Bodyweight Strength Workout

Hello everyone! Let’s fast forward this week a bit so I can see Chris and be in Florida :D.

As I promised in yesterday’s post I have a new workout for you all! When I went to the gym yesterday I knew that I wanted to do a strength workout but I also wasn’t in the mood to lift weights. I’m crazy, I know haha. So I decided to do an entire workout of bodyweight exercises.

I have incorporated bodyweight exercises into my workouts but I’ve never done a routine that consisted of them entirely. And let me just tell you- it was awesome! My body was incredibly fatigued at the end. Plus, I was super hungry all day yesterday and I’m feeling really sore today.

Bodyweight Workout

*Do 3 sets of each group of exercises, resting for only 30 seconds between sets. Perform exercises in the group back to back. 

Group #1

  • Push ups (regular)- 15 reps
  • Wall sits – 1 min
  • Jumping Jacks – 25

Group #2

  • Inverted rows – 10 reps (note: the higher the bar the easier the exercise)

  • Bench step-downs – 15 reps each side (to see how I did them check out this video from Tiff!!)
  • Ski jumps – 16 reps

Group #3

  • Negative pull-ups – Jump into the top position of the pull-up and lower yourself down as slow and controlled as possible

  • Hamstring curls with stability ball – 15 reps
  • High knees – 30 reps

Group #4

  • Tricep dips on bench – 15 reps
  • Single leg squats with stability ball – 10 reps each side

  • Tuck jumps – 10 reps

Group #5

  • Arm circles – 45 reps forward, 45 reps backward
  • Side lying hip adduction – 20 reps each side

  • Burpees – 8 reps

I completed my workout with some core exercises. I’m pretty much feeling it everywhere today. Like I said before, I had never done an entire workout of bodyweight exercises, but I really liked it! I will definitely be doing more of this!

I hope you all have a fantastic Monday :).

 

Questions:

Do you like bodyweight exercises?

If so, what’s your favorite exercise?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on November 7, 2011, in Health, Lifting, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. That looks like a GREAT workout!!! i love how effective bodyweight stuff is.

  2. Great workout ! I want to try this 🙂

  3. Awww have fun seeing Chris this week. I’m actually in Florida until Thursday too! 🙂 I haven’t always been a huge fan of body weight workouts but I really want to try this one! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Awesome workout! It’s amazing how just your bodyweight can give you such a great workout, huh?! I love bodyweight exercises. My favorite one is probably a pushup. I know they’re pretty traditional, but they get me every time. They’re challenging and work every upper body muscle.

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Man I LOVE this workout! So many people underestimate the true potential of working out with simply their body weight.

    Btw, side lying hip adduction = hurts so good! One of my favorite moves 😀

  6. This is an awesome workout! I barley ever do bodyweight exercises other than push ups but I definitely need to branch out more!

  7. Another great workout! Seriously I love these, I use them at the gym quite often! Yay for seeing the bf so soon 🙂

  8. This looks like an awesome workout! I’m all about bodyweight workouts right now as I don’t have a gym membership to go lift weights…

  9. Thanks for the link love. 🙂 That workout looks like a good one. Did you track how long it took you to complete?

    • You’re welcome! I LOVE that move :). With my core work at the end it took about 50 minutes! But if you wanted to shorten it you could do all of the moves 2x instead of 3!

  10. This looks like a butt kicker! Burpees always make me feel like I’m gonna die! 😉

    I like yoga–does that count??? Chaturanga pushups are legit!!!

  11. This workout looks great! I’m definitely going to try this one later – I doubt I’ll be able to feel my body tomorrow! Roughly how long did this take you?

  12. What an awesome workout! I just started doing the Insanity challenge last week. I knew it would be hard from a cardio standpoint but I consider myself pretty strong in the upper body. I thought that it woudl be “easy” without weights. Boy was I wrong. 30 seconds of straight pushups is no joke. And ski jumps are my favorite!

  13. I love body weight conditioning. It’s a great workout and a lot of the exercises can be done anywhere which is awesome for travel or getting in a quick workout at home!

  14. Damn girl, that’s intense! I need to print this out asap.

  15. I actually prefer bodyweigt workouts to dumbbells and machines-I feel like I get more of a wokout!! I am going to print these out and try them myself! 😀

  16. Bodyweight stuff can be so hard!! Good for you. And so exciting that it’s almost Florida time!

  17. Bodyweight workouts are awesome. I love the variety in this one! My favorite is tricep dips, feel the burrrrnn!

  18. I am seriously loving this workout. I struggle with body weight workouts allll the time.

  19. I love body weight exercises – especially jump squats and walking lunges.

  20. Thanks for sharing this! I really need to start doing more strength training and body weight exercises! I usually dread them but this looks like a fun sequence so I’ll definitely have to give it a whirl! 🙂

  21. I actually prefer body weight exercises. Lifting weights in a conventional way bores me to death!

  22. Hello love!!

    The way you post your workouts is so great! I love how neat you do it and with the photos!!

    I love lifting weights!

    Hope all is well love!

  23. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog

    Those are all great workouts! I love bodyweight exercises. 🙂

  24. I love body weight exercises soooo much!!! I always follow bodyrock.tv because you just do them and go!! LOVE IT!

    Thanks for sharing doll!

    xxoo

  25. Wow, this sounds intense and super fun. I’m going to print it right away and try to complete it this week.

    PS – What are Tuck jumps?

    • Yay I hope you like it! In a tuck jump you jump straight up and bring your knees into your chest. If you search google images you can come up with a lot of pictures!

Leave a Reply

