New Strength Workout for the Whole Body

Hello everyone!

I am so excited that you guys liked our wedding venue :D.

Today I wanted to share with you the strength workout that I completed in my basement yesterday! Sometimes I really like only being able to work with my bodyweight, some dumbbells, and the bench in our basement. It makes me do moves that I may not normally perform while in the gym with a bunch of other equipment! I’m going to share the workout and then after that I’ll give you pics, links, or an explanation to some of the exercise names you may not be familiar with!

Pin It

This workout definitely challenged me and fatigued my muscles! And that is a great feeling to walk away from a workout with, don’t ya think? πŸ˜‰

Ok, so I just wanted to clarify some of the exercises because often times I’ll see the name of something and be confused or think it’s actually something else haha.

  • Push-ups with single leg raise

Source

  • Bent over rear delt rows

Source

  • Cross-body hammer curls: I was introduced to these last week when Julie posted about them. This was the second time I’ve done the exercise and I love it!
  • Plie squats: Stand with your feet wide apart and toes angled instead of straight forward. Your knees should stay aligned with your toes. Hold a single dumbbell down in front of you. Bend your knees and lower down, keeping your knees aligned with your toes, your back straight, and your abs contracted. These squats work your inner thighs more than traditional ones.

Source

  • Single leg bench squats: you can read a description here (it’s #8 on the list).
  • Butterfly crunches: Lie on your back with hands held lightly behind your head. Raise your legs, bend you knees to 90 degrees, and hold your legs together. Crunch up and open your legs and then close them, making sure to keep your feet together. Crunch up and down while opening and closing your legs. Not only does this work your lower abs, it also works your inner thighs!
  • Bird dogs:

Source

Questions:

What is your favorite type of equipment to use when strength training?

Do you ever find the names of strength exercises confusing? (especially since they are sometimes called multiple things)

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on January 4, 2012, in Lifting, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. looks like a great workout with some fun new moves!

  2. I like using a combination of equipment to work many muscles differently. I often gravitate to body weight, free weights, a ball and/or Bosu ball but I also try to work in resistance bands and machines. I really want to try kettle ball training as well.

    I always confuse the names of workouts and usually Google it or put it out to the Twitter-verse πŸ™‚

  3. Great workout, thanks for sharing! I love using free weights and super setting exercises πŸ™‚

  4. I am allllll about at-home workouts right now for a few reasons 1) trying new things is good 2) the gym is so packed and 3) it’s too cold to go to the gym/park/trails.

  5. I really like lifting weights. Unfortunately I don’t have the space for a bench or barbell. But I do enjoy working with my dumbells. The kettle bell looks like it would be another good option for me.

    Nice workout.

    I just started looking into the crossfit (craze) and all those antonyms totally confusing. Least I know what WOD finally means. πŸ˜‰

    • Haha I’ve never done crossfit but I do know what WOD means…I’ve seen some of the other antonyms and I get so confused!

  6. Ohhh. LOVING this workout!! Pinned for a later date for me to try πŸ™‚

  7. This is great Lindsay! I love workouts like that that you can do anywhere… so convenient for when I am at school and can’t find time to get to the gm (which is about a 20 minute walk from my dorm!)

  8. This looks amazing! πŸ™‚ love these moves too!

  9. Wow! Looks like an intense workout! Thanks for sharing, can’t wait to give it a try!

    I really like using dumbbells when doing my strength training workouts! I feel they force me to apply the resistance more!

  10. I love doing a bunch of different exercises!! This looks awesome–nice workout πŸ™‚

  11. great looking workout!! i’m going to plan on trying it out! πŸ˜‰

    my favorite equipment is dumbbells. you can use them for SO many different exercises, they’re easy to transport, and they cause you to work harder than some machines.

  12. I love workouts like this because sometimes I just can’t get myself to the gym. It’s nice to have a back up workout I can do at home with dumbells.

  13. awesome workout! i’m definitely gonna try it. i have such a hard time motivating myself to do strength training…especially if i have to come up with exercises to do on my own! i’d much rather stick to cardio. but i know it’s so important, so i need to do it more!!

  14. Looks like a great workout!! Total body workouts are my favorite πŸ˜€

  15. I like to use the free weights! πŸ™‚

  16. This looks like a great workout! πŸ™‚

  17. I love this! A gym membership is not in the budget right now, so I’m collecting different workouts to do at home! This will be “pinned” and added to my collection πŸ™‚

  18. Bird dogs are a staple functional core move I use in plans for clients. people think its so easy and silly, but it works!!

  19. I am the queen of being confused by strength training moves, so I was super happy to see that you posted explanations!! πŸ˜€ I like body weight exercises. I know Jillian says girls can’t bulk up, but I totally do, and I find it icky. :/

    • You don’t looked bulked up at all!! My lower body doesn’t necessarily “bulk” but it puts on muscle really easily, so to keep from putting on a lot of muscle and just staying more toned I try to do exercises with 15 reps instead of the 8-12 range

  20. I love this workout routine! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  21. Great routine! I love free weights, they’re so versatile, and easy to keep at home!

  22. Just looked at your venue- it’s awesome! Isn’t planning a wedding so fun?!

    Thanks for the workout- gonna try this weekend!

  23. Thank you for posting this, I always need new workouts πŸ™‚

    Plus I love full body workouts, and this one looks intense!

  1. Pingback: Getting Back On the Healthy Bandwagon | The Lunchbox Diaries

Leave a Reply

