, which is important for functioning in most activities
  • Improves blood flow to the muscles
  • It can help improve posture
  • Improves coordination and balance
  • Helps alleviate lower back pain
  • Can help relieve stress by relaxing tense muscles
  • Increase the length of relaxed muscles

In case you aren’t sure what you’re hip flexors are, they are a group of muscles that act to flex the thigh bone/pull the knee upward.

Hip Flexor Stretches

1. Kneeling hip flexor stretch

2. Lying hip flexor stretch

3. Side lying hip flexor stretch

4. Face down hip flexor stretches

5. Cobra pose

6. Camel pose

Okay, there ya go! I (and you guys) now have more stretches that you can complete to lengthen your hip flexors! The only one I usually do is kneeling one. It will be really nice to have more exercises to rotate through so that I can ensure my hip flexors are getting a good stretch!

 

Questions

1. Do you guys like the idea of a stretching blog series??

2. Do you get tight hip flexors too? What stretches do you use for them?

3. What areas of your body tend to get the tightest?

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on October 29, 2011, in Health, Stretching. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. I sometimes have that problem… here is a stretch I always do and find it really helps! šŸ™‚

    http://oatcoutureblog.wordpress.com/2011/10/03/and-stretchhhhh/

    Hope it helps and I hope the weather holds out for you!! I’m very defensive of my seasons and snow should definitely NOT arrive until December! šŸ™‚

  2. I think a stretching series would be a great idea! I agree, stretching is so often overlooked but such an important aspect of fitness.

    I rarely get sore hip flexors for whatever reason, but my hamstrings get tight really easily as well as my hip abductors at times.

  3. I love the idea! My calves and shins are always a problem because of running. Any new stretching ideas for that area would be great!

  4. I love the idea of doing a stretching series…it’s one of those things I know I should do more often but don’t have the slightest clue in which ones to do.

  5. I think this is a great idea! I am not very stretching savvy, and I definitely slack at doing them after a workout unless I am in a class. My legs have been feeling pretty tight lately, so I definitely need to stretch those babies out.

    I can’t believe you are getting a winter storm already! I am hoping snow of any kind here holds off until mid-November.

    I hope you’re having a great weekend!

  6. My IT band always gets so tight! Do you know any good stretches?

  7. i can’t believe that! its only 60F here and I thought that was cold. haha.

    Oh the camel pose, one of my favorites! and cobra. Best feeling ever!

  8. Good luck with the snow!! I’m in Florida and I’m pretty jealous šŸ˜€

    I think it would be a great idea! I know it’s so important but I often neglect it too.

  9. Great post! I have actually been looking for good hip stretches! Thanks šŸ™‚

  10. I love this post. I had some yoga students asking me how to stretch hip flexors- most people are really tight in that area. The poses you showed are great- but they require lots of practice and repetition!

  11. This is really helpful. I’ve had super tight hip flexors every time I have worked out since running a half marathon 2 weeks ago. Will have to give some of these stretches a go!

  12. I like the cobra pose..it’s a good one after doing abs, too! My legs always get tight, but it is probably my fault, because I know I don’t stretch enough after I run!

  13. I could use all the help I can get stretching! I’m so bad about it, which is why I love the body flow class at my gym, it really helps me stretch. I bought a foam roller to try out, but really have no idea how to use it.

  14. Oh yes please do a series on stretching, I really need to start stretching regularly again and could do with some more suggestions!

    I get incredibly tight hip flexors, it sort of comes with my condition unfortunately, so these exercises are great for me, thank you šŸ™‚

    The worst area of my body is my lower back, the physio told me I’ve pretty much lost all movement there!

  15. A stretching series sounds great! Another tip: grab a tennis ball and roll around on the floor, lying with your hip flexor positioned on top of the tennis ball. It’s like a targeted foam roller and works wonders. The same goes for the outside of your hip!

    And my boyfriend in Boston said he got slush. I got over a foot, gross!

  1. Pingback: Winners – Rocco DiSpirito Book Giveaway

  2. Pingback: Stretching Series – Quads and Hamstrings

  3. Pingback: Stretching Series – Glutes

Leave a Reply

