What Type of Fit Are You?

Hello everyone!! I hope you’ve had a great weekend so far.

Today I spent a majority of my day on the couch haha. I watched Horrible Bosses, read blogs, updated mine a bit, and watched some tv. The fresh snow on the ground really made me just want to bundle up and relax, so that’s exactly what I did!

I also browsed through a bunch of the “Photography 101” posts on Ashley’s blog The Edible Perspective. These posts are SO incredibly informative and helpful. I bookmarked them so that I can really start to learn how to work my DSLR camera :).

While reading these posts, I decided to take a few pictures of my engagement ring with my camera in manual mode, and I actually think they turned out fairly well!

In this one the center diamond isn’t very clear, but I still like the pic!

—————-

The other day I was thinking about how amazing all of my fellow FitFluential ambassadors are and it got me to thinking about something- how we are all physically “fit”, but in completely different ways! I think that’s awesome.

Being fit is not something that is one size fits all. If it were then we’d either all be fit enough to run a marathon but not to participate in Cross-fit, or we’d be fit enough to do some intense hot yoga but not enough to complete a tabata workout. Thank goodness that isn’t the case. We are all unique so it only makes sense that we are fit in different ways and our bodies are “fit” for different styles of exercise.

Some of the different types of fitness are (source):

  • Stamina: a combo of cardio-respiratory and muscular endurance
  • Cardio-respiratory endurance: the ability of your body to supply oxygen to your muscles so they can perform for long and steady state activities- like a half marathon
  • Muscular endurance: the ability of a muscle or muscle group to perform for a longer period of time; higher reps and lower weight
  • Strength: the greatest amount of force a muscle can produce; low reps and high weight
  • Speed: how quickly our muscles can move our joints
  • Flexibility: the ability to lengthen muscles so they can move our joints in a large range of motion
  • Power: a combination of strength and speed; allows your body to produce an explosive effort

I see myself as physically fit in several of the above areas. That makes sense because I don’t exercise and train in one particular way. I like to lift weights, do steady-state cardio, complete interval workouts, and do plyometrics. I may not be as fit as others in these areas, but for me and my personal goals, I am fit enough to complete workouts that I consider hard and yet still find them challenging enough that I have to push myself. And that in itself is what being fit is for me.

Everyone can be fit. You don’t have to be a marathoner or a power lifter. You have to find what works for you and makes you happy and then focus on that. Then you will be able to develop the skills necessary to become fit enough for your physical goals!

Questions:

What type of “fit” do you consider yourself to be?

How have you gotten there?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on January 21, 2012, in About Me, Health, Wedding, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. I consider my most “fit” to be flexibility. I was a gymnast and cheerleader since I was 5 so I think years of stretching and working on my splits, bridges, toe touches, heel stretches, etc. allowed me to become so flexible and luckily I have kept most of it since I quit. I think that’s why I love yoga so much, because it allows me to work on my flexibility and reminds me of the stretching I loved when I was younger.

    I love your ring, it is absolutely gorgeous! I also noticed your perfume bottle is Pure DKNY, and that is what I wear too! I got it for Christmas last year from Tim and love it!!

  2. loved this post! i have one scheduled for monday that touches on the same idea 🙂

  3. great shots of your ring – it’s so beautiful! i’m glad you’ve been able to have some down time today… it’s been snowy/rainy all day here too. i agree, it makes you just want to curl up and stay in your sweats all day! 🙂

  4. At the moment, I’m probably Cardio-respiratory endurance because of the long runs you have to do when training for the half-marathons. But I don’t know … I think I could be more fit in many of those areas! 😉

  5. Beautiful pictures!

    I love the idea of different kinds of fit. I was just thinking about that the other day when I was in Body Pump. I such a wimp when it comes to lifting heavy weights I am a classic endurance athlete, I can run, ride and swim for a long time but don’t ask me to do very many push ups!

  6. Your ring is gorgeous!! Thanks so much for linking up to my post. 🙂

    • Thank you so much! And you’re welcome…those posts are going to become my go-to source when I’m trying to figure out my camera 🙂

  7. I think naturally I tend toward cardio-respiratory endurance (didn’t know this until I started running a couple of years ago!) I am definitely not fit in the flexibility area!

    Love that ring 🙂

  8. I loved this post! It’s so true, all of us FitFluential ambassadors have such different backgrounds & such varieties of ‘physical fitness’ It’s AWESOME to be a part of a community with so many unique contributors!

    I consider myself to be “strong” in flexibility. I was a gymnast from ages 6-17. A ballet dancer from 6-20. Now I’m obsessed with pilates and yoga.

    I’m also slowly starting to put myself in the cardio/endurance club! I’m no expert, but I’m addicted to it like nothing else in my life.

  9. I LOVE lazy snow days!! 🙂

  10. beautiful ring! I think I fall into stamina mostly because I work on my cardio and weight training (that sounds so macho haha!) equally in hopes I will be a quicker runner. It was hard to decide though!

  11. I’m a combo of things

    dont fit into just one

    muscular endurance

    stamina

    strength

    power

  12. how cool! I can see myself under a few categories! For sure power and stamina 🙂

  13. Very cool. Of all of those, I probably need to work on flexibility the most. Like you I do a mix of steady state cardio, intervals, weights. Somehow stretching gets the short end (Bad, I know).

    Your ring and photos are beautiful! What kind of camera do you have?

    • Haha stretching seems to get the short end for me too…I just don’t really enjoy it so that’s probably why! I have a dslr camera- a Canon Rebel T3!

  14. love your ring, it’s gorgeous!

  15. Ooh, I love that second pic especially!! So pretty!

    I think I have stamina, cardio-respiratory endurance, and speed pretty much cornered. My flexibility is decent, too. I’d love to have more power, just because it sounds cool! 😉

  16. Following you over from FF link love! Your ring is gorgeous! You bring up a good point! There are so many different kinds of fit. I would say I am a few of these but above them all I would say I’m cardio fit. I need to work more on being muscle fit!

  17. I think I’m probably stamina. I try to do both weights and cardiovascular workouts. I could use some work on my flexibility, I need to remember to stretch more!

  18. I think I am “fit” in a couple of those areas but definitely am working on increasing my endurance and speed with running. What a great post!

  19. I definitely am stamina, cardio, and flexible fit. I’m working on the other parts! Until recently I pretty much ONLY ran for exercise. And always at a pretty even, steady (not difficult at all) pace. Finally my dad knocked some sense into me when he told me I wasn’t ever going to make any progress if I never challenged myself!

  20. Great pictures, your ring is beautiful. I consider myself to be cardio fit – I definitely need to continue to work on everything though.

  21. I agree! The FitFluential community is AWESOME! Everyone is so supportive of each other! 🙂

  22. The pictures are looking awesome, homegirl!

    I excel in flexibility, cardio endurance and stamina. I’m working on speed and strength! 🙂

    Great post, and I agree- our FitFluential Family is pretty inspiring!

  23. Great job on the photos! You’ll keep getting better and better. 🙂

    I’m not sure what kind of fit I am, but I’d like to think I’m ma combo of at least a couple.

  24. I have to say I’m the same type of fit as you. Even though I do a lot of endurance running and training, I still make sure to mix it up with speed and intervals, plyos, different types of strength workouts, etc. Great post!

  25. I ❤ this! I think I'm definitely cardio fit and speed-y fit. I'm working on the strength part…

  26. love Ashley’s photography, we are trying our best to learn our camera too.

    and great post about fitness levels. you are right on with that! we all different and have to find what works for us. i try my best to mix up workouts because i love all types.

  27. I’m not quite “there” yet. For me, I think I’m a work in progress in all of the area’s. I’m not always consistent with keeping up with weights/strength training, and I’m trying make my way up to it again.

  28. well i like them all too! and it totally depends on my “season” you might say. Winter I love a good cross training and strength. Summer I like running and yoga. All great, yes?!

    p.s.

    Love the ring!

  29. LOVE this!!!! Great post, girl 🙂

  1. Pingback: Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

Leave a Reply

