Eating Veggies

Hi everyone!! I hope you’re having a good week!

I realized that I haven’t shown you any pictures of Zoey recently, so here a few :).

She’s my little cutie pie :). I’m not entirely sure why her eyes look blue in one pic and green in the other though haha. They are actually a yellowish green.

————-

So, this is probably not something that should be admitted in the healthy living blog world, but I am not a huge fan of vegetables. Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of veggies that I like and I eat them on a regular basis, but there are some I won’t eat because of their taste and my whole texture thing.

There are plenty of other things I’d rather eat than vegetables, but I know how important they are for my health and I recognize that they help me feel and look healthy too. Therefore, I make sure to try and eat plenty of them throughout the day! I used to pretty much just eat salads in order to get in my veggie servings but that gets old really quickly. Also, it can be expensive to buy a lot of fresh vegetables every week.

Here are some of the ways that I make sure to get enough veggies in my diet without spending too much money:

1. I now buy heads of lettuce instead of pre-packaged and pre-cut lettuce. It’s so much cheaper and it doesn’t seem to go bad as quickly!

2. I buy bags of frozen veggies and steam them in the microwave! Sometimes I’ll top them with low-sodium soy sauce for a bit more flavor. Frozen vegetables are often a lot cheaper than fresh and they are frozen at their nutritional peak. So, it’s much easier for me to get a variety of veggies when they are frozen because I can afford it even when they aren’t in season!

3. I like to get chunky vegetable soups. They generally are chock full of veggies and are lower calorie so you can eat them as a meal side or as a snack!

4. Healthy condiments or dips can be used with sliced vegetables. I used to be one of those people that piled on the ranch dressing with my veggie slices, but now I prefer to use hummus! I also really want to try the new greek yogurt veggie dip from Marzetti!

5. I like to add vegetables to as many dishes as possible so that I don’t need to eat them alone haha. I’ll do things like add spinach to eggs, add mixed veggies to pasta, and top pizzas with several types of vegetables.

All of these things help me save money and make sure that I get enough vegetables in my diet!

I hope you have an awesome Wednesday!

 

Questions:

How do you make sure to get enough vegetables in your diet?

What is your favorite way to eat vegetables?

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on November 2, 2011, in About Me, Health, Pets. Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. Frozen veggies are the best, easiest way to keep veggies around! Nothing will beat fresh, but having Those All the time is expensive, time consuming, and unrealistic. Maybe one day!

  2. I have a lot of trouble getting vegetables into my diet. I’m a big “texture person” like you! (Reading your ‘Food Textures’ post I was like – “YES! Me too!”). You have a lot of good ideas for sneaking in vegetables, I’m definitely going to try them! I haven’t made my own pizzas yet – what kind of pizza crusts do you buy?

  3. no shame in that! i don’t like froyo. thats against food blogger religion i think. haha. But you do a great job of incorporating veggies elsewhere. Thats what counts!

    • You are so right, that is exactly what counts! And not liking froyo isn’t a bit deal…but it is crazy how many bloggers are obsessed with it!!

  4. I’m with ya–I really don’t love veggies either. I do try to get at least a couple servings of veggies in each day though. I too buy frozen, plus this summer I would buy some veggies from the local Farmer’s Market because they were usually cheaper (and fresher) than what I could find in the grocery store. I top my pizzas with lots of veggies and add beans and tomato (or sometimes salsa) into my rice for lunches.

  5. This is great! Vegetables aren’t always my favorite thing to eat plain either. My favorite way of eating them is roasting them in the oven with seasoned salt on them; on top of pizza or in pasta; in huge salad beasts; and in soups!

  6. Weee your kitty is so so cute.. I want her πŸ™‚ or at least meet her! Frozen veggies are great, especially during the winter. I also like to get mine in via salads (of course) and into soups and stews as well

  7. I love frozen veggies. Pre-cut and pre-washed? Yes please! I wish I had the patience to deal with heads of lettuce, but I buy the expensive bagged stuff. It kills me how quickly it goes bad.

  8. GAH! I love veggies! My favorite is to roast a big pan of them–squash, sweet potatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, tomatoes, brussels sprouts, you name it! Then I drizzle them with balsamic syrup and put them on a bed of mixed greens with lemon juice for a roasted veggie salad. It’s SOOO good!

  9. Good tips! As a vegan, I love my veggies. I’ve learned to cook (or not!) and love so many new ones in my journey. It’s so important to get them, as you point out, because they have phytonutrients that no other food has. While people have tried getting these same nutrients via supplementation, most evidence points toward the whole being greater than the sum of the parts in the sense that the nutrients in the plant food work in concert and supplementing just simply isn’t as effective. Good for you for getting them in!

  10. Frozen price > “fresh”.I mean how fresh can it really be if it has travelled more miles than I can count?

  11. I do the same. The bagged lettuce is gone in like 1.5 days, not even. It’s ridiculous! I get fresh veggies and frozen. Last’s so much longer!

  12. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I love this post because I love me some veggies πŸ˜€ It’s definitely something that has grown with time, as I used to absolutely despise the greenery! Maybe your time will come πŸ˜‰

  13. Such good ideas!!! Steamable veggies are a staple for me. And hummus could seriously make ANYTHING taste good, so I eat lots of veggies with that!!

  14. You need to show these kitty pics to anyone who says black cats are bad luck. She is utterly adorable. I try to cut up a bunch of veggies in the beginning of the week so I can add them to things quickly all week. I’ve been wanting to try those dips too!

  15. Zoey is sooo cute! πŸ™‚

    I’m a huge fan of frozen veggies – they are sooo much cheaper. I love fresh veggies, but try to buy mostly what’s in season and then buy everything else frozen.

  16. I totally know what you mean about the whole texture thing! I try to eat more veggies by adding them into soup and pasta sauce, so I barely even know they’re there!

  17. I could eat roasted veggies ALL day. Mmmm…

  18. I definitely do a lot of frozen veggies, as well. And I love bags of baby carrots because they are so portable and delicious!

    And as you saw on my post today, I now love roasted veggies! I can’t wait to try roasting some other varieties!! πŸ™‚

    • I’ve actually never roasted vegetables for myself haha…probably because I’m too lazy. But I do like the taste so maybe I’ll have to try doing it!

  19. Vegetables hurt my stomach (and I’m still trying to figure out why), so I have to find ways to sneak them into my diet. I like when they’re incorporated into other foods, like soups and sandwiches (and sushi!), that way I’m not just eating raw veggies and ending up feeling not-so-great for the rest of the day.

  20. i love vegetables- any way! my favourites though are raw salads with seaweed and toasted nuts, sauteed greens in coconut milk and steamed broccoli. mhmm

  21. Salads and wraps are my fave ways to eat my veggies!! I am pretty picky though, and don’t like too many of them…though I am trying to branch out!!

    And I love the Zoey pictures! Adorable!!!!!

  22. If the vegetables are roasted, I could eat them all day long, but there are some I really don’t like!! Like eggplant. *barf*

  23. I love eating veggies in salads, steamed, or grilled. YUMM.

  24. Mmmm…probably Smoothies and Salads!! I blend a lot of my kale and spinach lately in my smoothies as I’ve been to busy to do anything else! LOL, plus they go down better when its cold out this way. I don’t crave salads in the fall or winter usually.

    xxoo

  25. I love roasting any type of veggie!! Makes it taste soo amazing πŸ™‚

  26. Aww your kitty is so cute! She makes me miss mine but I’m going to see her again tomorrow!!

    I add lots of veggies to things like pasta dishes and I like to have veggies dipped in hummus too.

    Personally I love both roasted and grilled veggies just eaten simply πŸ™‚

    But then I’m quite a big veggie fan!

  27. Aww, Zoey is so cute. She is starting to remind me of my little black kitty Dexter! Halloween kitties πŸ™‚

    I love my veggies, especially in salads. That is how I get my veggies most of the time. I don’t like them as much as sides, so I like to sneak them into my main dish as well. And I have been a big microwave steamer lately! It is so easy, and doesn’t dirty any dishes! Win win.

  28. I love love love my veggies! But sometimes there are days where I just don’t want to eat them!

  1. Pingback: Stretching – IT Band

Leave a Reply

