Guest Post – First Race

Hi friends! I hope you all have a great Thursday! Today I have a guest post for you from Jackie about running her first race. I hope you enjoy it :).

Source

My First Race

By: Jackie Clark

I’d always hated running. I found ways to avoid running whenever possible. But after I delivered my first baby, I found myself at a loss for how to lose all that baby weight I didn’t expect to gain. Before my pregnancy, no one could ever imagine me bigger than a size eight, but afterward I was more than twice that and feeling very uncomfortable about it.

When a dear friend suggested we train together for a 5k, I immediately declined. Once I learned that a 5k wasn’t actually five miles, I felt a little more receptive, and eventually she convinced me to start. We signed up to run in the local Susan G Komen Race for the Cure. When we registered, we received a fundraising web site, which I touted using social media like Twitter and Facebook. I was surprised by how many people I got to visit and who ended up donating to the cause. In fact, many who donated were friends of mine that I didn’t know were breast cancer survivors. One was even a survivor of mesothelioma, and his encouragement and willingness to donate made a big difference to me. The Mesothelioma survival rate is especially low, hovering at only 40 percent, and I knew what a fight my friend had been through.

As a result of the overwhelming support my friends, family, and Twitter followers offered I began to get more serious about training. Originally, I had wanted to just run the first mile, and I would be comfortable walking the rest. For someone who had never run a mile in her life without cheating by skipping a lap, this was a considerably high goal in the first place, but I decided I wanted to run the whole thing. So with four weeks to train, I started out slowly just to see how long I could run without stopping. The first day, it wasn’t long, but I realized if I ran faster I could finish my first mile quicker. After a week of training every day, I could run the first mile and was walking/running the second and third. In the middle of the third week I worked up to running a quick first mile and then settling into a slow but steady pace for the rest of them. My goal now became a 35-minute time, which I hadn’t been able to reach when I entered race day.

We had to get up early, and parking was such a mess I thought I might be late. I ended up having to park and walk almost half a mile, which I worried might slow me down. I picked up my race chip and attached it to my shoe, then pinned my number to my shirt. Suddenly, I looked like I belonged here. When the race began, the huge surge of people running at once took me a little by surprise, but I picked an older, skinnier lady to pace myself with and the adrenaline carried me the rest of the way. I finished just 15 seconds short of my 35-minute goal, but I was so proud of myself, especially seeing my husband and baby waving signs and cheering me on near the finish line.

I learned after the race that all our fundraising efforts helped donate more than $600,000 to fighting cancer. That felt almost as good as finishing my first race.

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on December 1, 2011, in Guest Post. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. What a great story! That’s fantastic you not only finished the race strong, but helped raise money for a great cause šŸ™‚

  2. $600,000?!?! That’s amazing! Great job!

  3. That’s an incredible amount of money for a great cause!

  4. Incredible! What a great way to get motivated. Would you say that you’ve caught tje running bug now? šŸ™‚

  5. Congrats on becoming a runner! Your running story is almost identical to mine…one day I just decided I wasn’t going to hate it anymore and I was going to actually try to run a mile. And then I kept at it, ran my first 5k and then ran two more! I am planning on running a 10k in the spring šŸ™‚

  6. Such a cool story and great guest post! Congrats on your achievement!! šŸ™‚

  7. WOW! That is awesomesauce. Great story!

  8. Very cool! Congratulations on finishing your first race!! It’s an amazing feeling, isn’t it??

Leave a Reply

