Shatter Me Book Review and Thanksgiving Workout

Hi friends!!! I AM HOME :D…and I love it!

Zoey did such a good job on the plane, but she’s been really scared ever since we came home. Likely because of our dog and cat, Mia and Cooper. They are so cute, it’s hard to imagine being scared of them…but she is!

Cooper!

Mia!

I got some battle wounds from Zoey the moment she saw Mia. I was holding her and Mia barked and she freaked out!! She jumped out of my arms and managed to wound my neck in the process-

Yea, it hurts and was bleeding quite a bit. Oh well, I still love her ;).

Later in the evening she and Cooper had a stare-down for a bit and were making these weird guttural sounds at each other haha. I hope she gets a little more brave soon!

Anywho, on Tuesday I downloaded a new book and I absolutely loved it! It is a “young adult” novel, but I mean I absolutely loved The Hunger Games so I didn’t hesitate to read it, and I’m so glad I didn’t!

The book is called “Shatter Me” by Tahereh Mafi.

Here is the description from the Barnes and Noble website:

“You can’t touch me,” I whisper.

I’m lying, is what I don’t tell him.

He can touch me, is what I’ll never tell him.

But things happen when people touch me.

Strange things.

Bad things.

No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon.

But Juliette has plans on her own.

After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first timeβ€”and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever.

This book was AWESOME. I actually already want to re-read it because it was so good and an incredibly captivating read. The book is a dystopian novel with a slightly paranormal twist. It’s about a 17-year-old girl whose touch can kill a human being, but she happens to be one of the kindest and selfless people ever. The novel has a romantic component that is raw and leaves you wanting more. This book was such a thrilling read and I couldn’t put it down – hence how I finished it in less than 2 days haha.

The dystopian part of the plot isn’t necessarily new, but the rest of it is original and is crafted really well. The writing is very unique and I’ve never read anything quite like it, and I found that it kept drawing me in. Some of the descriptions are things that you would never think of but they make absolute and utter sense… they pull you in even more and make you really feel for the characters and the story. The ending of the novel leaves you desperate for more, but also ends at a great place…I will be purchasing the next book the day it comes out!

You know what else is really cool? This is the author’s first novel and she’s only 24. Holy cow…I’m seriously impressed! AND I sent her a tweet last night and she responded!! How sweet is that?? πŸ™‚

I HIGHLY suggest you read this book if you liked The Hunger Games and if you like a romantic component in a novel.

—————-

So, as you all know, tomorrow is Thanksgiving for those of us in the States :). I cannot wait to shove my face with delicious food! On the morning of Thanksgiving I like to get in a really good workout. While I do enjoy eating a bunch of yummy food, I don’t ever like that “gross” feeling that I get when I eat too much. Working out definitely helps prevent that feeling from occurring, and it wards off any guilt that might happen from eating indulgent foods!

Honestly, tomorrow is not a day where I want to feel guilty about eating something tasty. I want to enjoy the things that I am craving and that I want to eat! A nice, hard workout in the morning helps me do that.

I’m not getting a pass to a nearby gym this week because I just don’t want to spend the money haha. So, I think that tomorrow my workout is going to involve running stairs (remember when I talked about running them this summer??). Yep, I think that will totally suffice as a hard workout that will leave me ready to indulge my face off ;). Love it!

I hope you all have a fantastic Wednesday!

 

Question:

What’s the last good book you read?

Do you workout on Thanksgiving day? What do you do?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on November 23, 2011, in About Me, Books, Pets. Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Wow! You were able to take Zoey on the plane? I was always under the impression that taking pets onto a plane wasn’t a possibility, but I guess that’s just me being crazy haha.

    And as far as the working out on Thanksgiving morning, I plan on doing exactly the same thing πŸ™‚ I just always feel so much better when I work out on days that I know I’ll be eating more than usual

  2. I ran 4 miles this morning, and I plan to continue working out throughout this week, with the knowledge that I will consume way more calories than I burn off. πŸ˜‰ But the working out helps me feel less bloated and stuffed!

    Happy Turkey Day, to one of my favorite bloggers!! πŸ™‚

    • Nice job on the run! I will definitely be consuming way more calories than I burn, but that’s what part of this holiday is for right? πŸ˜‰

      Happy Thanksgiving pretty lady! You are one of my FAV bloggers too! Can’t wait for our meet-up!!

  3. I love young adult novels! I especially love the thriller ones, because they are lighter than adult thrillers and they remind me of being a teenager πŸ™‚

    I’m glad to hear Zoey had a good flight! She will settle in I’m sure.

    Have a great Thanksgiving! I’m jealous, so please eat lots for me!

    • Yes! I love being reminded of being a teenager :). I’ll definitely eat lots and lots for you haha. Hope you have a great day!

  4. I think I’m going to do a Jillian DVD at home tomorrow. Enjoy your time at home!

  5. My dog is 85 pounds…definitely too big for a plane ride (sending him as cargo freaks me out), and I hate leaving him. How awesome that you were able to take your pet with you! I will probably go for an early morning run on Thanksgiving morning. I like the peace and quiet just as much as the workout πŸ™‚ Wishing you and your family a happy Thanksgiving!

  6. I SO wish I had time to read!! I have a list a mile long, and NO time to sit down and enjoy books. Wah wah.

  7. Glad the flight went well! I’m running a 5K tomorrow morning with the boyfriend and his family, then eating whatever I please! Enjoy your holiday πŸ™‚

  8. Yay I’m excited to check this book out. I miss the Hunger Games- it was such a great series and I haven’t found anything that compares yet. I’ll see if my library has this one.

  9. Yay! Now I have a new book to read this weekend! Woo hoo πŸ™‚

  10. That book definitely sounds intriguing. Will have to look for it! I’m all about getting lost in a good book lately. Well now that I’m no longer lost in CSS coding and site design. πŸ˜‰

  11. I’m glad you’re home now and loving it so far!

    I always like to workout on Thanksgiving Day for your same reasons. It starts my day with a healthy mindset. Enjoy your Thanksgiving girl!

  12. Have a great Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

  13. Have a WONDERFUL time at home!! πŸ™‚ I’m running a Turkey Trot 5k then running like 3.5 miles with my brother after to get my long run in.

  14. YAY for being home!!! Have a wonderful holiday with your family! XO

  15. Weeee yay for being home! That must feel fantastic πŸ™‚ Enjoy your time pretty lady!

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Favorites

Leave a Reply

