Christmas Celebrations

Hello everyone!! I hope you had an amazing holiday weekend. I know I did :D. I apologize for being absent from the blog world, but I wanted to enjoy my time with family!

On Friday, Chris and I went to his mom’s house for their Christmas celebration. She had lots of delicious food!

Lots of veggies

A super tasty vegan bean dip

Brussel sprouts, chicken, salad, and very tasty homemade ravioli

Soooo tasty :). It was really nice to hang out and enjoy a relaxing evening with some of Chris’s family.

Christmas Eve we went to our annual holiday party at my aunt’s house. As usual it was lots of fun! Plus I got to see my cousin that is pregnant and for the first time I was able to feel the baby kick. It was so cool!

Whitney and I...and yes, I'm feeling her baby belly πŸ™‚

Gift pile for the white elephant gift exchange

For the gift exchange, I got a headlamp and a survival bracelet…not quite sure what I’m supposed to do with it because there are no directions haha. But Chris did rock the headlamp for a bit. I think he should wear it to our wedding, don’t you? πŸ˜‰

Haha oh I love him.

And here’s a pic of me with my mom and brother!

On Christmas morning my brother actually woke me up. As I stated in my Christmas survey I have pretty much always been the first to get up and I tend to annoy my brother by waking him up way before he wants to. Well yesterday, he came barging in my room to get me out of bed. But I was excited for Christmas morning so I didn’t really care haha. Plus the pretty site of our tree, the presents, and a fire in the fireplace was awesome!

I was seriously one lucky girl this Christmas. I received so many great presents and I am really grateful for all of them! The one I was playing with all day yesterday was my new camera….a DSLR!!!! I got the Canon Rebel T3.

I am so excited to learn how to use this and take pretty pictures (at least pictures that I consider to be pretty haha). I played around with it for a bit yesterday and was able to snap a couple of our pets that came out so much better than they would have on my point and shoot.

Cooper

Mia

All in all I had an amazing Christmas! This holiday season has been amazing and it was great to see so much family! Today, Chris and I are making the drive to Tennessee to stay in a cabin in the Smokey Mountains with my dad for a couple of days! We’ve never been so we’re really excited. Plus, I could use some serious amounts of walking and hiking after all of the indulging I did this weekend haha.

I hope you have a great Monday!

 

Questions:

If you celebrated, how was your holiday weekend??

How do you get back into the swing of things after the holidays?

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on December 26, 2011, in Chris, Family, Life, Pets. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Such lovely photos Lindsay! Phew that it was pregnant lady ha…she is ready to pop it seems! But that is so cool to feel the baby kick. The first time I did was just like wow… there is really and truly a person in there lol

    Oh and p.s. I am kindaaaa (really) jealous of your camera πŸ˜€ I can’t wait to see all of the fantastic photos you take!

    • Haha she isn’t even due for a couple of months! But, they keep telling her that the baby is already big and is growing fast so maybe he’ll be born early. Lets hope I can take pretty pictures haha.

  2. What a fantastically amazing day! Love the pics πŸ™‚ and congrats on the camera!!

  3. Looks like fun!! And I’m jealous of your new camera!! πŸ˜‰

    We had a great weekend, too. It was just over too quickly! But tomorrow, we’re having a birthday party for Brandon’s two little nieces, so we’ll get more “family time” then!

  4. How fun! I love white elephant gift exchanges. I haven’t done one in forever but they are a ton of fun. I had a nice christmas weekend with my family. Have fun with your new camera!!

  5. Yay you got the camera!!! I did too, I’m OBSESSED!!!! πŸ˜€ MErry Christmas! Glad you had a wonderful holiday.

  6. sounds like a wonderful Christmas, lindsay!! how awesome that you got a Canon Rebel DSLR! i got a new Canon Power Shot, which i am also loving. you and Chris are too cute in the photos you shared. πŸ™‚

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Yeyyyy! You got the camera! I can’t wait to see all the beautiful photos you take (not that the ones you take now aren’t beautiful, but you know what I mean πŸ˜‰ )

    Anyway, I’m so glad to see that you had a great Christmas and most of all got to spend so much time with Chris. Love ya girlie! ❀

  8. Have fun on your trip! I could really use some exercise too!

  9. Yay for the new camera!!!

    I didn’t get up to work out this morning, but I’m trying to drown the sugar out of my body by drinking mass amounts of water πŸ˜‰

  10. AHHHHH!!! So awesome that you got a fancy camera!!! So glad you took time to enjoy the holidays with your family and future husband! Sounds like a perfect weekend. Mine was equally good–low key and full of family and good eats. Just how I like it! πŸ˜€

  11. Cute pictures! Looks like a great Christmas πŸ˜€

  12. Congrats on the DSLR! I love mine πŸ™‚

  13. We will have to share camera tricks n’ tips. I just got that same one for Christmas, but I haven’t had time to play with it yet.

  14. I love seeing all the veggies on the table. I’m always trying to incorporate as many high fiber foods into my holiday meals as I can and a spread like that would have been much appreciated at some of the family gatherings I attended. Glad you had a great holiday!

  15. Homemade ravioli sounds fantastic! And the new camera is such an awesome gift πŸ™‚

  16. Whoa!!! A DSLR?! That rocks, girl!! COngrats and so excited for you πŸ™‚

    You all look like you had tons of fun during the holidays-rock on.

  17. My husband and I went to a white elephant exchange at his aunt’s house on Saturday night…and someone brought a car scraper that’s attached to a glove (hard to explain, it’s like a mitten…but with an ice scraper attached to the fingers) and one of those car emergency tools for in case your trapped under water. No one would admit to bringing that gift, I can see it being useful…but it seems kind of grim for a gift exchange!

  18. HOORAY FOR YOUR NEW CAMERA!

    How exciting! I love the new photos!

  19. So glad you had a great Christmas Linds! Your mom is HOT! I laughed at the headlamp, and also the baby rubbing πŸ™‚

    Congrats on the new cam! I have the same one, only the older version, and it does take great photos! It’s rare that I bust it out for the blog (I usually use my iPhone for convenience), but I do love it. I look forward to seeing lots of beautiful pics of your kitty!

Leave a Reply

