Holiday Celebrations Begin

Hello everyone!!

I hope you’ve been having a great week so far :D. I am finally done with all of my Christmas shopping, today I just need to finish wrapping everything. I thought I would just update you on what I’ve been doing this week.

Monday night my mom made us a fantastic dinner of chicken parmesan, and instead of having it with marinara sauce and pasta, it was served with arugula and a lemon dressing (made with just fresh squeezed lemon juice, olive oil, and some pepper). It was delicious!!

And then we made some chocolate chip cookies courtesy of the Nestle Toll House recipe :D. I probably could have eaten my body weight in the cookie dough haha…man that stuff is tasty.

Last night my brother, Chris and I celebrated Christmas with my dad, his wife, and my nana…..yay for starting holiday celebrations :D.

Um, can we talk about how pale I look?? Seriously, it’s kind of sad. I so wish that I didn’t care about my skin so I could go to a tanning bed haha.

I didn’t take any pics of the food, but it was delicious! We had a mix of flanked steak, tuna, and salmon with sides of salad and baked potatoes. So tasty :). And of course I had some wine…which I may have missed my mouth while trying to drink it at one point and spilled it on my jeans and Chris’s jeans haha…oops. And my favorite picture of the night was when Chris picked up my brother hehe-

Oh and I’m so excited because I bought my gym pass the other day and the student price was only $16 for a month! A month!! A day guest pass at this gym is $10 so I’m pretty pumped that my month-long one was so cheap.

Today I’m going to head to the gym and get in a nice sweat sesh…which is much needed. I’ve been eating way too much junk food. It’s delicious and I’m not too worried about eating all of it but I am feeling a little gross so a nice, hard workout will be great!

I also need to finish wrapping presents and continue reading Violets of March. Seriously guys, you need to read this book! It has sucked me in and it is so good. Plus, then you can participate in Julie’s book club!

Anyway, sorry for the complete randomness of this post! I hope you all have a great day :D.

 

Questions:

Have you had any Christmas celebrations yet?

Do you get incredibly pale like I do in the winter? How do you deal with it?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on December 21, 2011, in Family, Life, Random, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. No Christmas celebrations for me yet, I’m saving them all up for the next week and some change! And I used to tan before the holidays when I was younger, mostly for the annual fraternity convention and because I’m full of vanity. But then, after I made the decision to kick my health into high gear in 2010, I stopped tanning. I figured if I was going to take care of my body, I should also take care of my skin.

    I still occasionally use that Jergen’s Natural Glow lotion, though.

  2. Yep, I get pale. I’ve gone tanning a few times before, but I know better now. I just suck it up and embrace my paleness ;). Also, a little bronzer and blush never hurt :).

  3. i spy cookie dough!! During our holiday school break, my mom used to make a huge bowl of oatmeal choc. chip cookie dough that my sister and i would eat. Sounds horrible, but i have fond memories of spooning out the raw mixture and laughing with my sister.

  4. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    You and I both ate our body weight in cookie dough last night! Feeling kind of lethargic today, but making myself go to the gym later!

    I am always soooo pale in the winter too, I hate it! But I refuse to go tanning, it’s nothing a little extra bronzer can’t fit πŸ˜‰

  5. mmm i LOVE cookie dough as well… πŸ˜‰

    i get pretty pale during the winter as well. i usually keep some blonde highlights in my hair to brighten up my face and then swipe a little bronzer on my cheeks and forehead.

    • Ahh I so wish I could get my hair highlighted blonde again…it’s my favorite way to do my hair. Unfortunately though, I can’t quite afford it while I’m in grad school so no hair color for me right now haha

  6. Dude pale is my middle name in winter! I usually just ride it out until spring, I’m scared of tanning beds haha

    Looks like you’ve had a blast with your family! And those cookies look delicious πŸ˜€

  7. I like the randomness! YES–isn’t the book great?! What a writer! I love the story–and how it just pulls you in!

    Love the fiance/bro pic, so awesome!

    I need to finish shopping tomorrow…….gulp

  8. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Haha the good thing about Florida is that even in the winter we STILL get our fair share of sun. However, I WILL say that I’m always naturally pale, so it’s a lose lose no matter how I look at it 😦

    Anddddd I just need to confess that Will calls me a baby ALL the time because I can never drink anything without spilling it all over myself first. So trust me, you are not alone with the wine! I have been there haha

    • You always look so pretty and I don’t think you look pale! Haha and I’m glad I’m not alone with the wine spillage πŸ˜‰

  9. I’m crazy pale already and it’s only December! There are at least 4 months to go before the warm sun starts to shine here…I hate being to pale in the wintertime but like you said too, I care about my skin too much to go tanning for 6 months to get a little bit of color. In other words, I have no solution to this problem yet : )

  10. Yep, I’m totally pale … which you’ll see for yourself tomorrow! πŸ˜‰ We’re going to Florida next week, and I can’t imagine putting myself into a bathing suit right now. I’m going to look ridiculous!

  11. Hahahah! Your cookies look FAB and whenever I hear Nestle Toll house I think of Friends….hahaha!!!

    xxoo

  12. I want that chicken recipe πŸ™‚

  13. I’m sooo pasty, I can’t stand it. I try to use Jergen’s natural glow lotion and Neutrogena tanning spray. Nope, still white as a ghost!

  14. Haha I get pretty pale too in the winter! I wont go to tanning beds though πŸ™‚

  15. Yay for being home! Have a wonderful time πŸ˜€

  16. $16 for a month???? I just paid $50 for a month!! Dang. hahaha. Anyway… i hear ya on the pale thing… I’m not sure how i manage to get so tan during the summer, but sooo white during the winter! I refuse to go to a tanning bed too.. i’ve never gone!

  17. I’m not a baker, so when I do make cookies, it’s always the recipe off the nestle bag…and it’s dang good too!!

    Awesome price on the gym membership, if I found something like that around here, I would be racing someone to sign up!!

    No Christmas celebrations yet, but I’m excited for this weekend πŸ™‚

  18. Ah, looks fun! I wish I was already into the Christmas celebrating, but no celebrations here until Christmas Eve. I also have to work tomorrow…but then I get 2 weeks off, so it works out and I definitely can’t complain.

    I am pretty lucky skin-wise. I tan ridiculously easily and I never get too pale during the winter. But I think you look gorgeous, and not too pale at all!

Leave a Reply

