Guest Post – Caramel Apple Cheesecake

Hi friends!! I hope you’re having a great weekend….I know I am! Today my lovely blog friend Kristen has an amazing sounding recipe for you all. We started our blogs around the same time and I’ve been a huge fan of her and her blog ever since! I’m really excited to have her on my blog today :). She’s a pretty awesome girl and I hope you enjoy her post!

———–

Hello to all of Lindsay’s readers! Smile 

My name is Kristen, and I blog over at Confessions of a (Not-So) Domesticated Newlywed.

I’m so excited that Lindsay has given me the opportunity to be a guest blogger on her site!  Lindsay and I go wayyy back … back to June, that is, when we both starting blogging. Winking smile  But we’ve become fast blogger-buddies!

I’ve been married for almost 11 months now to my amazing husband, Brandon.

DSC_2717adj

(Don’t be fooled … those smiling faces are actually masking fear of 3rd degree burns.)

Over the past 11 months, Brandon and I have traveled a lot.  We’ve taken in the sights …

088

… crossed a few finish lines …

020022

… and eaten.  A lot.

034007

035006

OK … maybe I’ve eaten a lot. Angel

Anyways, I’ve also been working on my wifey-skills.  When we first got married, I wasn’t the world’s best in the kitchen.

pancake fail

Exhibit A: My epic pancake fail.

However, I have improved over time.

006

Exhibit B: The proudest moment of my life (oh yeah, after marrying Brandon. Winking smile).

The recipe that I want to share today is actually pretty fool-proof.  I know because I’ve made it several times … and (shockingly enough) haven’t messed it up once! Thumbs up

Caramel Apple Cheesecake

(Which could also be called “Cheesecake for Beginners!”)

Slightly adapted from this recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 (21 oz.) can apple pie filling
  • 1 store-bought graham cracker crust
  • 2 (8 oz) packages of cream cheese, brought to room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup caramel topping (plus more for serving)
  • Chopped walnuts

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Measure out 3/4 of a cup of the apple pie filling and set to the side for later.  Pour the rest of the filling into the bottom of the graham cracker crust.

039

  • Put cream cheese, sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon into a mixer.  Beat until smooth.

040

  • Add eggs and continue mixing until completely blended.

044

  • Pour mixture into crust.

045

  • Bake for 30-35 minutes.  The center of the cheesecake should look set.  Let the cheesecake cool to room temperature (this would be when I get impatient Annoyed).

001

  • After the cheesecake has cooled, pour the remaining filling and the caramel into a saucepan.  Heat at medium-low heat for about a minute, stirring continuously.

004

  • Spread the mixture evenly over the cheesecake.

011

  • Sprinkle chopped walnuts over the caramel mixture.

017

  • Let refrigerate overnight (or at least for several hours) before serving.

This cheesecake is seriously addicting … and I’m not even that big of a cheesecake fan.  Brandon is the one in our household who really loves cheesecake.  I’m normally more of a cookie/cupcake kind of girl myself.

021

But when I make this dessert, it doesn’t last in the house very long.

027

And let’s be honest … I can’t blame Brandon for it’s quick disappearance. Who me?

I hope lots of you try the recipe, and then report back to me how it turned out!  I promise you won’t be disappointed.

But if you are disappointed, blame Lindsay. 

I mean, it’s her blog, so that only makes sense, right? Winking smile

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on November 13, 2011, in Guest Post. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m loving you more and more Kristen! 😉 This recipe sounds amazing! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Wow this looks amazing! I LOVE cheescake but I’ve always been too afraid to try making it, this one doesn’t look so scary though 🙂

  3. OMG! I think I just drooled a little… haha looks so good!

  4. Hahah. Fun post!! This recipe looks so GOOD and I can’t WAIT to try it out!!

  1. Pingback: Natural Vitality Review and Giveaway

Leave a Reply

