15 Fitness Gifts of Christmas

Hi friends!

I hope you have all been having a good week so far! So, one thing that I cannot accomplish while still at school is my Christmas shopping. You see, I can’t really do it because I am not going to have any room in my suitcase when I fly back home to Ohio. That means that I’ll have about a week to shop when I get home. Totally doable but sometimes it’s really hard when people haven’t told me what they want haha.

Well, yesterday I got the idea to write a post highlighting some gifts (on a big spectrum of cheap to expensive) for fitness enthusiasts. I have sometimes heard that it can be offensive to purchase fitness items or workout wear for people, but I don’t see it that way at all- especially if you know someone is a health and fitness fan!

I sent questions to my fellow fitfluential ambassadors and to my twitter peeps to see what fitness-related items people either wanted or thought would be good gifts! So here’s the list of items that people responded with:

Fitness-Related Gift Ideas:

1. TRX Suspension Training – a portable, suspension tool that allows you to do hundreds of bodyweight exercises

Source

2. MOTOACTV– a really cool new device that does a bunch of things: tracks time, distance, speed, and calories burned; stores and plays music and learns what songs motivate you; has an audio coach that can update you and keep you moving; and you can download your performance data onto motoactv.com or to an android app that you download

Source

3. Foam roller – a form of stretching that allows you to do self-myofascial release

Source

4. iTunes gifts cards to download new workout music

Source

5. Heart rate monitors

Source

6. Nike GPS watch – the gps works with the Nike+ sensors to let a runner know accurate pace and distance data; can personalize it with motivational features; also tracks heart rate and calories burned

Source

7. Health and fitness magazine subscriptions

Source

8. New Balance Minimus Road running shoes

Source

9. Workout clothes (and this could include cold weather gear! :))

Source

10. Standing punching bag

Source

11. Workout headbands…I love my BIC band!

Source

12. Resistance bands

Source

13. Stability ball

Source

14. Personal training sessions (I know Tina just started offering online personal training services :D)

Source

15. Earbuds

Source

———-

Alright friends, there ya have it! A list of 15 awesome fitness-related gifts that you can buy for someone…or ask someone else to get for you ;). I could have made this list even longer- it’s amazing how many awesome things are out there!

Anyhoo…I hope you all have a fabulous Wednesday! Love you xoxo!

**If you haven’t yet, please vote for me to become one of the next Love Bloggers for Love Grown Foods! Just like my picture :D. I really appreciate it!!

Questions:

What fitness items would you want as a gift?

Do you ever buy other people fitness-related presents?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on December 7, 2011, in Health, Random, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. Ooh that MOTOACTV thing sounds wicked cool! I’ll definitely have to bookmark this for when I go Christmas shopping for my dad 🙂

    Hope your Wednesday rocks my friend!

  2. I’ve got my eye on a BOSU for Christmas. Fingers crossed!

  3. I know what you mean about some people not liking fitness products as gifts…

    But I agree, for ME, I LOVE them! 🙂 Same with my mom, I usually get her a fitness related gift just because I know she really wants it and she’ll love it! I don’t think there should be any stigma with fitness gifts, its a GIFT for crying out loud! 😛

    Tons of great gift ideas by the way, I sooooooooo want a foam roller!!

  4. I bought myself a balance ball for Christmas a year ago! I would love new earphones though.. 🙂

  5. I definitely agree with the iTunes gift card. If I have good music, my workout will be so much better! I’ve been wanting to try the BIC bands. I have seen them all over the internet, and I love how they come in cute colors and designs!

  6. I started reading this post thinking “I wouldn’t really want a fitness related gift” but I realised I’d actually love most everything on this list! A heart rate monitor, subscription to women’s health, new running shoes and workout clothes would all be great presents.

  7. some great ideas! i’m definitely asking for those TRX bands!

  8. I’m the only fitness freak in the family, so I don’t usually buy others fitness gifts. I would, however, love to get a HR monitor, new headphones/earbuds, or running gloves. Great list!

  9. This is such a great list! TRX is amazing…and crazy difficult of course.

    I want a Garmin real bad too!

  10. whohooooo you included my desire for a stand up punching bag

    sure wish Santa would come visit me..it’s been years and I’ve been good

  11. I’m all about buying people fitness gifts–and they all know that 🙂 hah. My sis is going to get a super sweet sports bra she’s had her eye on. SCore!

    Great list, btw.

    Pretty sure Santa is brining me some more Zumba clothes (I teach it), workout tops, socks, and a foam roller. Fingers crossed he pulls through 🙂

  12. That motoactv thing is freaking awesome!!! My entire Christmas list is exercise/fitness focused. I think that is a good sign, right?!

  13. These are all great ideas! A few fitness related things on my list are: a stability ball (I don’t know why I don’t already have one), Garmin watch, workout clothes, earbuds, and fitness/health magazine subscriptions. Fitness related gifts are probably my favorite ones to receive! 🙂

  14. I really need a foam roller… now we’ll just see if my fiance can find one 🙂

  15. Foam Rollers are a TERRIBLE Christmas present! They hurt soooooo much!

    • Haha I’ve actually never tried one! I probably should but I’m kind of afraid of the pain. So many people seem to swear by them though!

  16. Ahh I really want minimal shoes! I think everyoneee should have a foam roller. Easily the best thing I own!

  17. This is a great post! This just gave me a great idea as well, I just recently got into yoga and pilates at my local gym but the classes are so expensive. I will have to ask for dvds for these workouts for Christmas! Thanks for the idea, and all the other great ones you have listed here!

  18. I really need new head phones! 🙂

  19. Great ideas! I want a subscription to “Runner’s World” for Christmas!! 🙂

  20. Such great ideas, we did a bunch of gift guides too – always looking for new and great fitness gift ideas. Also so glad I stumbled on your blog, so cute, love it!

  21. Those are great ideas!! 🙂

  22. This is a great list Lindsay! I have a few of those on my list already, but new ear buds on the very top of my list.

  23. did you know TRX is on sale? Take advantage! love mine! and love all these.

  24. Okay so I originally read this post on my phone and couldn’t comment. Somehow I also totally missed your shout out to me. NOw I have to say THANNK YOU! Q

  25. I want TRX straps! I don’t know where I’d put them, but I want them!!!!

Leave a Reply

