Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

Hi everyone!

I hope you had a fabulous weekend. Mine was nice and relaxing, which was just what I needed. So as the title sort of says, there are going to be some changes happening around here. Now these are not big changes by any means…no worries.

Source

The first one is more of an addition than a change. I’ve decided to go ahead with my blog feature! I was working on this idea for a while on Saturday and I’m really excited about it :). Let me explain it to you:

On Fridays, I am going to have a weekly feature that I have titled “Fitness Loves of the Week”. This feature will be done in the style of What I Ate Wednesday, except it’s for fitness (obviously hehe).

On Fridays I will post either a routine that I have created that week, a picture or video of a move that I have done, or even a post about a workout. You guys simply do something similar- provide a workout that you’ve created, describe a workout/move through pictures or a video (or even through words), or talk about a great workout that you’ve had.

Your workouts can be of any type- running, yoga, lifting, abs, CrossFit, HIIT, etc. I don’t want this to be one size fits all because I know that we are all different types of fit and that we all love different things! Then, you guys can grab a button I have created (see below) to use in your own Friday posts so that your readers are able to join in!

Also, if you’ve had a great workout/fitness post earlier in the week and you don’t want to make up a new one, you don’t have to! Simply grab the button from my site, paste it in your Friday post, then when you link up you can use the link from whatever post of yours you want!

In case that doesn’t make sense, let me give an example. Say Lindsay wants to link up her Tuesday Trainer workout. Obviously this isn’t a workout that she is posting on Friday. So, on her Friday blog post she will include the button to “Fitness Loves of the Week”, but when she links up on my site she will use the link from her Tuesday Trainer post! Easy peasy :D. 

Here is the button that I have created that you will all be able to “grab” and use in your posts:

After creating your post and getting the button, you can come back on over here to display your link and a picture on In Sweetness and In Health. Now whenever people visit my blog on those Fridays, they can come visit yours as well and get ideas for some awesome workouts or moves :D. Here is an image of how you will link your post:

And that’s it :D. We can create a fitness party in WIAW fashion! AND, the acronym that I want to use to promote this little feature of mine is FLOW (get it- fitness loves of the week- hehe). Anyway, we can start to use this hashtag: #FLOW around the twitter world.

I realize this will probably take a while to catch on, but I’m really excited about it! I think this will be an awesome way to build a greater sense of community amongst us fitness lovers, it can provide motivation and new ideas for those days when we don’t want to make our own stuff up, and it’s a way to help cross-promote all of our blogs!

Ok whew…enough about that. If you have any questions, or I wasn’t clear, please let me know!

——————–

The other “change” I want to discuss is this: I want my blog to be more than a “healthy living blog”…*GASP* ;). Sometimes I get frustrated because I can’t think of something health-related that I feel like talking about. I’m a multi-dimensional girl. I like other things too and sometimes I want to write about them…for instance, I kind of like celebrity gossip (don’t judge) and there are days when I would rather talk about Ryan Reynold’s abs than what I’m doing to work on my own.

I know that most of you are going to say “Do what you want Lindsay! Go for it!” And that’s exactly what I’m going to do. Honestly, there probably won’t really be any changes occurring on In Sweetness and In Health…I just don’t want to limit myself and so there may be some more posts that in the past I have considered random. Now, I just want to write them without feeling the need to explain myself and without feeling guilty for not talking about healthy things!

Source

You’re welcome ;).

 

Question:

Will you participate in FLOW??

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on January 29, 2012, in About Me, Blogging, Fitness. Bookmark the permalink. 52 Comments.

  1. I’ll participate! And I think you should talk about whatever you want…especially your wedding planning (if you want to)- I love reading that kind of stuff :).

  2. Remind me later in the week and I’m in!

  3. I’m totally in! I just figured out how to use my camera for video so I’m all about it now.

  4. It is DEFINITELY okay to talk about Ryan Reynold’s abs. Some positive changes! Good for you! I look forward to continuing to read 🙂

  5. Whoo hoo! You’re awesome girl! This is your blog, write what you want, and I will definitely be in full comment mode regarding celebrity gossip.. haha! I love it too!

    I am excited for FLOW, sounds like a great idea! I am just a little confused still about the linking part. Where would I find the Linky Tools button? Is it on your blog, or would it be somewhere on mine? I have never done the WIAW before, so this is all new to me! Thanks! 🙂

    • Haha yay!! Glad you like celeb gossip too…really, things prob won’t be changing that much but I just don’t want to limit myself you know? Anyway, the linky tools button will be on my Friday posts!

  6. Loveee the FLOW idea! Such a great name too. Um, any day we can chat about Ryan Reynolds abs. Count me in 😉

  7. I will definitely be participating in FlOW! what an awesome idea! I am no fitness expert, but even just sharing what work outs I’m loving lately and finding other fun work outs to do from other bloggers is such a cool way to switch up work out routines! And I will definitely keep reading your blog if half naked pictures of beautiful men are posted:) tee hee

    • Yay! I’m so glad that you will participate…and you don’t need to be a fitness expert, just someone who enjoys it! Haha and I’ll try to post some more pics of hot men ;)…but honestly, not much will probably change- I just don’t want to limit myself!

  8. please continue to post lots of pictures like the one above 🙂

  9. oh man, this is all so exciting!!! i love your FLOW idea – way to go linds! i’ll definitely plan on participating as much as i can. i’m all for fitness and community!

    as for writing about stuff other than healthy living topics… i’m all about hearing more about ryan reynold’s abs. 😉

  10. oh babe, I LOVE YOU SO MUCH ❤ you just make me happy and I really would love to meet you some day you know? ❤

    ok i am totally digging this friday fitness feature just so you know and i love how you said we CAN use a post from earlier in the week! you did a great job explaining that by the way 😉

    xoxo love u have a good monday morning if i dont chat with you over twitta before that xo

  11. WIAW became such a huge hit, hopefully this will too for you!

  12. Love your ideas Lindsay! I will look forward to participating in FLOW 🙂

  13. Lots of different things contribute to overall health…especially Ryan’s abs! Three cheers for diversity 🙂

  14. I definitely will participate – I think it’s a great idea!

  15. GIRL you KNOW Im excited 🙂

  16. Love the idea!! We are doing something similar over on our site too but with food! Each month has a legit food holiday so we want to celebrate that way. Check it out if you get a chance. We definitively will be back on Fridays to get a few weekend work out ideas!

  17. I absolutely will! What are great idea!

  18. If I remember and my days dont get away from me I”ll be partaking of FLOW 🙂

  19. HECK YES! What a great idea! I will def participate!

  20. Post things like that every day and I will never ever miss a single post. Not that I really do anyways since you’re one of my all time favorite blogs…but still. I’m ALL for posting more of that. 😉

    • Haha maybe I should think about finding lots of hot men pics and rotating through them ;). And seriously, thank you! I am honored to be one of your favorites because you are one of mine!!

  21. Hahaha, I’ll do anything to have abs kinda like Ryan’s….You INSPIRE us my friend, how wonderful is this?! WOOO HOOO!!

    xxoo

  22. Can’t wait for some more man candy posts:) and obviously your Friday link ups as well. Now we can have some good workouts after the Wednesday induced food coma from WIAW.

  23. GreAT idea!! FLOW sounds fab. If I can figure that stuff out, I will do it. Hah. Maybe my techy-savvy hubby can do it for me??! 🙂

    • Haha there shouldn’t be too much to figure out- just copy and paste the html code that I’ve created, and copy and paste your link on my post! 😀

  24. Awesome ch-ch-ch-changes! 😉 I say write about whatever you feel like on that day – think about what you like to read; I’m sure it’s more than JUST fitness/healthy living on other people’s sites, right? Sure looks like there’s support for you to go for that, no apologies needed. 🙂 And I’m in for the Friday series! Like Matt said above, perhaps a little reminder would help, but I’d love to contribute, especially as I get to know your blog from the FitFluential community!

    • You are so right- I definitely read more than just health and fitness stuff…thank you! I’m so glad that you want to participate :D. I’ve seen some of your stuff and it’s great! And I’ll make sure to do a reminder!

  25. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    Hey! I like your idea, plus it will give me a break on thinking about a blog topic for that day. Also, you should totally talk about your other interests too! That’s part of healthy living as well! 🙂

  26. Love the FLOW idea! Can’t wait to participate!

  27. Yes mam you know I shall be participating 🙂

  28. I will participate if you keep the man pics coming. 😉

  29. If I can figure it out I’m in!

  30. I agree with the person who said you should talk about wedding-related topics on the blog haha … I will be ALL about that! 🙂

  31. Adorable new feature! I am excited to see how it goes 🙂

  32. Yep, this looks great! Can’t wait to participate! (I rhyme..)

  33. I would love any day you want to talk about Ryan Reynolds abs!!! 🙂

    I secretly/ashamingly love celebrity gossip as well. It interests me! I know people always complain about it, that they’re just regular people! But their lives are more interesting and exciting then my regular life, so I like living vicariously through them! ha

    I am excited for this change!!! 🙂

  34. Sounds like fun, Lindsay! Great idea 🙂

  35. Looking forward to the changes! Hope you are having a great week so far!

  1. Pingback: Funny Pinterest Pics

  2. Pingback: FLOW Friday « Raisins&Apples

Leave a Reply

