French Toast for One

Hi everyone!! Hope your day is going well so far!

I completed an awesome workout this morning, but you’ll have to wait til tomorrow to see it ;).

Last night was a lot of fun! It was so nice to see my friends again. As I mentioned, two weeks ago I spent the entire week observing in the hospital and this past week was when all of my friends were doing the same thing. So most of us hadn’t been able to see one another in two weeks! That is way too long haha.

It was nice to catch up and hang with my girls :). And enjoy some appropriately priced wine for students of course…I love Barefoot wine!

And everyone liked my sequin top. Which I wore underneath a blazer because it was super cold outside haha. Sadly I didn’t take many pictures, but here are the ones I snapped of me with several of my lovely friends!

….and my paleness is really starting to show haha.

Anyway, this morning I woke up wanting something other than my standard oatmeal so I decided to make some french toast. It was awesome!!

French Toast for One

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices whole wheat bread
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1/4 cup light vanilla soymilk (any milk would work!)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • Cooking spray
  • 100% pure maple syrup

Directions

  • Combine egg whites, soymilk, cinnamon, and vanilla. Whisk until it’s all mixed together.
  • Soak bread in mixture until it’s completely coated on both sides.
  • Spray a skillet with cooking spray and warm up over medium heat.
  • Place bread slices on skillet and cook for 4-5 minutes on both sides until they are golden brown.
  • Serve with warmed maple syrup or any topping of your choice! Enjoy 🙂

So delicious. It totally hit the spot!

And now I’m off to study and do homework. I hope you all have a great Sunday!

 

Question:

Do you like french toast? What’s your favorite way to make it?

 

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on November 6, 2011, in Breakfast, Life, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I LOVE Barefoot wine! Have you tried the Moscato?

  2. I love stuffed french toast, but I’m not a huge fan of french toast by itself. I like to stuff mine with cream cheese and raspberry jam:)

  3. I love Barefoot wine too! It’s so smooth and refreshing!

  4. I’ve been on a french toast kick lately! I make it just like you do, without the milk. I always thought french toast was a ‘fancy’ breakfast, but its so quick and easy!

  5. Ooh, yum! You know I am all about things for one! And French Toast, too! 🙂

  6. I love that sequined top! I work by an Express and they have so many tops like that this year! I just can’t spend the money right now, haha.

    • Ahh totally understand…thank goodness I had a gift card! I would have so much difficulty restraining myself if an Express was nearby everyday haha

  7. You look beautiful! I love that sequined dress!

    I love French toast, but for some reason I rarely make it.

    I hope Zoey is feeling better! That sucks about the pink eye. Poor little kitty.

  8. Ahh I LOVE Barefoot wines! Good choice! 😉

    I do like French toast, but I usually opt for a waffle or pancakes if I’m feeling something like that. Your photos of your French toast make me want it now though!

    • Haha thanks :). I usually prefer pancakes and waffles too…but I’m sometimes it’s nice to have something different!

  9. Try making it with cinnamon raisin bread. It’s epic.

  10. hi lindsay!

    i just found your blog today and am loving poking around. this french toast looks delicious… can’t wait to read more 🙂

  11. AHHH it’s 10:00 at night and all I want is french toast!! My Sunday has been relaxing, but I’ve got to start packing for the move on Thursday! YIKES I’m so excited!! 🙂 Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

  12. Super cute outfit!! A great night out with friends is always needed once in a while 🙂 This french toast looks yum!

  13. I loveeeee French toast! I’ve been intending to copy a recipe I had from a restaurant while I was visiting my siblings at my old alma mater. I just found a recipe for vegan challah bread, the bf’s favorite, so I think I’ll surprise him with breakfast this weekend, French toast on challah bread!

  1. Pingback: Bodyweight Strength Workout

Leave a Reply

