Looking Forward to Winter Break

Hi friends! TGIF πŸ˜€

Yesterday I had my big final. It took almost a full 3 hours to complete. Yes, that’s a long a** time. And yes, my hand was cramping like crazy. Then I had to come home and finish my 6-page treatment plan that is due today. Thank goodness I had already started it and it didn’t take long to finish. Later this afternoon my finals week will be OVER!!! And that means that I can pack for my flight home tomorrow :). YAY!

I may have had a hefty glass of red wine last night to unwind from all of the studying and schoolwork this week. It totally hit the spot. I love Barefoot pinot noir!

Source

I cannot wait to go home. Not only am I super excited for the holidays (which I’m sure you’ve realized from previous posts haha) but I’m also excited for some other things this winter break!

1. Seeing friends that I haven’t seen in a while!

Over break I’ll get to see my friend Rae, whom I haven’t seen since this summer! She is one of my best friends and I miss her dearly. I’ll also get to see another best friend Whitney who I did get to see for a short bit over Thanksgiving, but I cannot wait to hang out with her again! Yay for friends πŸ˜€

Rae and I, senior year of college

Whitney and I at our friend Jenna's wedding this past summer!

2. Spending lots of time with Chris!!

I cannot believe that as of yesterday Chris and I have already been engaged for 3 weeks!! Eeeee that’s so crazy and exciting :). Our winter breaks will overlap for 3 weeks! That’s the longest amount of time I will have seen him since this summer. I’m super pumped! And we plan to go to a celebratory dinner for our engagement since the two of us haven’t really gotten to celebrate it alone.

3. Wedding stuff!

So I’ve been asked by people when Chris and I are getting married, and we have no idea yet haha. We do know that it won’t be next year because we both have to finish school. So it will be sometime in 2013. And that means that we have lots of time to plan the wedding. I’m actually glad that we will have a long engagement because that means that we can plan without getting too stressed about it. Plus, that just gives me lots of time to browse pinterest and other sites for pretty ideas! But, over break I do plan to start looking at a few venues with Chris and I may go try on some wedding dresses just to get a feel for what I want :D. Here are a few of the fun things I’ve found on pinterest:

Source: marthastewartweddings.com via Lindsay on Pinterest

Source: save-on-crafts.com via Lindsay on Pinterest

Source: stylemepretty.com via Lindsay on Pinterest

4. Reading for pleasure instead of school!

I’ve mentioned several times before that I’m an avid reader. And I usually read a TON over winter break. I don’t see why this year would be any exception. If you have any good book recommendations please let me know!

5. Spending time with family!

I am really lucky that I have such a great family. And most of them happen to be in Columbus and therefore I’ll get to see them over break! I didn’t get to see all of them over Thanksgiving break so it will be nice to get hang out with them! As I have mentioned, we do Christmas Eve with my mom’s family and I’m really looking forward to that. And this year Chris and I will be going to the Smokey Mountains in Tennessee for a couple of days after Christmas with my dad. That will be a lot of fun! We’ve never been there!

6. My FIRST blogger meet-up with Kristen!!

Kristen also lives in Ohio and she’s not too far from Columbus. We’ve decided to get lunch next week! Ahhh I’m so excited to meet her in person :D.

I hope you all have an amazing Friday!!

 

Questions:

What are you looking forward to over the holidays or winter break (if you have one)?

Any book recommendations??

Have you ever had a blogger meet-up?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on December 16, 2011, in About Me, Bloggers, Chris, Family, Friends, Life. Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. YAY for finishing your last final! πŸ˜€ I hear ya, I totally wanted to unwind with a nice drink after my last final on Monday, but I’ll have wait a couple of months for that with my bump. πŸ™‚ Love that you get to spend time with friends and family over the break. Reading for FUN is one thing I’m totally looking forward to too! πŸ™‚

  2. Reading for fun, yessssss!!! I totally need to do that this break too πŸ˜€ and you’re gonna have SO much fun planning for your wedding, especially watching copious reruns of say yes to the dress heehee πŸ˜‰

  3. WAHOO! WHat a fun sounding winter break! And congrats on almost being done!

    I LOVE reading. Here are some : Hunger Games series, The Help, Unbroken, American Wife, Cutting For Stone, and anything Harry Potter πŸ™‚

    • Ooo I’ve read The Hunger Games, The Help, and of course HP…but I’ll definitely have to check out the other ones! Thanks for the suggestions πŸ˜€

  4. I am so glad you get to spend time with Chris. Pinterest has the most adorable things for weddings!!!

    If you haven’t read the Hunger Games yet, I really recommend that you do!

  5. reading for fun is one of the BEST parts of break. I just loaded up at the library yesterday!

  6. Congrats on the final final! Hahah I still have two more to goo….

  7. Enjoy break! I miss winter (and summer) break soooooo much.

    Blogger meetups are fun too. I was a little freaked about my first one, but now we meet up somewhat regularly. πŸ™‚

  8. ahh i’m SO excited for you!! you will have such a nice winter break, i’m sure. i remember the excitement of getting to go home after finishing finals – it’s so refreshing! i love all the pins you posted of weddings. it’s SO fun to plan! enjoy it and try not to be stressed about everything. it can be overwhelming, so let me know if you have questions!

    i’ve never done a blogger meet up… i would love to though. i think i’d feel so nervous! it’s so different getting to know someone over the internet, and then meeting them in person i’m sure. i’m jealous you get to meet up with kristen! i love her blog. i’m sure you two will have a great time!

  9. That’s so exciting about your wedding plans! I’m with you on the planning, I won’t a long engagement to spread out the planning and really soak it all in! That dress is gorgeous!

    I too can’t wait to actually read for pleasure. My boyfriend got me a kindle in November and I still haven’t had time to use it with finals! I too live away from my family and can not wait to get to spend more than just a weekend with them! Gotta love the holidays! πŸ™‚

    P.S. I LOVE barefoot wine!

  10. I love reading for pleasure when I have the time. All the books I want to read, you’ve already read haha I’m currently reading the Hunger Games!

    I would love to have a blogger meet up sometimes. There’s not very many bloggers in Canada, so next time I go to the US, I’m definitely going to try and meet some bloggers! I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  11. Yay can’t wait for our lunch!! πŸ™‚ And I was already getting excited to talk about wedding stuff. I LOVE weddings so I’d love to give you some tips. Tip #1: I wouldn’t buy my dress tooo00 far in advance. You’d have too much time to change your mind and want something else haha. Either that or once you buy your dress, stop looking at dress magazines! πŸ˜‰

  12. Congrats on being done!! It’s such a glorious feeling isn’t it?! Ahhh I’m so excited to read about your wedding stuff!!!! My friend got engaged in October and is doing the same thing as you doing our break! They will have a long engagement as well! Congrats again!!!

  13. I miss the feeling of being completely done after finals. It’s the best closure before the holidays πŸ™‚ I am heading back to Ohio to…the Cleveland area!

  14. Woohoo congrats on finishing!!! Have an awesome time at home πŸ˜€

  15. Congrats! I’m excited for you to have this break–I will be living vicariously and hoping I can take some time off!!

    If you haven’t read Sarah’s Key, that was really good. And the Violets of March by Sarah Jio is excellent!

  16. I’m also an avid reader and look forward to winter break for all the reading!!! I love anything by Jhumpa Lahiri. She has a beautiful writing style.

  17. No break for me 😦 But I am looking forward to some boyfriend and family time!

  18. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Yeyyy for almost being done! Your break sounds like it will be fantastic between friends, reading time, and Chris. Let alone the fact that you’re meeting up with Kristen! You’re going to have a great time and I ca’t wait to hear all about it.

    Travel safe! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

