2011 Highlights

Happy New Year’s Eve everyone!!!

I hope that you all have something great planned for tonight- whether that involves going out to a party or staying in with loved ones! Chris and I are still trying to figure out what we are doing tonight haha. As long as we’re together I’ll be happy!

So I’ve been seeing a bunch of these posts around the blogosphere and wanted to do one of my own – some highlights from 2011!

2011 Highlights

– I went back to Miami University (my alma mater) for the first and only time since I graduated back in May 2010

– I completed two full semesters and a summer semester of grad school! (only 1 more academic semester to go!)

– I went to Siesta Key, FL with Chris for my spring break

– I started my blog!!!!

Remember my old header??

– I helped Chris move to Florida

– I finally started attempting things in the kitchen! (although I need to hop back on that train asap…I got a bit lazy at the end of the semester haha) Here are some of the recipes I’ve made and think are good:

– I got my kitten Zoey 🙂

– My workout style has evolved. Even at the beginning of 2011 I would only occasionally do intervals on the treadmill and I was doing a basic routine of two full-body strength workouts a week and a lot of steady state cardio…borrringgg. Mainly through reading blogs and starting my own I discovered some great ways of exercising. I now incorporate a lot more intervals, circuits, and plyometrics into my workouts. It’s awesome! Here are a few of my favorite workouts:

– I became a Fitfluential ambassador! I am so incredibly proud to be a part of this amazing organization!

– Chris and I got engaged!!!!

– I hiked for the first time in the Smoky Mountains!

I’ve had a pretty amazing year :). I can only hope that 2012 has more great things to offer!!

I hope you all have a fantastic New Year’s Eve!

 

Question:

What is one of your 2011 highlights??

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on December 31, 2011, in About Me, Life, Random. Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    It looks like you had a fantastic year, Lindsay and I’m so glad that I’ve had the opportunity to read about most of it as it happened! Also that we started our blogs around the same time because it’s been great getting to know you and growing our bloggies together 😀

    Have a happy and healthy new year!

    • I’m so glad that I’ve been able to read so much of what has gone on with you too!! It’s been so great getting to know you through our blogs :D…I really hope that we get the chance to meet in person some day! Hope you are having a great new year so far!

  2. Lindsay, I just love reading your blog and am so glad you’ve had a great year 🙂 hope you find fun plans for tonight (NYE is always so last minute haha) and blessings for 2012!!!!! Xoxo amy

    • Aw, thank you so much Amy!! I hope you had a fantastic NYE and are having a great new year so far! I hope 2012 brings great things for you 🙂

  3. What an awesome year! 🙂 So many great things happened for you!! 🙂 I hope you have a very nice and blessed 2012 as well. 🙂

  4. I’m so glad to be a follower of your blog, I absolutely love reading about your adventures! 🙂 Here’s to many more in 2012!

    Ps– that pic of you and Chris is adorable heehee

  5. I graduated college and started my first full-time job. Happy New Year!

  6. What a great year! Happy New Years 😀

  7. Chelcie @ Chelcies Food Files

    Sounds like you had an amazing year!

  8. Awesome highlights, Lindsay!!! You had a wonderful year. I am ready to get the new year started ;D Happy new year!

  9. You have some wonderful things to look back on this year! I love your engagement story… so cute!! You will have an exciting 2012 as you plan the wedding!

    My biggest highlight of 2011 was finishing my Master’s program. It was a rough year, and it felt SO good to be done!

    • Aw thank you! That is so awesome to have finished your Master’s program! I cannot wait for the day I finish mine haha

  10. Loved this overview Lindsay… so many wonderful things going on for you… love the proposal of course 🙂

    A highlight for me was PRing in my 4th Half-Marathon in September!

  11. WOW–what a great year for you!!

    I’d say my highlight was …..hmmmm there are too many! I loved celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary–and kicking butt in teaching BodyPUMP in a new gym 🙂

  12. Definitely sounds like a wonderful year for the two of you! 🙂 I would say my highlight has to be finding out that we’re expecting!! 🙂 Truly one of the greatest blessings I’ve been given.

  13. You have had a great year! Especially with all that engagement business. Very exciting.

    My highlight was probably running in my first 5k – because it isn’t something that I had ever thought about doing before. I had a good year, but nothing crazy exciting happened to me. Though I did also start my blog!

    I was going to tell you, it’s normal for cats to freak out for a couple of days when they first meet each other. Winnie did NOT like Dexter at first, even though we kept him in a separate room until they got used to each other’s scents. It still took her a while to warm up to him though, and she wouldn’t be anywhere near him for a few weeks. It just takes time for cats to get used to each other, so don’t worry!

    • Ahh thank you for letting me know! And that is awesome that you ran your first 5k! I hope 2012 is a great year for you 🙂

  14. love all of your highlights!! looks like an awesome 2011 you had! happy new year girly! xo

  15. You had such a great year, Lindsay! Happy New Year to you! Thanks for being a ray of sunshine in each of my days! I love how happy and upbeat you always are! Looking forward to continuing to share in your journey in 2012! XO

    • Aw Melissa, you are so sweet! Thank you so much! I am so happy to have found your blog and I’m looking forward to finding out what great things 2012 has in store for you! Hope you’re having a great new year so far! 😀

  16. Wait. What?! I must have missed the post where you announced your engagement!!! Congratulations!!!!!

  17. I love this post! I wish I’d thought to do this yesterday 🙂

    But onto the new year: My 2 Sentence a Day Resolution includes committing to just 1) a sentence about what I did each day and 2) something POSITIVE that happened! http://lifewithcheeseburgers.com/2012/01/01/cheeseburger-challenge-2012-two-sentence-a-day-journal/

    • That is such a cool idea!! I think that writing about something positive that happened everyday is great and probably a thing that many people could benefit from doing!

  18. I’m so glad I found your blog this year!

  19. yay for such a good 2011. sounds like it was an amazing year for you!

    my 2011 highlight was transitioning to a career in fitness full-time. a dream come true!

    happy new year!

  20. Hey Lindsay! I love your site. But more than your site, I am truly grateful that you are going to be joining our family when you marry Chris. I have loved that boy always. He has a very special place in my heart though he probably doesn’t realize that. Anyway…I love your site and you purposes for having it. You are doing some of what Beki and I worked so hard to do when we were about your same age. Our efforts went a different direction, but I will pray yours go to every successful end God has for them. By the way, I agree with one of your other bloggies…that picture of you and Chris in front of the “Marry Me” heart is too cute. While your engagement is one of my highlights…another is my younger daughter Amy announced I will be a grampa again for the fourth time in May this year!! YAAAAY!!! It’s a boy!!

    • Aw thank you so much for your wonderful comment! I know that Chris really cares for you as well, and I am so thankful to be joining such a welcoming and kind family! Also, congrats on finding out that you will be a grandpa again! That is so exciting :D.

  21. What a great year for you. One of my highlights was making a major decision about my future 🙂 Wishing you the best in 2012!

Leave a Reply

