Hiking is Challenging

Hello everyone!! I hope you’re having a great week and are easily getting back into the swing of things after Christmas.

Chris and I have been in the Smoky Mountains the past two days and it’s amazing here! The scenery is incredible. Sadly I haven’t been able to really take pictures because it’s been raining and I didn’t want to take my phone of camera outside. But here are some pics that I found online to give you an idea of the gorgeous scenery we’ve been taking in:

Yesterday, Chris and I hiked the Chimney Tops Trail with my brother and his friend. That trail was challenging! Up and down it was a 4 mile trek. Going up was really steep and since it was raining off and on it was often really slippery. Also, if you want to really make it to the top of the trail you have to climb up a section a rocks. It was totally worth it! The view at the top was absolutely breathtaking.

Another cool thing is that once we got really high up on the trail the rain turned into snow. I could also tell that we were at a high elevation because it became a little bit more difficult to catch my breath. While going up the trail was an extreme cardiovascular workout and it also challenged my legs, going down was hard too! All I have to say is hiking is a seriously hard workout…especially when on a trail like the one we did!

Besides hiking, Chris and I are having a great time just relaxing and enjoying being lazy. We got to enjoy some time in the hot tub, play cards, and read! And honestly, just having quality time with him is great :).

Yes, I'm in my pajamas 🙂

While here I read the book Divergent by Veronica Roth. It was an awesome read! I really recommend it for any of you that enjoyed reading The Hunger Games. I don’t want to give anything away, so I’ll just give you a quick idea as to what the book is about. The main character Beatrice, who becomes known as Tris, lives in a dystopian world that is divided into 5 factions. Every year, each 16-year-old gets to select which faction they want to devote the rest of their lives to. Beatrice is torn between staying with her family and being the person she feels like she really is.

After choosing her faction, Tris has to go through an intense initiation. All the while she has to keep who she really is a secret, determine who her true friends are, endure intense physical and mental tests, and deal with her feelings for a particular boy. She also discovers that something is not quite right amongst the factions and that the conflict could destroy the world she has always known and the one she was expecting to be a part of.

I couldn’t put this book down. The story and writing style were great and the book kept me interested throughout the entire thing. Apparently this is supposed to be the first book in a series and I absolutely cannot wait until the next book comes out!

Hopefully today I will be able to take some pictures! The weather is supposed to be nicer :).

I hope you all have a great Wednesday!

 

Questions:

Have you ever been to the smoky mountains?

Do you like hiking? Do you think it’s challenging?

Have you read Divergent?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on December 28, 2011, in Books, Chris, Family, Life, Reading, Review, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. I really do enjoy hiking… I just haven’t done it in so so long! I am glad you were able to enjoy that time out there though 🙂

    And I am just about to finish Gone With The Wind, so I am going to read Divergent next after your recommendation! It definitely sounds like my kind of book. Oh and I LOVED the Hunger Games so yeah, I know I will enjoy it 😀

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I did the Chimney Tops trail when I traveled to Tennessee with some friends a few years back! Wasn’t the view absolutely breathtaking at the top? Of course, it was definitely no walk in the park haha.

    I’m so glad that you & Chris are getting the opportunity to spend time together 🙂 Enjoy it!

  3. I love hiking! And I have been wanting to read that book!

  4. I love hiking and the Smokeys. Both are wonderful. Hiking is exhausting physically, but it’s so refreshing and awakening mentally. Love it!

  5. Gorgeous scenery is right! What a fabulous hike 🙂 Whenever we visit my grandparents in Arizona, we always go on mountain hikes, love it! I wish there were more mountainous places in North Texas haha

  6. I love hiking! We go as a family to maine every summer, and they have amazing hiking trails! It is definitely challenging, but in a good, fun way!

  7. Ive never been to the smoky mountains before but my gosh it looks beautiful! I do love hiking it’s always a fun workout!

  8. It sounds like you’ve had a wonderful, relaxing, romantic trip – hooray for you! I love hiking, though I admit I am very much a novice at it, which keeps me on level ground most of the time. It’s definitely a skill that I’d like to develop, though!

  9. I live like an hour away from where you were!!!! In the mountains of NC!

  10. Those pictures are gorgeous, what a great vacation! I haven’t read Divergent, but I did love the Hunger Games series, so I’m going to add it to my to read list 🙂 We haven’t been to the Smoky Mountains, but, we have the Rocky Mountains about 20 minutes away…so we try to go hiking a few times in the summer and this year on our anniversary we drove up and spent a long weekend in the mountains. It’s funny since we’ve both lived here all but 5 years of our lives, that we don’t want to go up to the mountains every weekend like a lot of our friends who moved here during college and can’t get enough of them. Sometimes I even “don’t notice” the giant mountains out our window, and then all of a sudden remember that we live next to them..it’s kind of strange!

  11. I agree, hiking is challenging! But I kind of love it too! It’s a great workout but doesn’t feel like you are working it which is a nice change 🙂

  12. I’m glad you are having such a wonderful time!! HIking is definitely a great workout. I have never been to the smokey mountains, but I hiked somewhere in California and I loved it. Have fun!

  13. those are precious times together. I always enjoy getting out and being active with my hubs. Its a great thing, isn’t it? Enjoy your time with him Lindz.

  14. those views are beautiful! i love hiking! it’s a great way to enjoy the great outdoors, get some fresh air, and also switch up my “normal” cardio workouts. you’re right though, some hikes can be quite the challenge!! those uphill climbs can be intense, especially when you have to dodge rocks and such. i like how the various inclines from hiking work your leg muscles in ways they aren’t used to!

  15. love the photos! thanks for the book recommendation, sounds very interesting! 🙂

  16. Absolutely beautiful! I’ve never been into hiking but those views seem like they would make it worthwhile 😀

  17. Those pictures are gorgeous! Enjoy the rest of your time there 🙂

  18. I love hiking, it’s definitely challenging! My husband and I just moved to California so I’m hoping we do a lot of hiking in the future 🙂

    That book sounds really interesting, I haven’t read The Hunger Games yet!

  19. I love hiking 🙂 That looks like an awesome place to be!

  20. I am a big fan of hiking. I love any excuse to get outside and exercise for an extended period of time. Where I live, every hike is different. Some are super hard and some feel relatively easy, but no matter what, my butt is always so sore the next day! It works muscles I clearly never use!

    I hope the weather gets better for you soon!

  21. Oh my gosh that hike looks ABSOLUTELY incredible!! I love hiking and I definitely consider it a great form of exercise!

  22. hiking is hard!!! What gorgeous pictures, I think I’d really like that place!! We try to hike here about once every couple weeks….we like it and so does Hudson 😉 He gets all his exercise out on the hills!

    xxoo

  23. glad you and chris are having a great time! i love hiking but haven’t been in years!

  1. Pingback: Mix1 Protein Shakes

  2. Pingback: Rosemary Beach Vacation Pics

Leave a Reply

