Recharging Your Batteries

Hi friends! I hope your weekend is going well :).

Today I wanted to talk about relaxing and recharging your batteries.

Source

I think relaxation and giving ourselves a chance to recharge are so, so important because when we become too stressed, or run down, or too caught up in the less important things we are doing ourselves a disservice. Not only can these things be bad for our body if they aren’t taken care of but they can prevent us from thinking clearly, seeing the beauty and greatness in the things around us, having good relationships, feeling successful in the areas of our life that matter, and above all – being happy.

Of course, you can’t prevent getting stressed out or run down or getting caught up in something. That’s a part of life. But we can find ways to take control (which in itself can help make us feel better) and in a sense “renew” ourselves so that we feel fresh, happy, and ready to face the world.

This week, I have been feeling stressed, caught up in the little and stupid things, and run down. It’s definitely not because of school because I’ve only had 1 full week of class and we haven’t done much haha. I don’t know the exact reason I’ve felt this way, but I do think it has something to do with being sad about my grandpa.

Me, my nana, and grandpa

That’s why yesterday I decided to recharge my batteries. I knew on Thursday when I was getting worked up about something stupid on my blog and when my body felt shaky and crappy during my workout that I needed to take action.

Here are some of the ways that I recharged yesterday:

1. I took an unplanned rest day. As I said my body felt shaky, weird, and crappy during my workout on Thursday and so I decided to give it a break. I already feel so much better this morning!

2. I took a nap. In college I was a huge napper but ever since I started grad school I’ve always had a hard time falling asleep in the afternoon. I decided to lay down and as soon as my head hit the pillow, I felt my eyelids getting heavy, and I took a nice little slumber (so nice I’m pretty sure I drooled a bit haha ;)).

3. I purchased and started reading a devotional. It’s called “Love Out Loud” by Joyce Meyer and it focuses on loving God, loving yourself, and loving others. I already love it.

Source

4. I watched a couple of chick flicks with my roommate. Bonding with a friend and watching cute movies is always fun for me. We rented “What’s Your Number” and both thought it was really cute! And when it was over we saw that “Pretty Women” was on tv…I love Julia Roberts :).

Source

5. I snuggled with Zoey. There is something so calming and soothing about petting her and hearing her purr. And she doesn’t always let me do a lot of snuggling but for some reason last night she did- perhaps she knew that I needed it.

6. I had leftovers for dinner. This may seem strange, but since I’m not that great of a cook, it can be stressful for me to try and decide what creative thing I should make for a meal. So last night I said “eff it” and heated up my leftover pork and apples and called it a night.

These are the ways I recharged and relaxed yesterday…and today I feel so much better. Some days, a super hard workout or going out for a night on the town are ways for me to recharge. Yesterday, I wanted a break, so I took one :).

 

Questions:

How do you know when you need to recharge?

What are your favorite ways to do so?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on January 28, 2012, in Books, Health, Life, Mind. Bookmark the permalink. 48 Comments.

  1. when every little (or big) thing bothers me and I get irritated in nanoseconds I know I need to unwind, set away, recharge…

    usually via yoga, bike ride or vegging watching movies, praying.

  2. I recharge/destress in a few different ways. Sometimes I need to blow off steam via a fast run other times I am better off just going to bed super early or watching a movie. It all depends on the nature of the stress/tiredness.

  3. I am big fan of the nap/siesta. I always wake up feeling a little better (and weirdly, always hungry?!)

    Sometimes you just have to chill, accept that you’re stressed and hope it gets better tomorrow. I definitely agree cuddling with pets is a big de-stresser 🙂

  4. So glad you too time to take care of yourself! I know I’m burnt out when I’m extra irritable and can’t sleep at night because I can’t settle down. I recharge by letting myself have a rest day, calling my mom, and unplugging from the computer! Or, if I can, I’ll take a vacation! Sometimes you really need it. Hang in there, friend!

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m sorry that you were feeling stressed 😦 But good decision taking a day to relax. I am SO guilty of not giving myself a break sometimes because I thrive on being productive and achieving goals/tasks. Thanks for reminding me that I’m not the only one, and that maybe taking a day to relax wont be so bad!

  6. A rest day and a good nap is perfect. I have such a hard time taking naps, but when I actually do I know I need it. Hope you feel better girl!

  7. Sorry you’re feeling stressed out! Hopefully your rest day helped start your weekend off on a great note!

  8. i’m sorry it’s been a stressful and overwhelming week, linds. i’ve actually been going through the same feelings… for different reasons, but i still can relate. life is hard sometimes, but i think the way you’re handling it is SO healthy! all wonderful ideas! i love julia roberts too by the way. 😉 pretty woman is one of my mom’s and my favorite chick flicks! i hope you’re able to relax and enjoy your weekend! xoxo

    • Thank you girlie! I hope that things get better for you too and if you ever want to talk, feel free to send me an email!!

  9. I recharge by taking rest days and naps also! Sleep is seriously the key! I need a solid 9 hours of sleep a night to feel 100%

  10. I can always tell when I need a break because my body literally starts to ache. When I am feeling stressed and need to recharge, I put on my coziest sweats, grab a pile of fashion, health, and gossip magazines and literally zone out for a couple hours. As mindless and unproductive as it is, sometimes it feels so nice to literally shut my brain off and genuinely relax!! I hope your weekend gets better girl!

  11. I’m a fan of bubble baths, they just calm me down and relaxes my mind and body.

    here’s to a continued relaxing weekend for you!

  12. I know I need to recharge when I’m feeling tired and irritable. I usually relax and go to sleep earlier!!

  13. I’m glad you’re enjoying that Joyce Meyer’s book! I listened to her book on CD called “Power Thoughts,” and really liked it.

    I’ve been feeling stressed this week, and last night I ended up falling asleep cuddled next to Brandon on the couch! I didn’t even wake up when he tried getting me to move to the bed … I ended up waking up on the couch at 2am and crawling to bed haha! 😉

    • Ooo I’ll have to check that out! Are you feeling stressed because of all the moving stuff?? If you need to chat, feel free to send me an email or text!! And that is so cute that you wouldn’t wake up, you must have been exhausted!

  14. Glad you’re feeling better, girl. I just need some time to myself when I need to recharge. That can mean gym, nap, shopping, reading… anything by myself. It’s important to recognize those signs and be in tune to your body, so I’m glad you were able to catch some R & R. 🙂

  15. Well a sure sign that I need to recharge, or at least get some good sleep is when I start crying about stupid things or get frustrated when I really shouldn’t be. Making sure I get enough sleep, enough food, exercise and enough time chillin on the couch watching Gilmore Girls (or 30 Rock or the Office or the food network) is key to making sure I don’t reach those breaking points.

    It’s good that you know when you’ve reached the end of your rope AND what makes you feel better! 🙂

  16. What wonderful ideas! I find myself needing to recharge, too — and I definitely agree that coming up with meals to prepare every night can be challenging! Hope you’re feeling better 🙂

  17. So agreed! I have to make sure I get in the same sort of things to feel balanced. Love Joyce Meyer and that sounds like a great study. Reminds me of an acronym I used to always refer to each day – JOY. Did I love Jesus, Others, and Yourself (myself)?

    have a great weekend!

    • That’s a great acronym! I will have to remember that :). Have a great weekend too Tina!

      • that devotional is great! I have read snippets of it. Ladies, have you listened to Joyce Meyer’s podcast? It’s great to put on while just doing stuff around the house. she is BLUNT and very real about faith. Linz, i think you’d like her. take to to recharge. Sometimes its our mental health that needs the most rest, yes?

  18. Napping is my #1 way to recharge my batteries! I always feel better after a good 1/2 hour snoozefest in the middle of the day! Doesn’t happen often, but love it when it does!

    Glad you are feeling better!

  19. Aw, I love grandpa’s. Yours is so cute! And your nana is HOT! I think I have made that exact comment when you posted this picture before, haha 🙂

    I am definitely having a recharge day today. I woke up early and hit the gym, and then crawled back into bed for a spectacular napular when I got home. I am currently watching trashy tv and catching up on blog reading and it is glorious. I love recharging!

  20. Those are great ways to recharge! I love the drool<—embrace it! It means you slept deeply (at least that's what I tell myself, and my husband,b/c he laughs about it. hah)

    I hope you have an amazing day!!

    p.s. I recharge by sleeping lots (aka 10 hours) and doing stretching. LOVE that

  21. My favorite way to recharge is to simply sit around on Saturdays, and do things like make a crock pot meal, clean and do laundry. Running around and getting things done is for Sundays, when I feel a little more recharged. Nice job taking it easy!

  22. Usually a “rest day” does it for me. It allows me more time to do something else, and helps me feel better the next time I workout. Thanks for the book suggestion. I’m looking for an inspirational and/or Christian read.

  23. great tips! I try to make sure I’m getting in those 8 hours of much-needed rest a night!

  24. we NEED to recharge girl and you have been through so much lately that i am sure glad you did 🙂 ❤ xoxoxo

    i tend to be in my kitchen a lot when i recharge 🙂 not going to the gym is a great way to recharge, so i agree with your unplanned rest day! i also like to clean my floors when i need a stress relief? hahahaha something soothes me about cleaning! and p.s. thanks for sharing the book with us 🙂 i love those types of books

  25. I recharged today by plopping on the couch and watching a movie 🙂

  26. I love these ideas for recharging, and applaud you for taking the time out to do so. I find gentle, restorative yoga really helps me recharge and re-center, a good dance party works wonders too. 😉

  27. great post! totally here ya on stress and needing some recharging. I am hoping to get a little this weekend, but today was busy and a little stressful. But did take a nice casual walk outside to get some fresh air!

    Love Joyce Meyer. We posted about a book we have hers to help us!

    xoxo

  28. For me it depends on WHY I need to recharge… sometimes I just soak in a hot bath or sometimes I may need a sweaty workout. Naps are good too! So is a cup of tea and a good book.

    Good that you know how to look after YOU.

  29. Naps are an awesome way to let go and recharge! I used to be a napper in University and now, on the odd occasion that I get the chance or feel the needs I’ll take a snooze! I always wake up feeling awesome and refreshed.

  30. I’m sorry you felt stressed, it definitely sounds like you needed a well-deserved rest day! I think it’s really important to take the time to relax and recharge every now and then otherwise you just end up crashing and burning. I sometimes don’t let myself relax and I know it’s not good for me. When I want to relax and I’m on my own I put some calming music on, light a scented candle and curl up with a book. If my boyfriend’s there then we often watch a film or cook together, he usually gives me messages when I’m tense which helps enormously 🙂

  31. I know I need to chill out when I get super irritable and hungry/snacky. To help relax I love curling up with a book or snuggling on the couch! Speaking of it, I may go do that right now 😛

  32. I’ve had an overwhelming start to 2012, with my Grandpa passing away two weeks ago, so I’ve been stressed, and trying to take it easy on myself. If I don’t feel like a tough workout, I’ll just go for a walk. I’ve been trying to sleep more, and read more too- something I haven’t done in a long time.

  33. I know I need a recharge when I start getting annoyed at the littlest things and I start trying to blame things on other people (sad, but true). When this happens, I know I have to just take some time to be alone and take some time off from everything. Going for a run always helps me, followed by a long shower and sitting around in comfy clothes 🙂

  1. Pingback: Quotes I’m Liking

Leave a Reply

