Stretching Series – Glutes

Hi friends! Another Monday is upon us. Let’s get through this week asap so I can go home for winter break!

So I wanted to tell you that yesterday morning at the gym I completed Courtney’s running Pyramid Treadmill Workout and it was awesome! You guys have to try it. I was dying by the end, but it felt good to be challenged like that!

Sometimes it’s really nice to use workouts that other bloggers have come up with :). There are just some days that I don’t want to think about what I have to do haha.

————

Let’s get back to my stretching series, shall we? I kind of forgot to do one last week…oops :P. In case you’ve missed the previous ones, here they are:

Hip flexors

IT band

Quads and hamstrings

Calves

Today, it’s all about the bootay…or to be more anatomically correct, the gluteus muscles. Our butts actually consist of 3 different gluteal muscles, but I’ll just focus on the largest ones – gluteus maximus.

Source

Our glutes are powerful muscles that help keep our trunks in an erect posture. They also help our bodies go against gravity when walking up stairs.

Glute Stretches

1. Lying glute stretch

Lie down on the floor or a mat. Bend knees and cross one leg over the thigh of the other leg. Grasp the back of the thigh (of the leg that isn’t crossed) with both hands and pull toward your stomach.

Source

2. Stacked knee glute stretch

Stack your knees on top of one another, and with bent knees bring your feet back toward your hips. If your hips are tight, your top leg probably won’t lie flat- that’s fine! Lean forward to stretch.

Source

3. Seated glute stretch

This is similar to the lying glute stretch. Sit with legs bent and cross one ankle over the thigh of the other leg. Bring your foot that is on the ground as close to your body as possible while keeping the crossed knee from coming in toward your body.

Source

4. Pigeon pose

From and all fours position, bring one leg forward and rest your outer thigh on the ground. Extend your other leg behind you so that it is straight.

Source

5. Standing glute stretch

From a standing position, cross one ankle over your other thigh and squat down. Make sure to keep bent leg flat (don’t let it raise upward).

Source

I hope you all have an amazing Monday!

 

Questions:

What is your favorite way to stretch out your glutes?

Do you like doing workouts that other bloggers have posted?

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Bloggers, Stretching. Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. DUDE this was so informative!! I’m working on glutes/legs later today, so I’m definitely gonna be using these stretches. Thanks! 🙂

  2. i love pigeon pose and i don’t even do yoga!

  3. Ahhh I love pigeon pose. Deff my fav!

  4. i love doing other bloggers’ workouts that they post too. you’re right, sometimes it’s just nice not have to think too much about what you’re going to do. 🙂

    these are some great glute stretches! a couple of them i’ve never even tried before, so i’m looking forward to trying them out.

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    At my workshop we learned how to foam roll our glutes and I was DYING in ecstasy. I put a foam roller on my Christmas list, so I have a feeling that tons of glute rolling will be in my future too 8)

    …I sound like such a creeper in this comment…

  6. The stacked knee stretch is seriously the best. I always do other bloggers workouts!!

  7. I love pigeon pose! It’s my yoga favorite, but mostly for my hips not my bum. I love doing the standing one while I’m at work…straight standing for 4h!

  8. My glutes are by far my most naturally-soar muscles…I even stretch them while waiting to cross at stop lights. I look slightly off and get some weird looks, but hey, at least my glutes are feeling loose! haha

  9. I LOVE pigeon pose! And the seated glute stretch. Ohhhh stretching that booty feels OH so good! hah 😉

    Great post!

  10. Ahh this is so so helpful! I am the worst stretcher alive… seriously I am just so lazy with it! When I finish my workout I just get on home, shower, eat and whatever, but never stretch. It’s so bad. Committing an extra bit of time each day to it would make such a difference though. Thanks for this info m’dear 🙂

    • I am usually so lazy with stretching too! But I’m really starting to notice how important it is…especially since I have lost so much of the flexibility that I used to have!

  11. I love glute stretches! I never think to do the stacked knee stretch, but it sure looks like a good one.

  12. I have fallen in love with doing workouts I see other people post! A lot of times, they incorporate things that I don’t always do so it’s always a new challenge.

  13. Whenever you do a stretching series I always say that I NEED to stretch whatever you have posted about, but I REALLY need to stretch my glutes! I definitely neglect those puppies. I do love the pigeon pose though 🙂

    And yes, I love doing other blogger’s workouts! Especially ones that I can do at home.

  14. These are all great ones that I use myself and find that they really help with my hamstring soreness!

  15. I have such tight hips and LOVE pigeon pose. Sadly, I don’t stretch enough. I need to work on that for sure.

  16. Last week, I did yoga twice and loved how I felt, so I think I need to incorporate it into my routine more often for stretching!

  17. I love doing other blogger’s workout, especially when I can do them at home! And my glutes my most focused on muscle group when it comes to stretching my lower body, my glutes and hip are fairly weak, so I’m working on strengthening them and if I want to walk the next day I need to stretch. Pigeon and sitting glute stretch (variation of your standing one) are my favorite!

  18. I try a lot but not nearly all of the workouts I see posted on other blogs. It’s a great way to change it up. I’m definitely going to check out that treadmill plan. I found one I loved on Cardio Pizza’s blog, so hopefully I’ll like this one just as much.

    As for the stretches, I love that first one. It stretches my booty but feels really good on my back too for some reason. It just seems to take a lot of pressure off after a hard workout.

  19. this is such a good post! I always forget about the standing glute strech- love it 🙂

  20. love getting other treadmill workouts– it definitely helps me stay motivated to switch it up 😀

  21. The pigeon is my favorite except I usually lay down on my elbows. I’ll have to look at the hip flexor one because mine are always sore.

  22. great stretches! probably helpful after a hard treadmill workout 🙂

  23. I love that first stretch! That one I feel always gives me the best stretch in my “gluteus maximus” 🙂 I have never tried that standing wall one, I will have to give that one a try! Thanks for the ideas, these would be great for after runs or leg workouts.

  24. I love stretching my bum…I especially love the pigeon pose. So relaxing!

Leave a Reply

