My Experience with Disordered Eating – Part 2

Hi friends! I hope you’re having a good weekend so far :D.

Today I have the second vlog about my experience with disordered eating. If you missed the first one, you can watch it here:

Part 1

I hope you enjoy learning more about me!

Thank you so much for watching! You have no idea what it means to me!

Have a great weekend 😀

xxoo

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on January 14, 2012, in About Me, Body Image, Health, Vlog. Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. This was great! It’s awesome you took what you learned in those nutrition/exercise classes and applied it to your own life. I’m so happy you learned to “thrive” rather than just “survive”!! 😀

  2. LOVE these posts! You are so candid and open. As someone who has never experienced disordered eating (although I do resonate with some things you say, like how wonderful it would be to truly love my body every day. I’m not quite there yet), it’s interesting to get such a telling story from someone who has. You definitely help me understand the topic better.

    Enjoy your weekend 🙂

  3. Another great post! I hope this shows girls who are thinking about restricting what it can do to your body! And fortunately for you, you didn’t even restrict for too long … imagine what it could have been like if you continued for several years. 😦

  4. I think it is incredibly brave and amazing that you took the time to make these posts. You are so honest and open … it is refreshing. Thank you!

  5. loved this, once again! i can relate all too well with the mental struggles and stomach issues i still have to this day due to my past. you’re right, it truly is so frustrating at times. i think about how freeing it would be if i was completely satisfied with my body too – ahhh i hope someday!

    love you girl!

  6. Thanks for sharing with us again. I think it’s great that you are because I’m sure many other girls have went through the same thing! I’m glad that you are in a better place now and that you learned so much through your classes in school.

  7. My disordered eating also caused stomach issues for me. When I restricted my cals, I caused the peristalsis to dramatically slow. And now it’s still slow and everything gets very backed up to the point I look pregnant. And I get so mad at myself for hurting my body. So I once again feel ya on this :/ I’m sorry you have to deal with this. It’s not fun. I mean now I’ll never go back. It’s like a constant reminder to me of the consequences of not eating.

    • Ugh, yes that definitely happens to me sometimes! It’s so frustrating…but also a reminder of why to never do it again.

  8. Thank you for sharing this. I know it can’t be easy, but it means a lot that you are willing to open up and share such a personal part of your life. You should be proud of how far you’ve come.

  9. LOVE how open you are! You probably have NO idea how much you help others thrive in their aspects in life 😉

  10. I can relate to SO much of what you’re saying here, Linds. Especially about wishing you loved your body and how much more energy you’d have for other things if it weren’t constantly in the back of your mind. And you know what’s crazy to me? I look at you and see how beautiful and fit you are, and would never guess that you have those thoughts about yourself! I, too, have had eating issues in the past and have experienced different stomach symptoms, also diagnosed as IBS. Even though they’re under much better control because of my diet and exercise habits, they definitely make some days extra hard. Thank you so much for sharing this. It’s really helped me–and makes me think that maybe someday I’ll be able to be more open about my own experiences.

    • Aw, wow thank you so much Melissa! You are so sweet. I’m so glad that I have been able to help in any way what soever! That makes me feel even better about posting these. If you ever want to talk about anything, feel free to email me! Love you girlie!

  11. Great post! I love how open you are!

  12. I love how you make the difference between living and thriving! Also, I think the disordered phase does make the body image issues that much harder. I still have struggles with it at time and go back into those urges to control food and things. At least we know we have come so far and that the good outweighs the bad. 🙂

    • Yes…knowing how far we’ve come is awesome! And I think it’s important for people to understand that there is a difference between just living and thriving- life is so much better when we’re thriving!

  13. Again lady, thank you for sharing this and your honesty! You know I both appreciate and can relate to your words a whole lot! When I started eating more again, I turned to sweets and “bad foods” I resisted for so so long… candy corn during Halloween? Good god. But I believe I am normalizing a bit more now and understanding that whole “moderation” thing a bit more

    I am sorry you still have some stomach issues, but I believe as you continue to eat normally, your body will realize everything is okay and will even out for your

    Thanks again for this 🙂

  14. You are such a good video blogger! You seem very natural on camera. It’s tricky, I always want to talk too fast or just be like “ummmm”, but you are very well-spoken.

    Once again, I love your honesty about your struggles and glad you are in a good place now!

  15. It is amazing to hear your story and how far you have come! It is terribly that it still enables your stomach and eating habits at times.

    Oh how I too would love to be able to look in the mirror and love what you see. To not take an hour to find a shirt that won’t show off the bulge of the day!! It is hard, but you have come so far and have so much to be proud of!

  16. Thanks again for sharing! It’s an interesting point about your IBS being caused by your eating habits. I have no doubt I’ve done some damage over the years, and now I’m wondering if my current tummy troubles aren’t stemming from that!

  1. Pingback: Baby Shower and Back to School Goals

Leave a Reply

