Quick Tabata Workout and Christmas Survey

Hi friends!! πŸ˜€

I hope you are all having a good week. Mine is fine, it just feels like it’s taking forever! Grrr…hopefully these next couple days go by quickly!

Anyway, yesterday at the gym I was inspired to incorporate some tabatas into my workout. For those of you that don’t know, a tabata is a form of HIIT where you do an exercise for 20 seconds and rest for 10 before starting again. You go for a total of 8 sets, which means that 1 tabata is 4 minutes long. Yesterday I did 2 tabatas before my strength workout. It definitely got me breathing heavy and I could tell I was working hard! Oh and I totally did some one-legged burpees :)…so proud of myself!

Pin It

I love incorporating new things into my workouts! It keeps my body challenged :D.

And to clarify some of the exercises:

Plank jacks (click the link)

Medicine ball squat to toss: Squat down with the ball at chest height and then as you come up out of the squat, toss the ball up in the air. Catch the ball as you go back down into another squat. I couldn’t find any pics of the full movement so here are two different ones

Start-

Source

End-

Source

————–

Anyway, on Monday I saw this Christmas survey on Alexandra’s blog and loved it. So, I decided to do it today! Enjoy!

1. Egg nog or hot chocolate?? Um, I love both! I guess it depends on my mood. If I want something warm then I’ll go with hot chocolate.

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree? Santa always wraps presents…and they are in a different wrapping paper than the presents from anyone else!

3. Colored lights on tree/house or white? We have colored lights on our Christmas tree and white lights outside! All of the houses around me tend to put up white lights as well so it looks like a winter wonderland…although not nearly as intense as the Clark Griswold house πŸ˜‰

Source

4. Do you hang mistletoe? No we never have! At least not that I’m aware of haha.

5. When do you hang your decorations up? We usually put up our decorations the weekend after Christmas!

6. What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)? Oh man, I don’t know if I have one! We don’t always eat the same thing anyway. But if we have a thanksgiving style meal, then my favorite dish is the stuffing :).

7. Favorite Holiday memory as a child? Ummm…way too many to count or pick just one!

8. What is on your Christmas Wishlist? The only thing I asked for this year is a DSLR camera!

9. Do you open a gifts on Christmas Eve? Yep! We go to my aunt’s house on my mom’s side every Christmas Eve and there were get to open presents from my grandparents and from the white elephant gift exchange!

Source

10. How do you decorate your Christmas tree? We decorate our tree with colored lights, fun ornaments, fancy ornaments and balls, and some fun 3-d star things. I’ve shown this picture twice already, but I’m gonna post it again because I love our tree :).

11. Snow? Love it or dread it? I love snow until the new year! And then I’m over it haha. I think snow is so festive, so that’s why I like during the holidays. After the holidays are over though, snow can leave thank you very much.

12. Real tree or fake tree? We have a fake tree. When I was younger we had real trees at one point. Apparently that changed after my mom saw a real tree cause an apartment to catch on fire.

13. Do you remember your favorite gift? I’ve been an incredibly lucky person when it comes to Christmas. I am so thankful for everything, and ever single year I get some fabulous gifts. I can’t pick a favorite! There have been too many.

14. What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you? Spending time with my family and enjoying everything about the holiday season- the movies, music, decorations, cheerfulness that everyone experiences, etc!

15. What is your favorite Holiday dessert? I LOVE my mom’s fudge :D. I could eat it every single day!

Source

16. What is your favorite tradition? Our Christmas Eve celebration with my mom’s side of the family! We’ve been doing this since I was born, and it’s always so much fun! I also love the celebrations we have with my dad’s side of the family. So basically, all family get togethers are my favorite traditions :).

17. What tops your tree? A silver star with an elf hugging it. I’ve already posted this pic as well…but you can enjoy it again!

18. Which do you prefer: giving or receiving? When I was younger, of course I preferred receiving haha. As I’ve gotten older though, I really appreciate getting gifts for other people! I love it when I am successful and they absolutely love what I have picked out for them!

19. What is your favorite Christmas Song? I love “The Christmas Song” – you know the one about chestnuts roasting on an open fire…

20. Candy canes, yuck or yum? YUM…even though I don’t really eat them all that often.

21. Favorite Christmas Movie? I have multiple: A Christmas Story, Christmas Vacation, The Santa Clause, Elf, and Love Actually

22. What do you leave for Santa? Cookies and milk, and carrots for the reindeer :).

Source

23. Do you have a Christmas morning tradition? I can rarely sleep in on Christmas morning. I’m usually awake and bouncing with joy and anticipation by 7am (sometimes earlier). My “tradition” is to annoy my brother and go wake him up and make him get out of bed haha…I’m so nice.

24. Do you prefer to shop on-line or at the mall? I definitely prefer the mall! I like to see things in person. Although if I can get a better deal online then I’ll buy something!

25. Christmas letter or Christmas card? Um…a card I guess!

I love Christmas!! 11 days to go πŸ˜€ hehe

Source

Questions:

Have you ever done tabatas? What do you think of them?

Answer any of the above questions! Or do the survey for yourself πŸ™‚

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on December 14, 2011, in About Me, Bloggers, Intervals, Survey, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. Yay! I always love reading people’s answers to this πŸ˜€ Your mom’s fudge would probably be inhaled by me in 2 seconds, I LOVE fudge!! And, your tree is so pretty and twinkly!

    And love the workout, I’ll have to bookmark this for the future for sure πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve never heard of tabatas before, but they definitely seem like something that I’d be interested in incorporating into my workouts!

    Totally agree that Santa’s presents need to be in a different paper than everyone else’s, my family has always done that too. And, I’m a real tree girl all the way!

  3. I love this survey! I may have to repeat it this week on my blog! I love your elf topper. So much cuter than a plain star:) I grew up with a real tree but now I have a fake one. I must admit that it is so nice not to vacuum up needles.

    • Oh totally agree…it’s so nice not to vacuum up the tree needles! I look forward to reading your answers to the survey if you do it!

  4. fwow this is the second time I’ve heard the word tabata this morning! Will have to give it a try πŸ™‚

  5. Loved reading your answers…sounds like I need to try this fudge too!

  6. Hahah I love Christmas vacation! Thats my favourite Christmas movie πŸ™‚

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    All along I’ve been doing tabatas during Bodyrock and had no idea what they were called. Actually, Bodyrock is pretty much made up entirely of tabatas! Maybe thats why the workouts are so crazy effective πŸ™‚

  8. I’m totally going to do this survey too. I saw it on a couple other blogs πŸ™‚

    Loved reading your answers! The only thing I asked this year was a DSLR as well. I hope we both get one ;D

  9. What a fun workout–I love mixing it up with new things, too! Going to have to try this!

    Your survey is so cute!! I always love reading a little more about you and getting to know you better! XO πŸ™‚

  10. Oooooh that looks like an awesome tabata workout! I love the quick and dirty workouts–makes me feel awesome πŸ™‚

    I LOVE Christmas too!!!!! Def hot chocolate though (Sorry to the eggnog lovers)! I am a choc aholic!!

  11. I love your tree! beautiful!! πŸ˜€ cute survey!

  12. i love tabatas – they get you breathing hard and sweating like crazy so quickly! i often forget about them though, so i need to make a point of incorporating them back into my workouts.

    your christmas survey is so fun! i think i’m going to join in and post it on my blog soon too. πŸ™‚

  13. Surveys are fun. πŸ˜‰ I’m a hot cocoa and white lights kinda’ girl.

  14. I’ve never heard of tabats, but I do love doing HIIT on my treadmill. Sounds like a great workout! I’ll have to bookmark this one for a future gym day!

    And I love the Christmas survey! Your tree is so pretty! We used to have a real tree when I was younger too, but moved on to the fake. So much less of a hassle, but I do miss that smell from the real trees!

  15. Fun questions!! I love hot chocolate, my mom’s sugar cookies with frosting, and white Christmas lights. And this year, I’ve been a fan of shopping online. But I plan on doing a little in-store shopping next week … after meeting my blogger friend LINDSAY for lunch!! Yay! πŸ˜‰

  16. Love, love, love Tabatas!!! It’s one of my fav ways to work out.

    One of my of my favorite Christmas songs is “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”.

    I also love “The Christmas Song” Both make me shiver and I get very nostalgic and sentimetal.

  17. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    I love this survey! I just did it too! Here are some of my answers:

    1. Egg nog or hot chocolate?

    Definitely hot chocolate!

    2. Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?

    Santa always “bags” all of our gifts, and then sets them under the tree.

    3. Colored lights on tree/house or white?

    We have white lights outside, colored lights on our “little kid tree” and white lights on our “adult tree”…overkill much? Maybe!

  18. I’m going to have to look up these tabata workouts, they look awesome! Especially now that I don’t have access to a gym for a month or so! I might even try it for tomorrow morning’s workout

  19. I love this workout!! I’ll have to try it, I love fast workouts!

    Oooo I have white lights on my tree πŸ˜‰

    xxoo

  20. i love all the traditions! i wake up early too and sip coffee and bake cinnamon rolls. this year we are in NZ and going to the beach for a BBQ. weird but fun!

    is the fiance coming home? hope so!

  1. Pingback: Festive Christmas Survey

  2. Pingback: Christmas Celebrations

Leave a Reply

