A New (To Me) Organizational Tool

Hi everyone! Happy February!! I’m glad you all enjoyed the funny pictures I posted for you :).

So yesterday I saw an article on The SITS Girls website about using Evernote for blogging. I was so intrigued that I downloaded Evernote and started playing around with it. Um…all I have to say is: I’m obsessed! And I think it’s a fabulous organizational tool for more than just blogging.

Evernote Icon

Source

You all may be familiar with Evernote, but until yesterday I had never heard of it. It’s a free application that can be downloaded on your computer, phones, and tablets. If you have it on more than one of those devices, you can sync it so that all of your files are accessible on each.

So what is Evernote? It’s basically a super awesome organizer. Ok wow, great description huh?

Essentially what you can do is create notebooks and save everything from websites, pictures, pdfs, notes, to videos. For me, this is really helpful! I used to be obsessed with bookmarking things and then that got really overwhelming because there was so much stuff and I’d forget what half of it was even for. Also, I love using Pinterest to organize things (duh), but you can’t put everything on there- a site must have a photo or video. Evernote doesn’t require something to have a photo or video; in fact, it doesn’t even require something to be a website.

I like the idea of having one location for everything. This is perfect timing for wedding stuff! I can now create a “wedding” notebook for websites I’ve seen, pictures I like, to-do lists, notes I’ve taken, etc!

As you can see I’ve made a notebook for Blog Ideas so that when I come across something I can have a place to put all of my thoughts! I’ve also made a Social Media notebook for a couple of cool articles I’ve read about twitter and Pinterest!

I’ll still be using Pinterest because I absolutely love it, but this will be a really helpful way for me to organize my life in so many other areas!

———–

Heather and Meg were super kind yesterday and both tagged me with another 11 things post! I’m not going to fill it out again since I already completed it, but I am going to answer some of the questions they asked!

Heather’s questions:

How long should you be engaged before you get married?

I think it depends on where you are at in your life! Chris and I will be engaged for a little over a year and a half because we both need to finish school. If we had both been working, I’d say a year-long engagement would have been perfect. I know it’s possible to plan a wedding in less time, but I don’t want the process to be stressful!

Favorite summer Olympic sport to watch?

Women’s gymnastics! I love watching those girls! They are so powerful, strong, and still graceful. The things they do are amazing to watch :).

Source

What size bed do you sleep in?

I sleep in a full-sized bed. I think it’s the perfect size. When Chris and I get married we may have to get a queen….although I kind of like a full because it allows just enough space that it doesn’t feel crowded, but it’s small enough that we can cuddle. My friends (after having sleepovers) and Chris have told me that I like to snuggle in the middle of the night haha.

Meg’s Questions:

What is your favourite TV series?

Um, I kind of have a lot haha. My current favorites are Once Upon a Time, Castle, New Girl, Bones, and Vampire Diaries!

Is your CURRENT hair colour your REAL colour? If no, what is your real hair colour?

No, my hair currently has blonde highlights. My natural color is a gross kind of dirty blonde color that I don’t like at all haha.

How much time do you devote to blogging/blog reading per day?

Too much haha. I’d say a couple of hours. I’m also not a person that can whip out a post in a half hour so on days when I write one then I spend more time!

I hope you all have an awesome Wednesday!

Questions:

What do you use to help organize your life?

Are you a snuggler?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on February 1, 2012, in About Me, Blogging, Survey. Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. That evernote thing sounds amazing, I gotta download that pronto! 🙂

  2. i’ve had that on my phone forever. i gotta start using it!

  3. i’ve never heard of evernote before. i think pinterest is awesome for keeping most of my ideas together, but you’re right – it stinks that it needs a photo/video from a website to pin it. i’ll try evernote out!

  4. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    I am definitely going to download Evernote! Right now I just use my favorites tab and a notebook to organize my ideas, but lets just say it’s not that efficient.

    I would only consider myself a snuggler when I am awake. When I go to sleep I don’t really like to be touched. I move around a lot and often times it takes me a while to fall asleep. My boyfriend use to think it was him, but I told him it’s just the way I am! Haha!

  5. Umm you had me at organization .. definitely going to have to check it out!

  6. Thanks for the Evernote information! I use Windows Live Writer to do blog posts, but it looks like this download can do a lot more than just that. Gonna check it out! Yes! I love to cuddle. My husband jokes and calls me a spider monkey because I literally climb on him when I sleep. I am a naturally cold person, so I think I am just looking for warmth! Lol

  7. I think we are TV twins–you named almost all of my favorite shows! I’m going to recommend you watch Parenthood. SO good!

    I downloaded Evernote a couple of weeks ago, but I haven’t used it yet. Need to get on that! 🙂

  8. I had no idea Evernote could do all that! I use it on my phone to record thoughts and ideas for blogs while I am out and about. I didn’t even know I could use it on my computer! I am so excited! 🙂

  9. I use SpringPad (http://losingweightinthecity.com/2011/09/getting-organized-and-the-app-that-will-change-my-life-and-make-me-use-my-ipad/)–similar, but I think I started using it because you can integrate it with your calendar…which I’ve never done.

  10. Haha, I don’t like my “gross” dirty blonde color either. 🙂

  11. i’ve never heard of evernote, but it sounds like an awesome program! i’m all about being organized… i’m a little obsessed sometimes. 😉

    my husband and i actually have a king size bed which is HUGE! haha. we got it for free, so we just took it. i like it because we don’t feel crowded at night, as we both like our personal space when we start to sleep, but then again, it doesn’t really force us to snuggle either. we usually start out snuggling, and then roll over when it’s time to sleep. it has its pros and cons i suppose! i definitely couldn’t do a full with my husband because his body temp gets SO hot when he sleeps.

    • Um yea, I would totally take a free bed too :). Chris is the same way! He gets really hot, but I tend to get cold so I guess it works haha. What is it with boys and them being a furnace at night?!

  12. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Wow, thank you for posting this! Believe it or not I downloaded Evernote a few months ago, couldn’t figure out how to use it, then deleted it haha. You’ve inspired me to give it another shot– I had no idea that it syncs!

  13. I love to snuggle but when I sleep I really like having my own space! Sometimes I’ve found sharing queen beds with people is even a challenge haha maybe because I like to sprawl out lol..I also LOVE watching gymnastics!

  14. I’ve never even HEARD of Evernote—so thank you!!

    I’m the opposite sleeper-I turn on my side and do not snuggle. Poor husband. Hah

    For organization I use google notes (in gmail) and google calendar–LOVE that b/c it synchs with tablets/phones/itouches. LOVE

  15. I appreciate you talking about this Lindsay! I need some assistance in this area, and this could potentially be the tool I Need! Off to poke and play around with it now 🙂

  16. I have heard of this evernote! I really want to try it out! I think it’d be perfect for organizing school stuff as well!!!

    I love girls gymnastics as well! They are so strong and powerful it’s amazing to watch!

  17. I love love love Evernote. I think it is the best tool out there to organize your life.

    My hubs and I like to snuggle for like 5 min and then we just sort of spread out on our king size and snooze. Its a nice combination!!

  18. I LOVE BEING ORGANIZED. I might just have to download this!

  19. I am a huge snuggler! Haha 🙂

  20. oh my goodness. i love you. you knew that right??????? thanks for answering some of my q’s 🙂 LOVED IT. but guess what! i am totally like you with the whole organizing thing…….. i am TOTALLY downloading evernote RIGHT now 🙂 you are the best

  21. never heard of evernote, thanks for sharing about it. I go crazy with bookmarks too

Leave a Reply

