Baby Shower and Back to School Goals

Hi friends! I hope you all had a fabulous weekend. Today is my last day at home…I fly back to Boston tomorrow. I want to thank you all for your great comments on my second vlog about my experience with disordered eating…I was once again blown away by all of the nice things you guys had to say!

Yesterday, my mom and I went to my cousin Whitney’s baby shower! It was so fun, and she got so many cute things :).

The cake was chocolate with white icing, and it was delish!

They had Hershey’s bars covered with shower information…so cute!

The mom-to-be πŸ™‚

Whitney and I!

She got so many awesome presents that included a bunch of books, super cute clothes, a stroller, bottles, bedding, a car seat and lots more!

And my other cousin’s (Amber, the pretty redhead sitting on the fireplace) child, little Ben, was really excited about one of the gifts!

He even tried to take it for himself…what a cutie pie πŸ™‚

I’m so sad that I won’t be in town when Whitney has little baby Cael! I’ll just have to visit them lots when I come back home in May!

————–

I’m not generally a person that likes to set goals. Usually I just forget about them or I end up being too hard on myself and get frustrated. However, there are a few things that I really want to work on when I head back to school. One of them is fitness related, another is food related, and the last one is finance related.

Source

My fitness goal is to do some ab work 5 days a week. I generally only work my abs on days that I lift weights, but I would like to see if working them more will help add some definition!

My food-related goal is to try 1 new recipe a week. I sort of fell off the cooking bandwagon the month before winter break and I want to start back at it again. Plus, I always tend to buy the same stuff and then I end up getting bored with what I eat. Hopefully this will help keep things interesting for my palate and help me become more confident in the kitchen so that I can be a fabulous wifey in the future ;).

My finance goal is basically just to really work on keeping my spending at a minimum this semester…but also not so minimum that I can’t enjoy my last few months in Boston. Ultimately I want to have enough money in my savings account at the end of the semester so that when I move back home and have to complete my 6 months of interning, I won’t have to completely rely on my parents for everything!

Looks like I’ll be utilizing Tina’s post about achieving goals that she wrote last week :D.

I hope you all have a great day!!

 

Questions:

What is your favorite part about a shower? (Any type of shower- baby, wedding, etc.)

Are you a goal oriented person? What helps you remember and keep track of your goals and progress?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on January 16, 2012, in About Me, Family, Life, Mind. Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    So let me get this straight, you move home in a few months!? That is awesome! πŸ˜€ I had no idea that you were so close to being finished with school.

    Does that mean that you & Chris will be close?

  2. Awww what a fun baby shower! I live the personalized hershey bars πŸ™‚

    Love your food, fitness, and finance goals, they sound awesome!

  3. I am definitely a goal-oriented person. If I don’t have a goal, I tend to feel lost and distracted. I find that breaking up my goals into little pieces, writing them all down, and setting a timer work very well for me. Anyone can do anything in twenty minute increments! And the more specifically worded the goal is (“Walk a mile a day this week” vs. “Walk more”), the easier it is to visualize.

    I also set up rewards for myself, especially using my Amazon.com wishlist. If I see something online that I want, I add it to that list, and I often say, “When I reach this particular goal, I get to buy something from my Amazon list.” It works really well!

  4. I love seeing friends/family at showers!! ANd usually the delicious food πŸ™‚

    Those are great goals, girl! I need to cook more/better too!

  5. I love showers! Hahah the cute little games and gifts are my favourite πŸ™‚

  6. What a lovely baby shower! I’m only 10 weeks pregnant and already looking forward to by baby shower! πŸ™‚ I definitely love the food at showers and of course seeing the glowing mom to be!

  7. I have goals, but I don’t usually write them down. I probably should…I was actually think about doing a post similar to this sometime this week :).

  8. the champagne. always the champagne.

  9. Those sound like great goals! I really need to set a finance goal. I always want to, but somehow I never really commit to it. Must change that!

  10. great goals linds! i’m definitely a goal oriented person, but i do better with short term goals. to help me remember them and stay on track, i write them out and post them on my mirror or dashboard in my car to constantly remind myself of them. i usually tell my husband or a close friend about them to help keep me accountable. you’ll do great!! i think having a few goals set in place can be a great thing!

    • That’s a really good idea to write them out and post them somewhere you will always seem them. I think I’m going to do that when I get back tomorrow!

  11. Great Goals. I think it is important to set goals because then you have something to work towards and accomplish!

  12. I’ve never been to a baby shower! I love the chocolate bars, so cute!

  13. Wow! I’m a 23-year-old grad student, as well. I’m really impressed with your goals. If you have any tips for no-so-great aspiring chefs, I’d be forever grateful! I, like you, tend to make the same simple recipes over and over; I don’t necessarily get bored with the tastes, but rather the repetitiveness of the recipes. I really like what I read today — I’ll be back πŸ™‚

    • Aw thank you! Um, I’m really not great in the kitchen, so I’m probably not all that good of a person to ask for tips haha. BUT, one thing I did to start out was get a few cookbooks with things that sounded really appealing to me, and with recipes that weren’t overly challenging! Also, googling things or finding videos of how to prepare something is always helpful for me too!

  14. My favorite part of baby showers is getting to see all the cute little baby outfits! Onesies and baby shoes are just too cute! At bridal showers I love when the groom surprises the bride with a sweet note, or simply shows up to surprise her. I love seeing the bride’s face light up knowing how much her groom loves her πŸ™‚ I always have goals and try to keep both short term and long term goals written down. Completing short term ones is how you get to finish the long term goals, so in my eyes it’s worth having both.

    • Aw yes! There were so many adorable baby outfits! Oh I can’t wait til I have my bridal shower…it will be a while for that though haha.

  15. Your cousin is so cute! Showers are always fun – my favorite part is definitely the cake (or whatever dessert is there). I also am a sucker for the fun little games – they can be so creative!

    Good luck for the first day of classes and have a safe trip back to school!

  16. Aww the shower looks like so much fun!! I love everything about showers … time spent with friends, celebrating the person’s big event, the FOOD, the silly games, etc. I’m a total cheese-ball and I love all of that stuff!!

    Travel safely back to school, my friend!

    • You are not a cheese-ball! I love all of that stuff too. Except the games we played yesterday were really hard haha! Thank you! I’m so incredibly happy that we got to meet-up over break πŸ™‚

  17. the good? thing about winter semester is that I tend to stay in more because it’s so cold out so that’s money saving and good for grades!

  18. Good luck on your goals. I love the one about trying one new recipe a week. I definitely get into food ruts and eat the same thing for a week straight. I have lots of recipes bookmarked and new cookbooks from Christmas. Now I just have to make them!

  19. how fun!! that little redhead is SO precious πŸ™‚

    my favorite part of showers is cake. haha seriously though! love it.

    awesome fitness goals. mine is to make sure to take a rest day during my half marathon training and do ab work 5 days a week.

    • Yes, cake is one of my fav parts too!! Looks like we both have some ab goals…except you probably don’t need one as much as I do- you’re abs are rockin’!!

  20. I love baby showers – they’re so funny, but I also love babies too! My current goal is to lose a little bit of weight. Having a goal is easy but getting there is hard!

  21. Ah baby showers. I love baby showers PURELY for the food. That cake looks phenomenal.

    I am definitely not a goal-oriented person, but I do have one goal for this spring – run in a 10k! I want to run more often, so I need a goal to work towards to get me into it. So that is the plan!

  22. That cake looks awesome, they know the baby AND the name already!? talk about being prepared. I can’t wait for my shower – just to be with all my closest female friends and family! Only 2 more months!

    Good luck getting back to school – and those goals are great, achievable too!

  23. Good luck with your goals, they are big ones! I love goals and usually set too many of them. I seem to like wedding showers best but I think that’s because I love weddings and babies still scare me.

    • I love weddings too! And I know that babies aren’t going to happen for a while so I guess they don’t really bother me yet…maybe when it’s closer to that period of time!

  24. I am joining you on the ab work! I totally need to get back into it.

  25. I love that name Cael! So cute!

    I love baby showers, it’s such an exciting time in a new mother’s life and it is so fun seeing all the fun presents they get!

    I try not seeing specific goals for myself because I too only intern become frustrated with myself when they do not pan out perfectly! I think it is always good to start small, only focusing week by week, that way you will not think you’ve blown the whole thing if one week does not workout perfectly.

Leave a Reply

