Giveaway Winner and A Delicious Meal

Hi everyone!

I cannot thank you enough for all of your super sweet comments about my grandpa. I got to talk to him on the phone last night to tell him that I loved him- it was really hard knowing that would be my last conversation with him, but completely worth it!

Okay, I have the winner of my Handful Sports Bra giveaway!!

Congratulations Molly! Please email me your shipping information :D.

As I said a couple of weeks ago, I was planning on trying out one new recipe a week. Well, the one I did this week was AMAZING! I made Kristen’s Caramel Apple Pork Chops and I roasted some asparagus. It was a super tasty meal!

Oh my gosh these pork chops were sooooo good! I’d actually never had pork and apples before…apparently this is a common thing (where have I been??). You cook the pork on the stove and then you cook the apples in a skillet with some brown sugar, butter, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Holy deliciousness. I HIGHLY recommend making this if you like pork!

The only things I did differently were use 3 thin slices of pork instead of two larger ones…that way I had three servings (yay for leftovers!), and I used Earth Balance instead of regular butter!

As for the asparagus, I roasted it in the oven for 12 minutes at 425 degrees. I lined a baking sheet with foil, drizzled the spears with olive oil and balsamic vinegar after placing them on the foil, and seasoned them with salt and pepper. Once they were in the oven I turned them over once about half way through. Super easy, and so very yummy. I’d say this was a winner of a dinner ;).

————-

Also, thank you to everyone who commented about my new blog feature idea! I really want to do it, but I still want to get some more feedback…so I’m posting this idea again (for those of you that have read it, you can skip this haha).

Each week I will feature my favorite workout from that week or my favorite move- I will post either the workout, pictures, or a video. Then you guys can do the same and link up with my post! Sort of in the style of β€œWhat I Ate Wednesday” but it will be your favorite exercise or workout that you’ve done that week.

The whole idea for this is to have a bunch of workouts and moves located in one place, but also to build a greater sense of community in the blog world amongst us fitness lovers!

**Edited to add: I don’t want this to be like Lindsay’s Tuesday Trainer feature…she already does a fabulous job with that! I want this to be more like WIAW but for working out. So you won’t be sending me moves and then have me create a workout. I will have my own workout that I will post (which I already do sometimes) or highlight one of my favorite exercises. Then you will do the same on your blog and link up with my post!

Questions:

Have you ever had pork with apples? What did you think?

What do you think about my feature idea?

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on January 27, 2012, in Bloggers, Dinner, Fitness, Giveaway, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. When I was younger and my mom would make pork chops, we would all get so mad. We hated them! Nothing a little applesauce couldn’t fix though!

  2. I haven’t ever had pork with apples, but I know pork with applesauce is a big thing people do. I like the feature idea, because I am always looking for new ideas. I am newer to weight lifting and strength training and would love to see pictures and explanations of the moves.

  3. I’m not a huge pork fan, but I’d eat the apples heehee! πŸ™‚

    I love your new blog feature idea too, I totally plan on linking up!

  4. Pork and apples = magical combo! The first time I had pork in years was when I paired it with apples and sweet potatoes… so so good!

    And heck yeah to the feature idea.. .I am always looking for new workouts

  5. I love pork chops/pork tenderloin, but I don’t think I’ve ever done it with apples. Salty/sweet is such a great combo, though. I think I’d love it!

    Glad you got to talk to your grandpa last night. Still saying prayers for you! XOXO

  6. Glad you could talk to your grandpa!!

    I don’t eat pork, but that recipe sounds good –p.s. I might be do that feature if I can remember it weekly….haha

  7. I will definitely try this recipe. I’ve made something similar but it used apple pie filling which just felt dense and took away the healthy feeling of eating apples. This recipe looks like a winner. Thanks!

  8. I ahve never had pork with apples but I think your idea for features is good!

  9. YAY! I won the giveaway! I’m so excited! &so are the (little) girls. πŸ™‚ woohoo!

  10. OOO I was planning a pork and apples dish for next week but this looks so good I might just have to try it πŸ˜‰

  11. i’ve actually never tried the apples and pork thing! now that i think about it, we’d always put applesauce on our pork chops… but i love the baked apples idea! yum! have a great friday my dear!

  12. I love apple pork chops, but I haven’t had them since my mom used to make them! Loooong time ago. I need to get on this.

    I really like the idea of your new move link-up. I doubt I will be a big creator of new moves, but I DO like getting ideas for new moves!

  13. janae@hungryrunnergirl

    YUM…that looks so good. I have never had that combo but I want to try it now!

  14. Why is it that apple and pork go sooooo well together? I love it, looks delish!

  15. I love pork with apples! One time this summer I found an apple flavored wine and had it with a meal of pork tenderloin. So yummy!

  16. Yay, I’m so glad that pork chops were good!! I’m really hungry right now, and those look delicious! πŸ™‚

  17. i HAVE had apples with pork before and loved it πŸ™‚ i have also made pork tenderloin marinated in a jerk sauce and then grilled pineapple with it! it was so good, but yours is definitely a winner πŸ˜‰

    and I love your feature idea πŸ™‚ i think people get what you want out of it πŸ˜€ i think its fab xo

  18. The apples really do sound like the best part to me πŸ™‚ Overall a nice-looking dinner too!

    I’m sure it was incredibly difficult to have that conversation with your grandfather but it sounds like you will treasure it.

    Thanks for coming over and commenting.

  19. pork chops and apples?! sounds delicious! looks like a lovely dish all together. i just came across your blog & love it πŸ™‚ i’m new to the blogging community & would love if you could maybe check out my blog! keep posting xo

    • Hi!! Thanks for stopping by…I hope you continue to read :). I’ll def check out your blog girlie! Welcome to this amazing community!

  1. Pingback: Recharging Your Batteries

Leave a Reply

