30 Minute Strength Workout

Hello!!! 🙂

Um, how is it Wednesday already?? I mean, I’m not complaining. I’m all for the next few weeks flying by because that means that I can get home and see Chris, my family, and friends again!

And let me just say that I absolutely adore being able to call Chris my fiance!! I also can’t stop staring at the ring on my finger hehe…I’m like a giddy little girl over here and I love it.

So over Thanksgiving break I came down with a head cold. My sinuses were super painful, my throat was a bit sore, and my nose was extremely congested. I decided to take several days off from exercising because frankly I just didn’t feel well enough to put forth the effort!

Source

When I got back to Boston on Monday I was itching to get back to the gym after taking 4 days off. I only had enough time to get in a 30-minute workout and I completed a lower body strength workout mixed with some plyos so I could get my heart pumping.

30 Minute Lower Body Supersets and Core Strength Workout

**For the supersets: complete each weighted exercise 3 times and each plyometric exercise 2 times. Superset the weighted and plyometric exercises the for the first two sets. Then complete a 3rd set of just the weighted exercise and immediately move on to the next group of supersets. Rest for only 30 seconds between each superset.

**For the core exercises: complete 3 sets of each exercise

Superset 1:

  • Stability ball squats with dumbbells: 15 reps
  • Jump squats: 15 reps

Superset 2:

  • Rear lunges with dumbbells: 15 reps each leg
  • Lateral bounds: 16 reps total (8 each side)

Superset 3:

  • Straight-leg deadlifts with barbell: 15 reps
  • Jumping lunges: 16 reps total (8 each leg)

Superset 4:

Core

It was so nice to get a quick and sweaty workout in after not exercising for a few days!

This morning I wanted to workout for a bit longer but since I still have some congestion and a cough I didn’t want to overdo it. I did an “easy” 3 miles on the treadmill and then 10 minutes on the elliptical. I felt completely spent at the end…those 3 miles didn’t feel too easy. Does anyone else ever feel like it’s difficult to pick up where you left off before you were sick?? I guess I need to ease myself back into it haha.

———–

Anyway, I went grocery shopping yesterday and I was so proud of myself for spending about $15 less than normal and that included getting several household items that were needed (soap, toilet paper, etc.). I realize that $15 may not seem like a lot but it is for me! Especially since I have no source of income while in grad school. I don’t usually spend a lot of money at the grocery story anyway, but I have noticed that lately I’ve been purchasing some things that aren’t exactly necessary and that I don’t really eat often enough to get through without it going bad.

So, in trying to be mindful of what I was purchasing, I successfully bought less and spent less and somehow still have plenty of food to get me through the week! Apparently I need to be more mindful all the time :).

Source

I hope you all have a great Wednesday! Just think…it’s almost the weekend again!

Questions:

Do you find that you have to ease yourself/your body back into exercising after being sick?

How do you practice “mindfulness” with grocery shopping?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on November 30, 2011, in Lifting, Shopping, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. I turn to strength training or yoga when I’m not feeling 100% – cardio is tough when my energy levels are depleted.

    • Agreed – I find that hot yoga is such an opener for my sinuses when I’m feeling totally foggy. Really lets your breath and stretch out all those achy joints!

  2. Awesome routine! And yay for saving moolah at the grocery, nothing beats that feeling of makin some great deals 😉 I think that’s why I’m a coupon fiend haha

    Have a great day!

  3. Awww, way belated congrats! Obviously I’m a little behind on my blog reading…silly Thanksgiving break!

  4. Love the routine! I’ll be tryin this out for sure 🙂

    And I can’t believe I missed the engagement post…CONGRATS!!!!!! 🙂

  5. Looks like a great workout!! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    I’m sorry to hear you were feeling sick! That’s no fun. I usually find I definitely need to ease back into my workouts after I’ve been sick. I think a lot of times we physically don’t have symptoms of our sickness anymore, but our body is still trying to fight it off, so we might still be weaker.

    I practice “mindfulness” at the grocery store by having a list prepared before I go. I also make sure to go when I’m not hungry, otherwise everything looks good to me, and I end up with way too many items that I don’t need. I try to stay away from the middle aisles as well, which usually consist of the “snacky foods”.

    • I try to prepare lists and then I somehow tend to either forget them at home or forget to look at them when I’m in the store haha. And that’s really smart to stay away from the middle aisles!

  6. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Please rub off the “Spend less” bug on me! I seriously go nutzo whenever at the store and end up walking out with so much more than I intended to get. It’s not a good thing at all, ESPECIALLY when I don’t have an income either!

    Maybe we should become coupon hoarders 😉

    • Haha I need to rub the spend less bug off on me more often…this week was not normal for me. I say we become coupon hoarders and then go on that TLC show 😉

  7. I try to be mindful by buying what’s on sale..but sometimes I get a little lazy and those weeks inevitably I spend more!

  8. Great workout! Defs trying this one 🙂

  9. $15 saved means A ALOT! That’s one meal out where we live!

  10. For me, mindfulness at the grocery store means meal planning! That also helps with eating healthfully.

  11. When I’m not feeling 100% I do light cardio or stretching/foam rolling. But sometimes I gotta teach if I can’t find a sub. hah! I also use essential oils, so I have not been sick (where I have to miss out on anything really) in over 18 months!

  12. I absolutely SUCK at not buying mindless things at the grocery store. I LOVE grocery shopping and always make a list, but I always pick up stuff I don’t need. Even though I love grocery shopping, if I ever won the lottery the first thing I would do would be hire someone to go grocery shopping for me, then someone to do my laundry, cause that’s absolutely my most hate chore! And it takes me a good week to have my energy back to normal after I’m sick and it sucks cause I just have to wait it out, and I’m impatient 😉

  13. Oh my goodness we need to go grocery shopping together so you can teach me to spend less!! I find myself mindlessly shopping pretty often and also making last-minute purchases… like those almonds from TJs! I didn’t need to buy them of course, but I make purchases like that all of the time.. ugh!

  14. I’m always so surprised at how hard it is to get back to working out after being sick! I usually start out by just doing my favorite (running) and just doing a couple miles until I feel strong enough to go back to my normal distances.

    I’m afraid I’m losing all of my grocery shopping mindfulness! I moved back in with my parents this year, so I just get whatever I want when my mommy’s there to buy it 🙂 I’m going to have to buckle down once I’m on my own again!

  15. I’m all about making a grocery list and then sticking to it … it’s the best way to keep my grocery bills down. I kinda want to start couponing a little (not like the crazy people … just couponing like a normal human being), but I don’t even know where to start!

  16. Julia @ The Coffee Crazed Teacher

    It seems everyone got sick over the Thanksgiving weekend. I have been Airborne-ing it up since Sunday to keep the sickness at bay.

    The easiest way for me to stay “mindful” while shopping is to write a list and ONLY buy whats on there. Also, having a full stomach will help me stay away from impulse buys. There are so many good things on those shelves, it’s hard to resist!

    P.S. – Love that you are LOVING being engaged! 🙂

  17. I have been SO out of the blog world loop, I didn’t even realize you were engaged!!! Congratulations, my dear!

  18. CONGRATS Dollface!!!! I’m a little behind on keeping up, but you’re a lucky lady and Chris is a lucky dude!!! Love this news!!! You deserve every itty bit of happiness!!

    xxoo

Leave a Reply

