Ab Exercises and My First Massage

Hello everyone!!

I hope you are all having a fantastic weed so far :).

Yesterday I used my Christmas present from Chris and got my very first professional massage!! It was AMAZING. Seriously, I can’t believe I waited until now to get one. My massage therapist used the perfect amount of pressure as she massaged my head, neck, back, arms, and legs. It was fabulous. And I definitely felt like she got rid of the tension that seemed to be existing in my shoulders, neck, and upper back. I felt so incredibly relaxed afterward and my body felt all around awesome.

Source

The other thing that made this massage even better was the heated table that I laid on. I tend to get cold really easily, even with blankets on, so the heat just helped me get comfortable and relaxed. I’m actually proud of myself for being so relaxed during the massage. I was worried that I would feel uncomfortable since it was my first one and I didn’t really know what to expect. Now, I can’t wait to get another one :).

————-

Yesterday during my workout I tried a couple of new ab exercises! I really felt the burn in my lower abs during both of them. I don’t know about you, but my lower ab area always seems the be the hardest to work. Generally I can easily feel my upper abs engaging but I have a more difficult time feeling the lower ones working.

Anyway, the first exercise I saw on pinterest. It was a plank with your feet elevated!

Source

This was definitely a challenging exercise! I did a regular plank after this one and it felt more difficult than a 2nd plank normally does for me. I’m not exactly sure what that means, but my guess is that my abs were working harder during this variation on a plank and therefore were more fatigued by the time I got to the regular one!

The second exercise was seated bench leg pull-ins. What I did is similar to the picture below, except that I didn’t rest my hands on the bench. I leaned back as far as I could without falling over and engaged my core to not only keep me balanced, but to bring my legs in and out!

Source

I think have found some new favorite moves!

Ok lovies, I have to get going so I can get in a good sweat sesh at the gym :D. I hope you all have an awesome Wednesday!

Questions:

Have you ever had a massage? Do you like them?

Do you find it difficult to feel your lower abs working vs. your upper ones?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on January 11, 2012, in About Me, Life, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. I’ve never had a massage before! I neeeeeed one πŸ˜€

  2. I love massages, but only treat myself once every few months. Groupon always has pretty good deals on them, but you take your chances going to a new place every time.

  3. Oh wow, can’t believe you waited so long for your first massage –http://www.erickaandersen.blogspot.com aren’t they awesome? I never had one until I worked at a massage spa at a resort after college. Then, I was hooked! We actually got free ones b/c new therapists had to train on employees πŸ™‚ I just finished off a year of getting one per month (but budget constraints had me cut them out for now). My only comment would be that every therapist is different and occasionally you will find one you don’t like. I’m glad you had a good one for your first experience!

  4. I havent had a massage in over 20 years 😦

    would love to but can’t justify the expense

  5. great new ab exercises! can’t wait to try them

  6. I’ve never gotten a massage before…this must change now! And I’ve never tried a plank like that before, I’m totally giving it a whirl next workout! πŸ™‚

  7. Love massages! Kev and I always have a couples massage (or two) when we go on vacation to the Caribbean. We have never had any local massages so it’s a real special treat for us every year. I did have a facial which included foot/leg massage when I went on a biz trip recently and that was AWESOME!

  8. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    YES I have had a massage, and like you, I loved every second of it! I’ve actually only had a handful too– My first was sometime last year and since then I couldn’t stop scheduling them and asking for massages as gifts! Trust me, if you let yourself you will become ADDICTED.

  9. I’m glad you liked the massage. I wish I could afford to get them more often! As for the abs, I have a hard time seriously working my lower abs without over-working my hip-flexors. Crazy.

  10. Oh my goodness, I can’t believe you’ve waited this long to get a professional massage! It’s one of my favorite (and practically non-existent!) treats to myself. The place I go also lets me choose my own essential oil, which I love because I don’t always really like the more traditional scents. I always choose rose πŸ™‚

  11. I’ve had a few massages in my lifetime and I think I am WAYYYY overdue with one. So glad you got to have one!!! Lower abs are definitely harder to work than upper ones!

  12. Massages are sent from heaven. SO amazing. Glad you loved it!

    Those ab exercises are good ones fo sho’. Another one is to do a plank (normal) and then rock forward and back (slowly) on your toes. It works the entire core and especially into the lower abs–as they have to work to pull the body back in the rocking back motion.

    Have a good one!

  13. Lower abs are my absolute weakness. I’ve had 3 c-sections which means those muscles are basically ripped in half…and very weak!

  14. oh man, i LOVE massages! i’ve only ever gotten one professional one before, but i was definitely in heaven. i’m glad you enjoyed it girly! πŸ™‚

  15. Massages are the best! If you know you are going to do a really hard workout or start a new class that works different muscles than you are used to, plan on scheduling one for the day or two days after — your body will thank you!

  16. I had my first massage about a year ago, it was a present as well, and I feel in love! They are so relaxing! I can’t believe I’ve lived 21 years without this! This last semester I went and got one right before finals, it did wonders. It really helps to relax you so you’re able to study more effectively!

    Those look like killer workouts! Can’t wait to give that plank one a try! Gotta love Pinterest!!! πŸ™‚

  17. YAY for massages! I love them! You’ve got to try the hot stones next time.

    Those ab moves look great! I love the variation you added to the second one. I’ve got to remember both of those.

  18. You are so lucky! I want/need a massage, I have only had a couple in my life. Most of the time, I just make my boyfriend do it!

    I struggle to feel my lower abs working, that is a tough muscle group to reach.

  19. Massages are pretty much the greatest thing ever! When I save up for something special, it’s a massage!

    And thanks for the ab exercises, I can’t seem to ever get to my lower abs… which of course I want to get more toned. I mean what woman doesn’t?! πŸ˜‰

  20. sooo jealous! i’ve never had a massage but would LOVE to get one! what a great christmas gift!!

    i love finding new ab workouts. sometimes i find that i have a harder time holding my stomach in while working lower abs though.

  21. I’m such an oddball and don’t like massages. I know they can be so beneficial though and need to schedule one for my sciatica issues. Just have issues with people touching me LOL

  22. I’ve never gotten a massage, I’m just a little apprehensive at the idea of a stranger rubbing oil all over my back. :-/ I honestly think it’s just the fear of the unknown. I wish my hubby was a massage therapist, that would be wonderful! πŸ˜‰ Glad you enjoyed it, I’m sure if I gave it a chance, my mind would be totally persuaded! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

