Holiday Comforts

 

 

 

 

This post is sponsored by Tempur-Pedic, the brand millions of owners trust to deliver their best night’s sleep every night. Enjoy our Buy 2, get 1 free pillow offer now and give the gift of custom comfort to someone you love.

I LOVE the holidays! It’s one of my favorite times of year :). Not only do I enjoy all of the Christmas spirit, music, and giving and receiving that occurs but there are some things that really help make the holiday season more special for me. Most of these things are traditions and are very comforting to me. These comforts are the things that make me truly enjoy this time of year.

My Holiday Comforts

1. Being At Home

The past six years I have lived away from home because of college and graduate school. It’s really hard to feel the season’s cheer when I have my nose buried in textbooks and I’m stressing about finals. Whenever I come home for winter break, I finally feel like my holiday spirit can come out in full force. There is something incredibly comforting about being at home with all of the pretty decorations, watching sappy Christmas movies on tv, and seeing family and friends!

2. Christmas Eve

Every Christmas Eve we get together with my mom’s side of the family. It’s like a huge party and I get to spend time with many of the people that I love. This has been a family tradition since before I was born and it is something I look forward to every year. We eat lots of hor d’oeuvres and desserts and enjoy some adult beverages. We also have a huge white elephant style gift exchange (although some of the gifts are good so everyone wants those) where people can steal them from one another. It’s so much fun!

Jordan (my cousin's husband), my cousin Whitney, me, and my fiance Chris

3. Sitting by the fire

Something about sitting by the fire with a big cozy sweater on just screams winter-time and the holidays to me. Perhaps it’s because a pretty fire is always shown in holiday movies, but all I know is that I’ve always loved it. And of course it’s much better if Chris is there to snuggle next to me.

4. Watching classic Christmas movies

And by classic movies I mean “A Christmas Story” and National Lampoon’s “Christmas Vacation”. These are my two favorite Christmas movies and they never get old to me. I always try to watch them at least once during the holiday season, sometimes more.

Source

Source

5. Wrapping Christmas presents

This is something that I usually really enjoy and that I’ve always been fairly good at. In fact, in the past my grandma and aunt have had me come over and wrap presents for them in exchange for them taking me to lunch :). I don’t really know why I like to wrap gifts, but I think it has something to do with the way they all look so pretty when they’re stacked beneath the Christmas tree!

6. The decorated tree in my house

I adore our Christmas tree. It’s big and it’s fake, but it is awesome. It is bursting with decorations and colored lights. There are tons of glass balls and fancy ornaments, but also lots of wooden and older ornaments that have a history and meaning to them. I often catch myself just staring at our tree and smiling to myself (wow that sounds cheesy, but it’s true!). The tree I get in my first home has some high expectations to live up to!

And now I am even more excited to go home and experience all of these holiday comforts! Like I said before…I love this time of year :).

Comfort is the perfect gift for everyone on your holiday gift list, so be sure to take advantage of Tempur-Pedic’s Buy 2, get 1 free pillow offer! I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective.

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on December 5, 2011, in About Me, Family, Movie. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. AHH Christmas Vacation is my favorite too! 😀 I can’t wait to watch that with the family over break. And I love love lovee wrapping presents, it’s always so fun to deck them out hardcore haha Love your tree!

    Have a great Monday chica! 🙂

  2. When did you get engaged?? Congratulations!!!

  3. I love y’alls tree!! It is super cute!

  4. Oh gosh my family does the white elephant gift exchange with 50 people!! we are usually in teams and it becomes very competitive. Typically, the gifts everyone fights over are Starbucks gift cards and lottery tickets!! ya never know… 😉

  5. You just made me INCREDIBLY excited for Christmas. I LOVE LOVE LOVE sitting around the fire…does it get any better than that?!?!

  6. Adorable Tree! 🙂 I really like Christmas Eve too. It’s the night we all eat peppermint ice cream and watch holiday movies together by the fire.

  7. Reading your post simply put me in the Christmas mood!!!! On goes the Christmas Music playlist!!!!

  8. I have to admit I appreciated Christmas even more during college and grad school – that break was even sweeter!

  9. Christmas Story is a family tradition. Love it!

  10. Pretty tree!!

    I too love the feeling of ‘being home’ after finals. SO glad that ended last year. Hah. GOOD luck on yours!!

  11. Nothing feels like Christmas time to me like Christmas eve, with my family, sitting on the couch, drinking wine/hot cocoa and watching Christmas Vacation. Never gets old!

  12. Being at home in my PJ’s is definitely a holiday comfort 🙂

Leave a Reply

