A Q-Tip Can Be a Toy

Hello everyone!!

I hope you all had an awesome weekend!

So I did try a Bodyrock workout yesterday and omg that baby was HARD! I did their 20 Minute Interval Cardio Workout which was 5 different tabatas. Wow, during some of the tabatas I had to make the exercises a bit easier to give myself a break because it felt like my heart was going to beat right out of my chest and I could barely catch my breath haha. That being said, I loved it! And I totally plan to start incorporating more workouts from that site into my workout routine!

Source

I didn’t get any shopping done yesterday which means that I have lots to do here today and the next few days. I’m actually kind of glad I didn’t go yesterday because I heard the mall crowds were a bit intense haha.

So lately Zoey’s new favorite kind of toy is a q-tip. Totally random right? But she loves them! It’s crazy…it’s like she can sense when I have one and she starts to get it from me haha. She likes to tear the cotton up on them and toss them around and pounce on them. Oh kittens…they are so fun :). I caught some pics of her yesterday playing with one.

I mean, I guess it’s good that I don’t have to go buy some expensive toys at the pet store!

In other random, Lindsay news I tried the Green Mountain Spicy Eggnog k-cup yesterday morning, and I used the Coffee-mate Eggnog Latte flavored creamer with it. Oh wow, talk about a winning combination guys! It tasted like a fancy Starbucks drink….without the huge amount of calories! I realize coffee creamer isn’t always the healthiest thing in the world, but it’s one of my guilty pleasures. Plus, I figure it won’t do that much harm since I don’t use all that much of it :).

On the to-do list for today: get a gym pass, workout, do lots of Christmas shopping, and download and start reading the book Violets of March by Sarah Jio. It’s the book that Julie chose for her December book club and I totally want to participate! This book sounds fabulous!

I hope you all have a great Monday!

Questions:

Do your pets find random things to use as toys?

Do you like coffee creamer? What’s your favorite flavor?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on December 19, 2011, in Bloggers, Books, Coffee, Pets, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 40 Comments.

  1. Aww! Your kitty is hilarious πŸ˜€ My dogs get joy out of toilet paper cardboard rolls haha

    Your day sounds really fun, hope you OWN that checklist!

  2. Haha – my cats will play with anything. Right now they’re on a scrunched-up paper ball kick. I haven’t tried giving them q-tips though.

    Thanks for the bodyrock link. I’ve only done one because I always have trouble finding one that is cardio focused and doesn’t require a bunch of equipment.

  3. its so funny what cats and dogs can find amusing! That coffee combination sounds amazing! I think I need to get myself a keurig!

  4. Cats definitely take the funniest things to be toys. My dog absolutely loves my pens – every time I leave one out, she tears it to bits!

  5. That book is SO amazing! I couldn’t put it down! Enjoy! πŸ™‚

  6. My cat uses Q-tips too! We have to remove the cotton from the ends, though, or she gets what we like to call “Dairy Queen” swirls in her cat box! We call the de-cottoned Q-tips her “stick”, and she plays fetch with it. She even responds when we tell her, “Go get your stick.”

  7. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    Sometimes my dog likes to use my pillows as toys! Not good, considering he usually rips all the fuzz out!

  8. Believe it or not, I am NOT a fan of coffee creamer. I love my coffee, and I love sweets … so you would THINK I would love coffee creamer. But no. I prefer just a little milk. Every time I use creamer, I’m disappointed because I WANT to love it haha!

    • Haha that’s so interesting that you don’t like it! Have you ever tried any of the soymilk or coconut milk creamers? Those are good too and aren’t really like regular creamer.

  9. Latte will play with anything and everything! This weekend it was some leftover wrapping paper. She loves playing with the dripping water after I get out of the shower too

  10. The book is AWESOME. I really liked it πŸ™‚ It will suck you in though, so watch out!

    Have fun shopping.

    And that workout sounds totally rockin’!

  11. The cat I have at my dad’s house will literally think my hand is a toy. They play with anything! I’ve never tried bodyrock, but I definitely will now! Good luck with your Christmas shopping! I looove coffee creamer. I used to be obsessed with international delight and stuff, but I quit drinking it because of all the not so great ingredients in it. I started drinking silk french vanilla and it is amazing! I will never go back to the other stuff, but I do need my silk πŸ™‚

  12. Hahah my dog is the same way! I am actually not a coffee drinker πŸ™‚

  13. That is the perfect way to get my egg nog fix for the season and feel guilt free. Thanks for the tip!

  14. i loved hearing the feedback on bodyrock! i definitely plan on trying it out. πŸ˜‰ i always love an intense, speedy workout!

    that’s too funny you mentioned the q-tips and zoey because our two labs are the same way! they LOVE q-tips! they’ll just nibble on them like it’s a toy. talk about strange!!

  15. My roommates cat does the same thing with Q-tips. I find them randomly all over the house!

    I love Green Mtn Flavored Coffee. Their seasonal flavors are deliciously good.

  16. Haha, your cat is hilarious!

    That eggnog coffee with the eggnog flavored coffee creamer sounds awesome! Thanks for sharing!

  17. P.S.

    I have a Nasoya Giveaway on my blog, if you or any of your readers are interested.

    http://www.fabanddeliciousfood.com/?p=17422

    Thanks!

  18. Ahhh my cats LOVE qtips. I find them all over the house, after they’ve taken them out of the bathroom trash! (Shakes head)

  19. Aww your kitten is adorable! TOO CUTE! YESS, my cat loves the most random things, he LOVES tape, in fact he’ll try to eat it sometimes and he loves boxes and his newest thing is playing in the sink in front of the mirror… ? Narcissistic maybe? hehe πŸ˜›

    I feel like EVERYWHERE there is shopping chaos, I’m a bit over it already..lol Guess the pregnancy hormones don’t allow me to have much patience.

    && I totally agree, creamer is just one of those sweet joys in life that should be induldged (with some moderation) and I LOVE IT! I don’t know if I’ve ever tried egg nog honestly, but as a coffee I’m sure it’d be delish! πŸ™‚

  20. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Yey for Bodyrock! I’ve actually never looked that far back in the workout archives to find those workouts. Well, good thing that you did because I’m bookmarking it haha

  21. YESSS for Bodyrock! These workouts are just so darn fantastic… if I do them correctly I sure am feeling it the next day (depending on the workout of course!) I like this one too… bookmarking it

    Your cat is rather adorable! My kitty used to wait under the bed and put is paw out when people walked by to grab at their feet! It was cute, but would scare the crap out of you haha

  22. I’m totally gonna try that workout! It looks intense!! Your kitty is so precious. My dog played with the cap of my hairspray for like 2 hours yesterday haha

    Eggnog creamer is the JAMMM. Although, pumpkin spice is still my fave!!

  23. So funny, my cats LOVE playing with Q-tips. They both do the exact same thing. Ahh, cats kill me like no other. They are so funny.

    I have been meaning to try a BodyRock workout! Maybe that will be a New Years resolution πŸ™‚

  24. Your kitten is so darling!

    Yes, my cats love q-tips and headbands. I do have to watch out for hair ties though cause my one cat will eat the whole hair tie. The stretchy headbands are a safer bet. πŸ˜‰

    So funny the things they get into.

  25. i don’t know what i’d do without my BODYROCK! its awesome isn’t it? Good workout my dear. Now go get that shopping done.

    πŸ™‚

  26. That creamer looks fantastic! I love hazelnut creamer, too. Just a dab’ll do ya, right? πŸ˜‰

  27. Bodyrock workouts are the best! They were a lifesaver during the summer when I couldn’t do my regular gym routine. And as far as cat toys go, I’ve found a small mirror or a laser pointer is all the entertainment a feline friend will ever need. Seriously.

  28. Hey Love!! OMG, I love bodyrock, but I much prefer when Zuzanna was on it…sigh.

    Hahaha, I used to have cats and they played with tampons. Jeez. Now Hudson, my wiener dog just plays with tissue paper and well yesterday a picture frame…by eating the corners off of it! UGH

    xxoo

  29. Those bodyrock workouts are intense! She is ripped πŸ™‚

  30. Usually I just use coconut, soy or almond milk in my coffee, but I’ll use creamer if it’s around. I can’t drink my coffee black!

Leave a Reply

