Bling Bling…

I hope you all had a fabulous Thanksgiving!!!!!!!

I know I did 😀

CHRIS PROPOSED!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sadly that picture doesn’t do the ring justice. It is so incredibly sparkly and perfect and I’m the happiest girl in the world!

So here’s the story:

We went to my aunt’s house yesterday for Thanksgiving. As I said earlier this week I was super excited to see my cousin since she is pregnant! After eating all of the wonderful food (and feeling almost sick from being so full haha) and hanging out for a while, Whitney suggested that we go over to her condo to check out her decorated baby room. I didn’t think for one second that something was “off”.

So we went to her condo and I ooed and ahhed over her baby room…it’s so stinkin’ cute! The baby blues and the crib and the rocking chair. After a while I was thinking that we should probably go back to my aunt’s house because we had been gone for a while and needed to go to my dad’s later in the evening.

We start driving back to my aunt’s house and she calls Whitney to see when we’re coming back. She was on bluetooth in the car and so I could hear the conversation and all before Nikki could say anything, Whitney “accidentally hung up on her” (she actually hung up because she didn’t want my aunt to give anything away). I was still completely oblivious to what was going on.

We are driving through my aunt’s neighborhood and up ahead I see Chris standing in the driveway with his coat on. I look at Whitney and I kept saying “What is he doing?”. I honestly thought he was waiting for me to get back so we could leave to go to my dad’s haha.

And then we pulled into the driveway and this is what I saw:

I think my mouth dropped open to the floor. I was seriously in shock! And then my heart starting racing with pure excitement :).

I got out of the car and Whitney went inside (the entire side of my mom’s family was apparently watching us through the windows haha). I don’t remember everything that Chris said because I was on cloud 9 and wasn’t thinking straight. But he told me how much he loved me and that he wanted to propose to me at the place we met (we met at this very house over 4 years ago).

And then he got on one knee and popped open the ring box….asked me to marry him…and I may have squealed (at least on the inside) and of course I said yes!

Everyone inside came rushing out to congratulate us, people across the street were clapping (I guess they were watching the whole thing), cars that were driving by were stopping. It was the perfect engagement. Absolutely perfect.

I had no idea that it was going to happen. It was a complete surprise. And I love that it happened at the same place we met – props to Chris for thinking of that one ;).

Here are some pics that we took after:

We had champagne and cookies awaiting us inside

Whitney gave me a super cute frame that says something like “bling bling…I’ve got the ring”:

I’m so in love with Chris and so so so incredibly happy to now be his fiance 😀

 

I hope you all have a fabulous day! I’ve a bunch of people to see and show my ring off too ;).

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on November 25, 2011, in Chris, Life, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink. 95 Comments.

  1. OH MY GOODNESSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!! CONGRATULATIONS! I’m soooo excited for you!!!! I squealed out loud when I saw this!! 🙂

    Now I REALLY can’t wait to meet up, so that I can see your bling!! 😉 Congrats again, girl. Enjoy this time … it’s very special!

    • THANK YOU KRISTEN!!!!!!!!!! I am so excited!! And can’t wait to show off the ring ;). Hope you’re having an awesome time in Florida!

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    Are you going to call me crazy if I tell you that I SCREAMED when I saw the ring picture!? Congratulations, Lindsay! I am SO happy for you and Chris, and can tell that you two make each other truly very happy. I wish nothing but the best for you two!!!!! 🙂

    • Haha I love that you screamed! I would probably do the same thing!! Thank you so much Brittany! I hope you’re having a great time at home :).

  3. This is ADORABLE!!!!!!!! Congrats!!!!!

  4. Congratulations!!! That’s so exciting and something to be so thankful for!!!!!!

  5. OH MY GOODNESS!!! YAY! Congratulations girl! That is so exciting. 🙂 What an exciting thing to celebrate over the holidays! Your ring is beautiful!

  6. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! I love how he planned it out!! And the ring is gorgeous 🙂

  7. Julia @ The Coffee Crazed Teacher

    Your ring is GORGEOUS!!!!

    I am so incredibly excited for you, and I don’t even know you! haha I feel like one of my friends just got engaged! Congratulations to you both!

    Maybe one day when you are visiting Chris in FL this year I can actually meet you and see it in person (I live in South FL) haha

    I am so happy that you had a HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

    • Thank you so much!!! I would LOVE to meet you in person when I’m in FL! Where are you in South FL?? I hope you had a great holiday!

      • Julia @ The Coffee Crazed Teacher

        A little south of Boca, in Ft. Lauderdale. But my bf lives about 10 minutes from the FAU campus. We are around there all of the time.

        I did have a great holiday, thank you! So excited for you!!

  8. OMG CONGRATS!!!!!!! I just got the chills reading that. I’m so incredibly happy for you. So amazing!!! 😀

  9. YIPPEEEEEEE!!! Congrats!! Marriage is SO fun! Wedding planning might be equally as fun!

  10. Aw what a great engagement story! Congratulations to you & your fiance!! 😉

  11. Oh gosh I love ” LOVE” !!! Im so happy for you guys! Congrats again!

    He proposed in the sweetest way and what a bling bling beauty! Good job Chris!!!!!!

    I am so beyond the moon excited for you both!!!

  12. Congrats to you both!!!! 🙂

    I LOVE the proposal too! Awh!!

  13. Ahhh congratulations!! 🙂 Love stories like these! Super excited for you guys!! Such a sweet proposal and HELLO BLING!! 😉

  14. hhaha aww yayyy!! I love how family oriented everything was!! That’s so sweet~~Now, enjoy a little bit of resting time, and then hop on in the preparation stage! 🙂 Congratulations Lindsay~

  15. CONGRATULATIONS! As a newlywed that engagement excitement isn’t too long forgotten for me. The ring is so pretty and I wish the best for the two of you!

  16. What a cute proposal story..and what a gorgeous ring!! Congratulations 🙂 All the best to both of you

  17. Congratulations! You look like such a gorgeous and happy couple. 4 years?? Wow, that;s incredible. Sounds like the start of a happy life 🙂

  18. Oh my goodness!! When I saw the first pic of the “will you marry me sign” I had no idea how huge it was! So fun and creative…love these kind of stories!

    Congrats girl and the pics are super sweet! 🙂 🙂

  19. Oh my gosh congratulations!!! That is wonderful news! Congrats to you and Chris, what a wonderful day!

  20. Congratulations!!!! What a beautiful engagement story!!!!

  21. AHHHH LINDS!!!! That is so exciting! I already knew from your twitter but I LOVE LOVE LOVE engagement stories! I don’t know if it’s the wine I’m drinking or what, but I teared up! What an awesome way to propose, you must have been absolutely dying. I am so happy for you. HUGE congratulations!!!! I love that you had no idea about the whole thing, that is the best way for it to happen in my opinion 🙂

    Have a great weekend with your new fiance!

    • Thank you so much!!! I LOVE engagement stories too and I’m still “in shock” somewhat that I now have my own! I totally agree that the best way for it to happen is without having any idea :). I hope you have a great weekend Linds!

  22. Awwww, congrats!!!! 🙂

  23. WWEEEEEEE Congratulations!!! I am soooo darn happy for you lady 😀

  24. OH MY GOSH! Congratulations – the ring is absolutely gorgeous!

  25. What a cute story!! Congrats to both of you 🙂 The holidays will be extra special this year!

  26. Beautiful ring and adorable proposal story. It looks similar to mine. So happy for you! 🙂

  27. omg! i loved reading this…so happy for you lindsay! the ring is amazingly beautiful and classic. congrats to you both!!!!!!

  28. I’m so happy that today happens to be the day I stumbled upon your blog! I love your engagement story ~ congratulations! Wedding planning is such an exciting time.

  29. AAAHHH!!! Congrats!!! That is so exciting!!! The ring is BEAUTIFUL!

  30. Oh my goodness! You two are just the cutest couple! Seriously! Congratulations! 🙂

  31. Such a cute way he proposed….congrats!! 🙂

  32. Hi! I just stumbled on your blog today (I saw your guest post on My Food N’ Fitness Diaries) and what a good day to stop by! Congratulations!

  33. OH YIPPPPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE! first blog to read since i got here and it made my day! congrats!

  34. Oh wow, congrats Lindsay!!! How exciting:D Adorable proposal, too.

  35. AHHH Soooo exciting!! Congratulations to you and Chris!!!! Enjoy this extremely exciting time! 🙂

  36. What an awesome proposal! Congratulations!!!

  37. LINDSAY!!!! oh my goodness congratulations!!! i have been so far behind on reading blogs i can’t believe i missed this but seriously girl that is so so exciting i am so happy for you! you guys are so precious. what an awesome thanksgiving surprise 🙂 🙂

  38. CONGRATS girl!!!!!!!!! SO excited for you 🙂

  39. Crystal Coppel @cuppycakefreak

    YAY!!! I am sooo far behind on my blog reading from being out of town the week of Thanksgiving that I had no idea you were engaged until I saw it on Twitter last night! So I had to see if there was a post on your blog about it and of course there was a post about it!! Your ring is beautiful and that is such a sweet way Chris proposed!!! So creative and so sweet! I love how everyone knew about it and there were cookies waiting for you guys with your names on it!! Love it!! Well CONGRATS again!! :))

  40. Girl, I am like WAY WAY late- sorry! I’ve been out of the blog world for far too long! But HUGE HUGE HUGE Congrats!!! & what a very cute way to propose!!!! Have you picked a date??

    • Thank you so much Holly!!! I hope you’ve been doing well!! We haven’t picked a date yet because we both still have to finish school haha…but I think we’re going to start looking at venues over winter break!

  41. Congratulations!!! What an amazing proposal!! 🙂

    P.S. Your ring is GORGEOUS!! Lucky girl!!

  42. Yay! So exciting! I just had to read your proposal story :). I want to hear all about your wedding planning!

  43. I just stumbled upon your blog and I love it but I am also obsessed with reading about people’s proposals and this is soo sweet!! Congrats

  1. Pingback: Stretching Series – Calves

  2. Pingback: 30 Minute Strength Workout

  3. Pingback: Spreading the Love | The Lean Green Bean

  4. Pingback: Looking Forward to Winter Break

  5. Pingback: 11 Things

Leave a Reply

