Guest Post – Inside a Newlywed’s Kitchen

Hello everyone! Yay for Saturdays :). I hope you all have an amazing one! Today I have another great guest post for you from Ashley. I’ve been reading her blog for a couple of months and it has fast become one of my favorites! Yay for blog friends! I’m pumped that she is posting for me and I hope you enjoy her post as much as I do!

—————

Inside A Newlywed’s Kitchen

Hi there In Sweetness and In Health readers!  My name is Ashley, and I blog over at My Food ‘N’ Fitness Diaries where I talk about my daily adventures as a food and fitness enthusiast.  You will find recipes, my favorite workouts, and a glimpse into my daily life.  I am a huge fan of Lindsay’s blog as well as Lindsay herself!  She is one awesome lady.  Needless to say, I am quite honored that she asked me to guest post for her!

My husband, Cody, and I live in the Salt Lake City, Utah area with our two kids labs, Ryan and Molly.  Cody and I recently celebrated our one year wedding anniversary at the beginning of October.  It was easily the happiest day of our lives!  Every day is a new adventure as I continue to learn how to be a wife, keep up with my job, and maintain a healthy lifestyle.

Overall, I have absolutely loved married life.  However, I have definitely had to learn a lot, specifically when it comes to eating habits and lifestyle changes.  When I was single and lived with roommates, I was able to cook whatever I wanted for myself, eat whenever I wanted, and only buy groceries for myself.  Obviously things are a little different now that I have to shop for two and consider what and when my husband likes to eat.

Not only that, but it’s been a challenge for me not to fall into my husband’s eating habits.  For example, he eats two to three times more than I do.  When he goes to get seconds or thirds, it’s quite tempting to feel like I should get more too even if I’m not still hungry.  We can also be quite the dangerous duo when it comes to sweets.  This forces me to remind myself that just because he’s reaching for a third cookie doesn’t mean I need to also.  (Gosh darnit! 😉 )  Not only that, but I’m not able to have soups and salads for dinners every single night like I used to in college.  Unfortunately, the hubby loves his meat and taters which means he can only handle a soup and salad kinda dinner every so often.  It’s caused me to get quite creative when it comes to cooking meals.  I have learned to make lighter substitutions in meals that he loves so that we can still enjoy them without the added fat and calories.

Some of our favorite “lighter” but still just as tasty meals include:

Lowfat Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas

[source]

Fish Tacos

“Healthified” Sloppy Joes

Red Chicken and Black Bean Enchiladas

Sweet ‘N’ Spicy Salmon with Smashed Sweet Potatoes

Alfredo Tortellini with Turkey Sausage and Fire Roasted Tomatoes

Whether you are married or not, I am positive you will love the taste of each of the above recipes without the added fat and calories that other versions may have.  So what are you waiting for?!  Click on one of the above recipes and get to work!  I promise you won’t regret it!

Make sure you stop by at My Food ‘N’ Fitness Diaries!

 

Questions:

  • If you live with your significant other, have you found it to be challenging to stick to your old healthy habits from when you lived on your own?
  • What are your techniques for sticking to your healthy habits?
About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Guest Post. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. LOVE this post!:) Great guest post.

    Darn those boys who can eat SO much and still look great! 😉

  2. Those recipes look great! I will definitely have to try the enchiladas! 🙂 My bf loves fast food and can eat so much, so I have to be mindful and try not to stray from my healthy eating habits!

  3. Super post doll!!!!! Ok, so when Ryan was “not healthy” it was kinda hard, but not really now he watches what he eats more than me!!!!! WTF? Its easier when he wasn’t 😉

    xxoo

  4. what a great post! all of those recipes look so good. whenever i go visit ryan, we always eat SO much! i find myself thinking i can eat as much as him, even though i’m half his size haha. i need to write some of these recipes down for when we finally do live together.

  5. My husband and I just got married last month (yay!) but we lived together for a while before that. When we first moved in together one of the things I found myself doing was putting way more on my plate than I normally would because I knew he’d probably finish off whatever I left. Like I was going to starve or something?? Once I realized I was doing it I just tried to pay more attention to my portion sizes. It is still very tempting to go get seconds when he does though 🙂 assuming there are seconds to be had!

  6. Oh man – cooking for two is 10 times harder than cooking for one. If I wanted cereal for dinner, that was fine. Now I feel like I always needs to “prepare” something a bit more substantial.

  1. Pingback: It’s Raining, It’s Pouring… | My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries

Leave a Reply

