Wedding Date and Venue

Hi friends!! Happy New Year! I hope that 2012 is an amazing year for each and every one of you :D.

So, I wanted to update you guys on the wedding front: Chris and I have a wedding date and a venue!! We will be getting married toward the end of June 2013 :D.

Last Friday, we went to check out a wedding and reception venue in downtown Columbus, OH. When we got engaged, I immediately started looking at potential venues online. Chris and I both agreed that we didn’t want our reception to be in a ballroom type place.

After browsing pinterest and wedding websites I really came to like rustic style weddings. But, I also don’t want anything that is too country/rustic….rather I want something that is somewhat rustic, fun, and elegant- and yes I believe that a wedding can be a mix of all three of those things :).

Somehow, and thankfully, I found out that there is a wedding and reception venue in the old Smith Bros’ Hardware building downtown. We loved this place so much that we didn’t even want to check out other places. Plus, there were dates in the summer of 2013 that were already taken so we needed to make a decision fairly quickly. Good thing we both loved it!

Source

Source

The Smith Bros’ Hardware building is an historic site and was renovated not too long ago. The main hardware building houses offices while the two side buildings are wedding and reception venues. The venues are part of the company dock580 and we got to check out both of them. We absolutely LOVED them both but ultimately decided to go with The Venue instead of The Loft because it has outdoor space and that is perfect for an early summer wedding :).

This will be the courtyard where Chris and I have our wedding ceremony.

Here is a different view of it with our reception building in the background.

Here are a couple of pics of the inside of the building that I snapped while we were touring it. Chris and I both really love all of the exposed brick and beams. It’s hard to see in these pictures but there are white Christmas lights strung everywhere which will be so incredibly pretty when they are lit up!

Here are a couple of pics I found of previous weddings that were held at this location. Seriously, I’m in love with this place!

Source

Source

Inside of the venue is where the dinner and dancing will occur. Outside, weather permitting of course, we will have the bar set up and the courtyard is where our ceremony will happen. You can’t see it in these pictures, but when you look out over the terrace railings you get a really pretty view of downtown Columbus- it will be awesome at night when the skyline is all lit up!

Ahh I’m so excited that Chris and I have a wedding date and a venue! I can’t wait to marry my best friend :D.

Questions:

If you’re married, how did you decide where to hold the wedding and reception?

If you aren’t married, what kind of place do you want your venue to be?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on January 2, 2012, in Chris, Life, Relationships, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink. 64 Comments.

  1. June sounds like the perfect time! And this venue is absolutely STUNNING!!! 😀 I can just imagine how gorgeous it’ll be in the summer sun 🙂

    Awww I’m so excited for you!!

  2. It looks amazing!! Getting married in the Catholic church was really important to me. We picked the Cathedral one week after we got back from backpacking through Europe. I was *sure* that no “American” cathedral would wow me after seeing so many breathtakingly beautiful ones in Europe, but as soon as we walked in I was sold!! And the country club his parent’s belong to isn’t too far away, so the it was a perfect place for the reception. Have fun with the rest of planning!!

  3. Omg, this looks amazing!!! So exciting, can’t wait to keep reading about the wedding plans 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. This place looks fantastic! I love how cozy yet open it is… as someone who isn’t married I definitely think about how I’d like to have my wedding reception. Definitely outdoors with hanging lights and lanterns! So romantic.

  5. OMG, LOVE the venue! We just knew we had found the right venue… it’s tough because there are so many places, but when you know you know. We’re getting married at a lodge and couldn’t be happier! http://www.coffeecakeandcardio.com/2011/10/30/frost-and-hard-apple-cider-days/

  6. I love the venue! It is beautiful! Pinterest is such a great place to find ideas! I got married back in March, and totally wish it had been popular when I was planning! Have a blast with all the details and planning!

  7. wow it looks gorgeous and kind of like the place my fiance and i chose!! similar loft style and balcony. i love that look.

    unfortuantly our wedding is on hold 😦 due to myED and me quitting my job/going back to school, the money just isn’t there. we want to get our feet settled again and don’t want money to be an issue in having our dream wedding.

    however i think our dream wedding is me and him being together and just getting married. that’s what it should be right?

    but alas i AM a girl and want my dress and wedding. haha.

    the venue looks gorgeous! godo choice! it is going to be beautiful!!

  8. wow it looks gorgeous and kind of like the place my fiance and i chose!! similar loft style and balcony. i love that look.

    unfortuantly our wedding is on hold 😦 due to myED and me quitting my job/going back to school, the money just isn’t there. we want to get our feet settled again and don’t want money to be an issue in having our dream wedding.

    however i think our dream wedding is me and him being together and just getting married. that’s what it should be right?

    but alas i AM a girl and want my dress and wedding. haha.

    the venue looks gorgeous! good choice! it is going to be beautiful!!

    • I’m sorry to hear that your wedding is on hold, but I bet that when you guys decide to go forward with it, it will be everything you want and more!

  9. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Wow Lindsay that place looks GORGEOUS! You really lucked out in finding a venue that you loved so perfectly!

    It’s crazy because although my brother and his fiance Katie JUST got engaged, they’re looking to be married in JUNE 2012!!! That’s right, 5 months! I know that my brother just wants to get the show on the road, but Katie actually knows the amount of planning that it’s going to take. We shall see!

    Anyway, I can’t wait to read more about your planning 😀

    • I did luck out didn’t I? And wow, I can’t believe they are looking to get married in 5 months! That’s so soon!! But I know that it can be done, so hopefully it won’t be too stressful for them!

  10. The venue looks gorgeous, very trendy! We are getting married June 2012 – what date are you? We’re June 23rd, so soon! We decided on a hotel because we have a lot of out of town people coming.

    Have fun with all the planning!

  11. omg WAIT…are you from COLUMBUS?????? how did i not know that? i live in columbus! and we looked at smith bros for our wedding. i LOVED it! but it was too small for our wedding. So happy you’re able to have yours there. it will be amazing!!!!

    • YES!!! I am from Columbus :D. I just go to school in Boston so I’m not normally here haha. I didn’t know you lived in Columbus either!! I will be moving back in May so perhaps we will have to do a meet-up or something! We’re trying to keep our wedding small so this place is perfect!

      • I stumbled upon your blog and realized you are from my area as well! I went to school at OSU, but I work near your wedding venue. I don’t know if you’ve ever heard of country club of the north in beavercreek, but that’s where I had my wedding this past October!

      • Aw yay for Columbus and OSU! I haven’t heard of that place in beavercreek, but I’m sure it was really nice!

  12. looks beautiful, lindsay!! i’m so excited for you and chris! 🙂

    there were several different factors that affected our decision for a venue. we wanted the location of the ceremony and reception to be at the same place so people wouldn’t have to be traveling in between. we also wanted the ceremony outdoors and it to have a covered reception area. the scenery and beauty of the venue was of course a crucial factor as well. price was a factor too… we wanted to get the best we could for the money. we ended up having it at a golf resort in scottsdsdale, az right on the lake. it was so beautiful! 🙂

    • Aw thank you! Those are really good reasons for making your decision. I remember reading all of your wedding posts and the pictures were absolutely gorgeous!

  13. ahhh soooo exciting!!! 🙂 what a beautiful place to get married.

    i think i want to get married up in the mountains in Colorado. maybe at a ski lodge or something!

  14. perfect!!! we loved our tent wedding. Since we lived in Kona at the time, it was at an old plantation house on the beach. Lights hanging and all, like that. Oh i am so excited for You!!

  15. That’s SO EXCITING! It’s beautiful!

  16. I’ve been stocking your blog for a couple of months and love your workouts. I just started my own blog check it out fitsgreaterthanskinny.com

  17. Soooo exciting for you!!!! It is beautiful 😀

  18. Looks like a great place for a wedding!

  19. We are getting married at a place that holds events exclusively. It was the first place we saw and nothing else in the area compared. It had everything we wanted.. and added extras were a beautiful water view and some amazing outdoor space!

    Your venue looks AWESOME!

  20. Ahh Lindsay this is sooo darn exciting, what a lovely place you chose! The venue is simply stunning 🙂 I used to want to get married on a beach, but ehh I have changed my mind since then. Just not sure where now… a church for the marriage ceremony and then some kind of nice banquet area that is easy for everyone to get to, stay at and such 🙂 yes a very broad selection from that criteria haha

    • I used to want to get married on a beach too! Seriously, every time I read one of your posts I find something else that we have in common…love it!

  21. I know this place!! I love fellow Ohio bloggers 🙂 (I’m originally from Cleveland and hoping to move back soon.) I love your inspiration and this looks like the perfect venue! My wedding reception was at a country club in Medina, Ohio…and I absolutely loved it. Pictures on the golf course were a must for the husband.

  22. ahhhh very cool!!! I know how hard it can be trying to look for the venue, probably one of the toughest decisions!! 😀 It looks beautiful and I love the inside of the building! I can see how that would be somewhat rustic….and amen to that. I’m in love with rustic-ish weddings too, especially more so after browsing through Pinterest.

    • oh sorry! Forgot to answer hehe. My fiance and I chose a golf country club (which was really cheap!) and we’re having the ceremony in the front gate area, where the courtyard is with a little fountain. Then, we’re going straight through the double doors for the reception. AND!! In case it DOES rain, we can easily move the ceremony to the reception area b/c it’s really big, so we don’t have to waste money on renting tents. 🙂

    • Oh I totally became obsessed with rustic-ish weddings because of Pinterest haha…that website is addicting!

  23. Lindsay! It’s gorgeous! I can see why you adore it! And I can totally see you and Chris getting married there. Even though I don’t “know” you, it just seems so “you!” Congrats! I’ll bet it’s starting to feel more real every day! 🙂

  24. LOVE it! the interior is so cool and I love outdoor weddings the best.

  25. Wow, great spot! It’s a great location for wedding pictures too.

  26. How exciting!! Looks so pretty 🙂 You will make one happy couple in that setting!

    I was married in the temple in StL (we’re LDS) –so gorgeous! And we had our reception in my parents’ backyard (love!) and in UT -where he’s from, we had it outside in a bowery–a cute place under the stars and mtns. loved everything about my wedding 🙂

    • That is so awesome that you had your reception in your parents’ backyard! I bet the stars and mtns made for such gorgeous scenery!

  27. That place is AMAZING! very good selection. June is a GREAT month to get married!! I got married June 10th of last year. 😉 We chose the Edgewater in downtown Seattle which was amazingly beautiful…we pretty much knew as soon as we walked in. When you know, you know!

  28. Ahhh congrats!! That venue looks so pretty!!! I want to get married in the early fall I think so somewhere with an outside venue would be awesome!

  29. It’s going to be beautiful! I got married in a big, old city church, and we held the reception in a hotel only a block away so that guests could walk. Most of the guests also stayed in the hotel, which was great since we had an open bar! haha

  30. OMG, its gorgeous!!! That is what I would love for my wedding too….trendy, yet rustic, love it!!!

    YAY! Congrats on your date!! I see loooootttsss of white lights in there 🙂

    xxoo

  31. AHH I love it. It is so amazing. The rustic feel is exactly what I want my wedding to be like one day. On my pinterest I have a board for “One Day” when I get married and its full of mason jars, candles and sunflowers!

  32. I love it! So beautiful! Congratulations on picking a date and venue! That is so exciting!

    I too want a little indoor and outdoor at my wedding venue! I will need a long engagement like you to get every detail sorted and make my mind up about everything! I know I am going to be so lost! Such a fun experience though! Can’t wait to hear about the future wedding plans to come!

  33. Gorgeous, congrats on the choice! You’re ALMOST making me want to be ready to get married…almost. But I’m so far off from being ready that I have given zero thought to anything about my future wedding!

    • Haha, it’s probably better that you haven’t really thought about it if it’s not in the near future because it can be be a lot to think about (of course I’d rather think about that than other silly things like school hehe ;)).

  34. The venue is absolutely gorgeous! I love the brick walls!

  35. Wow – looks like a great spot! Congrats on finding the perfect venue – so exciting!!

  36. How wonderful that you found the spot and just *knew* it was the right one! The same thing happened to us – and it worked out just perfectly. Even better, the planning only gets easier once you have the venue locked down!

  37. That venue is gorgeous! And June is a great wedding month – especially since you’re planning so far in advance! We got married in August 2008 at the chapel on my college’s campus, it was a small wedding and we had about 30-40 people at the ceremony, then around 20-30 at the reception which we had a BBQ and ice cream party in my now husband’s parents’ backyard. C and I paid for our wedding/honeymoon ourselves and were broke as a joke when we were planning…but we ended up having a really memorable day!

  38. Yay, so exciting!! That venue looks so cool! I’m glad that you’re really happy with your location … it’s a big part of making a wedding your own.

    We had our ceremony at my church, which was the obvious choice. Our reception was at this restaurant called “The Beach House.” As you can guess from the name, it’s right on the beach, which was a huge selling point. It’s also where we got engaged. They have good food, a friendly staff, AND it was very much affordable. In Sarasota, Florida, most places are going to cost you and arm and a leg, which I wasn’t OK with. So I was relieved to find a venue that was both pretty and affordable! 🙂

  39. I was a little late on reading this, but the venue looks PERFECT!! I looove all the photos of previous weddings with the christmas lights on.. absolutely amazing! You are very lucky to have found it so quickly too (i’ve been helping my sister try to find a venue for her upcoming wedding and it can be tough!). Good luck with everything.. so exciting! 🙂

  40. The venue looks BEAUTIFUL! I love it! I totally saw everything that you described about it. Can’t wait to hear more about your wedding planning! Sooo fun!!

  41. The venue looks PERFECT for what you guys want! I am so excited for you! June 2013 will come so fast! ❤

  1. Pingback: New Strength Workout for the Whole Body

Leave a Reply

