Magazine Writing

Hi everyone! πŸ˜€

As I have mentioned before, I am a FitFluential ambassador. One of the amazing things about being an ambassador is that we are presented with opportunities to work with great brands, companies, etc.

There is currently an opportunity that I want…REALLY BAD…and that is to do some writing for a healthy living magazine. To say that writing for such a magazine has always been a dream of mine might be pushing it, but I have honestly dreamed about it since I started reading them several years ago!

You see, reading these magazines definitely helped spark my interest in fitness and health. Growing up I was active and then I danced competitively until the age of 16. Activity was a part of life…no ifs, ands, or buts about it. And then I quit dance and my disordered eating “phase” happened. I didn’t want to gain weight and working out in ways other than doing cardio scared me. Once my disordered eating ended, I started my relationship with fitness.

It wasn’t necessarily a good one at first: I only did cardio and my sole focus was on burning calories. I would read healthy living magazines and ooo and ahh over the cool exercise moves that were shown and yet was too scared to venture out and try new things. I would be captivated by the intriguing information about how exercise influences our bodies and lives for the better, but I couldn’t divorce myself from the mindset that cardio=calories burned…end of story.

Whenever I read those magazines, I LOVED it, and because of that incredible interest I thankfully decided to complete my undergraduate degree in Exercise Science. The pursuit of my BS in that field and my relationship with my fiance, Chris, really helped me learn to appreciate the importance of health and fitness.

Somewhere along the way, that appreciation turned to love. I now understand the vast importance of having a healthy body and mind. I’ve learned how fitness cam impact both in a positive direction. With all of this knowledge and passion, I believe that I can bring a lot of information and motivation to the table.

I believe that I would be a great writer for a health and fitness magazine. My fabulous readers have told me that I am a positive, honest, friendly, relatable, and above all, REAL person. They love it when I post new workouts, talk about topics related to body image, and my trials and tribulations with discovering what it means for me to live a healthy life.

Honestly, I’m just a normal girl. I am a full time graduate student in occupational therapy. I am in a long-distance relationship with my fiance. I am busy and my life can definitely get stressful. While I do have a passion for healthy living, it isn’t my career, nor is it the profession of most people in this world. I understand that it can be challenging to re-vamp your life or continue with your healthy journey.

But with all that I do, all that I’ve overcome, and all of the things that life throws my way, I’ve made health and fitness a core part of who I am and not just something that I do. I believe that this is the key to living and enjoying a healthy, active life. I would love nothing more than to share that belief and my insight with others!

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on January 23, 2012, in About Me, Blogging, FitFluential. Bookmark the permalink. 42 Comments.

  1. LOVE the pics… you look fantastic!

  2. This is AWESOME! Way to shoot for a dream and go for it, I think you’d make a phenomenal magazine writer! πŸ™‚ Keep us posted on any news with the opportunity!

  3. What an amazing post! I so agree with the above comment, you’d make a fantastic health magazine writer. But you’re also a great blogger, which you can do now. πŸ™‚ And share all your great tips with all of us! πŸ™‚ Hope to see more!

  4. you go get it girl! you would do GREAT at something like this – i’m sure of it! did you find out about this opportunity on FB? i really need to stay on top of that better…

  5. Great!! You’d rock it! I might write one too….if I get around to it πŸ˜‰ Heh. Nicely said, girl!!!! I hope you get it!

  6. What a great opportunity – that’s so awesome – you go girl! πŸ˜‰ Cute pictures, you look amazing!!

  7. Those are just a great photos! I also love your exercises. πŸ˜€

  8. What an awesome opportunity!! Go for it! I always tell everyone that my dream job (once I’m a dietitian) is to work in a grocery store helping people choose healthy options part time and write for a health publication part time. It would be amazing!

  9. you’d rock it πŸ™‚

  10. πŸ™‚ great post!

  11. While yer far more than just a normal girl πŸ˜‰ you ARED just what they need.

  12. Ahhh smartphone πŸ˜‰

    ARE.

  13. You would definitely work wonders in this area of publishing! I say YESSS to this, and please keep us updated πŸ™‚

  14. I’m an FFA, too. I hope you don’t mind, but I used your post to figure out what the heck I’m supposed to write in one of these audition-things. I’m a massive noob at this stuff.

    So thanks for the inspiration AND your delts are so sick.

    • Hi! I don’t mind at all…but I had absolutely no idea what I was doing, so I don’t know if you really want to use mine as your guide haha. Good luck with yours!

  15. Oh Lindsay, I think you would be so great writing for a magazine! Good luck!!! I hope you get it! πŸ™‚

  16. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Best of luck to you Lindsay! You’ve come such a long way, and especially after listening to your videos on your ED history, I’m rooting you on wholeheartedly!

    Isn’t it funny how most of us start off doing pure cardio and wishing that we were tough enough for the weight room? haha

    • Thank you so much Brittany!! And yes, I do think it’s funny how we all wanted to be in the weight room but were afraid…I wish there was a way to make girls understand that it doesn’t need to be scary!

  17. Good Luck! You would do a great job!

  18. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    I think you would be great at it! It’s also a dream of mine as well! Lets do this!!! πŸ™‚

  19. What a positive example for others on their fitness journey. Good Luck with your opportunity.

  20. I think you would be a huge asset to any magazine about health and fitness. Your posts are always inspiring but also relatable which is so important!!

    Good luck!

  21. Good luck girl! That was a great post and you really expressed yourself and your goals do clearly! You would be a great writer, I would love to read your articles!! πŸ™‚

  22. That is so awesome! From reading your blog, I know you have a great shot at becoming a health and fitness writer!!! I sure hope it works out for you! πŸ™‚

  23. Aww I hope you get the opportunity to write for the magazine!! OBVIOUSLY you know I think you’d be awesome! πŸ˜‰ Keep us updated!

  24. LIKE!!!! Correction…. LOVE. I wish the best of luck to you, all of the FitFluential family, and yes, even to myself. So excited. xoxo!

  1. Pingback: My Perfect White Tank Top

  2. Pingback: Friday Link Love + My Audition

Leave a Reply

