25 Minute HIIT Tabata Workout

Hello friends!! Happy Friday :D.

I cannot thank you all enough for your wonderful comments on my vlog about my experience with disordered eating. I wanted to post the 2nd part today, but I decided to break it up with something not so heavy. Instead I’ll be posting it tomorrow!

Yesterday I completed a super awesome tabata workout in my basement. I wanted to share it with you guys because I found it very challenging and I felt like I got an amazing workout in 25 minutes.

Pin It

Um, all I have to say is that tabata workouts are seriously intense. I always breathe so hard during them and I sweat like crazy. This particular workout that I made up was even more challenging because of all the plyometric type moves! I’m going to provide links to pages that describe some of the exercises.

Exercise descriptions:

One-legged burpees

Push-up spidermans

Jumping front kicks

Skaters (they are also called lateral bounds)

Plank jacks

Long jump forward, 2 jumps back

Squat kicks

Clap push-ups on bench

There ya go! All of those links either have good descriptions, pictures, or videos of the moves :D. If you guys ever try this workout…or any of my workouts, let me know what you think!

———-

Guess what else happened yesterday??

I FOUND MY WEDDING DRESS :D.

I am beyond excited to have found my dress and ordered it! As I mentioned in my post earlier this week, I had two appointments on Monday to go look at dresses. While at those two places I found 3 dresses that I really liked, but I didn’t get “that feeling” in any of them that everyone says you’re supposed to get.

Source

Well, I made another appointment at a different boutique for yesterday and I am so glad that I decided to go there! The boutique I went to was Trumpington Bridal House in the suburb of Columbus that I live in. I originally wasn’t going to make an appointment at this place because I always thought the gowns looked way to expensive. Well, I finally discovered that their prices start at $599…which is amazing, especially considering how nice and gorgeous they all are!

So I tried on two dresses that I liked, but wasn’t crazy about. Then I put on THE dress. The lady that was helping me in the fitting room was really excited because they had just gotten the dress in and no one had tried it on yet- she couldn’t wait to see what it looked like.

When I went out to the little area where you show everyone and looked at myself in the mirror, I’m pretty sure that my face instantly lit up with a huge smile. This dress was absolutely huge on me and I already loved it. They tightened it to show me how it would look and I fell even more in love with it :). And I actually got that feeling…I didn’t want to take the dress off and I got the chills.

I don’t want to show any pictures of the dress because I want it to be a surprise for Chris and everyone else…but I will tell you that to me the dress has a somewhat magical and enchanted feel without being too over the top (if that even makes sense haha). There are beads and some lace on it but they are tastefully done. It’s a hard dress to describe, but I think it’s amazing. Everyone else loved it too. My maid of honor was there and she started crying when I said it was the one!

Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that I found my wedding dress and that I could not be happier about it. Seriously, I just want to go back in there and try it on again hehe :).

————–

Last night in order to celebrate the finding of my dress, my maid of honor Whitney and I made some super awesome blondies! We made the Frosted Chocolate Covered Pretzel Blondies from Gingerbread Bagels. They were so tasty :D. The only thing we did differently was use pre-made icing…we were feeling a bit lazy haha.

Whitney and I!

So delicious!

I hope you all have an awesome Friday!!

 

Questions:

Do you like doing shorter, more intense workouts?

If you’re engaged or married, how long did it take you to pick out your wedding dress?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on January 13, 2012, in Dessert, Friends, Intervals, Life, Wedding, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 38 Comments.

  1. AHHHHH I’M SO HAPPY FOR YOU!! Congrats on finding your dress!! 😀

    Hope you have a fabulous weekend girl!

  2. I got chills! That is so exciting you found your dress and the experience sounds like it was exactly how every girl dreams it will be! I am not married or engaged but I think that finding the perfect dress must be a huge relief and weight off your shoulders! The dress is such an important part of your wedding and now you can check it off your list!

  3. Yayyyy!! I’m so happy you found your dress! Such an exciting time!! 🙂

    For me, I went to one local store in Sarasota just to start trying them on. I tried a few on that day, I liked one, but I wasn’t 100% on it. Then about a week later, I visited 2 different stores. The first store, I didn’t really like anything. And the second store was where I found my dress. I debated between it and another one that was more “classic.” I was worried that the dress I loved was a little too “different.” But in the end, I loved it and didn’t want to take it off, so I knew it was the dress for me! 😉

  4. Well now you’ve got me really wanting to see this dress!!

  5. hurray for finding your dress!!!! and def trying this workout!!!

  6. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    GAH! You’re killin’ me here! I want to see it so badly! I’m sure that it is absolutely gorgeous 😀

    $599 is REALLY good as a starting price– I had no idea how much wedding dresses really cost until I had to go with Katie (my brother’s fiancee) and the cheapest one at the store was $1000! Looks like I should start saving… haha

    • I know! I want to show it so bad…but I also want it to be a surpise :). And isn’t it crazy how expensive the dresses can be? Some of the stores around here start at $2000, so we didn’t even go there haha.

  7. I just read that you got engaged on Peanut Butter Fingers and thought I’d stop by to say CONGRATULATIONS!

  8. YAYAYAYAYYYYYYYY!!! So excited you found “the” dress! 😀

    I give you credit for all those plyometrics in your tabatas! If I ever want to feel totally out of shape, I do plyometrics! Haha

  9. looks like an awesome workout lady! i love high intensity interval workouts – it’s always fun to mix things up.

    wooohooo!!!! i’m so excited for you that you found your dress!! i know how wonderful that feels. like you said, it makes you want to go back and try it on again and again! congrats girl! i can’t wait to photos of you in it on your big day!

  10. How exciting!! Congrats on finding the dress. I am sure it looks stunning on you 🙂

  11. Yay for finding your dress! I never had the “moment” but my mom burst into tears when I put on the one I eventually chose. I ending up really loving it too!

  12. Yay for the dress! That’s soooooo exciting! I found my dress at the first shop I visited, and I found it within the first 5 I tried on there. Mom made me visit another store or two just to be sure, but I was dead-set on that one. My mom and maid of honor agreed that it was a keeper.

  13. You do a workout entitled, “Push Up Spider-Mans”? As a hero in my own right who can appreciate Spidey, I am now subscribed to your blog!

  14. WAHOO!!! You DID it–you got THE dress. See-you just KNOW it when you find it 🙂

    I love short, intense workouts. Now if only I could find more time to do all these awesome workouts people post….. 😉

    • Haha I know right? There are so many awesome workouts that other bloggers post but it can be hard to do them when we’re trying to create our own!

  15. I have just recently heard of Tabata workouts and instantly feel in love with them. As busy college students they are the perfect way to squeeze in a good intense workout when you only have 30 mins!

    Congratulations on your dress!! That is so exciting! That has got to be a huge relief of your wedding plan shoulders!

    And that dessert looked delicious! I’m going to have to give that one a try this weekend, to celebrate making it through the first week of school!! 🙂 ha

  16. Congrats on finding your dress!!! Sososo exciting.

  17. I wish I could SEE the dress!!! how exciting.

    And, um…WOW on that workout!

  18. I had a similar experience with my dress. It was about the third dress I tried on and I just knew it the second I saw myself in it. Couldn’t imagine myself in anything else! I’m so excited you found the one…wedding planning is just so fun!

  19. yay!! congratulations on finding your dress! 🙂

    i actually kind of like working out for longer periods at varying intensities, but i know that shorter bursts of super intense exercise are supposed to be REALLY good for you. i guess i need to get out of my comfort zone a bit!!

  20. awww so happy you found the dress 😀

  21. Since I’ve been doing CrossFit, all of my workouts have been short and intense. I love it!

    And congrats on the dress!

  22. I like short, intense workouts some days, but other days I like to do longer workouts!

  23. Ahhh, I got chills reading this post! I’m not married yet, but I LOVE a good wedding-related story. So amazing. I’m so glad you found THE dress! I’ll be excited to see pictures later on!

    That workout looks intense – I’m adding it to my “workouts” folder to try. Thanks!

  24. Thanks so much for the link love, beautiful! And congrats on finding your DRESS!!!! How thrilling!!!!!! xo

  25. I found my wedding dress at the second store I looked at. I had been eying it online, and loved it even more when I tried it on! Right now, I am waiting for it to come back with the completed alterations, and I can’t wait to try it on again!

  1. Pingback: Who Needs a Trainer When I’ve Got Pinterest? « Fancy Oatmeal

  2. Pingback: Fitness Friday 5 & A Vlog

  3. Pingback: Fitness Friday 6

  4. Pingback: Monday Announcements: 1.23.12 | Healthy Living Blogs

  5. Pingback: Fitness Friday

  6. Pingback: A Healthier Story: Free HIIT Workouts Online

Leave a Reply

