Healthy Chicken and Quinoa Casserole

Happy Saturday everyone!!!

First of all I want to thank you SO MUCH to everyone that participated in the first Fitness Loves of the Week! There were 12 link-ups to some awesome workouts (I suggest you go check them all out) and I am so excited that you all seemed to enjoy it :).

Just a few reminders:

1. Make sure to grab the FLOW button and put it in your Friday posts! This way your readers know to come check out the link up party and can see all of the other things people have posted! I will put the embed code in all of my FLOW posts from now on. Also, you can find it on the FLOW page!

2. Even if you are linking up a workout from a previous post, still put the FLOW button in your Friday post! Otherwise, your readers won’t know to check it out!

And seriously, THANK YOU again! I love you all <3.

————

The other night I made a super delicious chicken and quinoa casserole! And I topped with a vegan cheese sauce. Kinda funny because there is chicken in it, so it’s no where near being a vegan dish, but whatever- I figured I would use the vegan cheese sauce to make it a bit healthier :).

Chicken and Quinoa Casserole

Makes 9 servings

Ingredients

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 1lb bag frozen broccoli florets
  • 1/2 1lb bag frozen green peas
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 1/2 servings of Low Fat Vegan Cheeze Sauce from Oh She Glows (I suggest making 2 servings – which would yield 2 cups – because it could definitely be cheezier!)

Directions

  • Place chicken breasts in a pot and cover with water. Bring to a boil and immediately reduce to barely a simmer. Partly cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Turn off heat completely and let chicken sit in hot water (still partly covered) for 15-20 minutes. Shred chicken.
  • Cook quinoa in water according to package.
  • Make Cheeze Sauce according to directions. If you are going to make 2 servings- double everything.
  • Steam broccoli and green peas.
  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  • Combine chicken, quinoa, cheeze sauce, broccoli, and peas in a large bowl. Mix well.
  • Pour mixture into an 8×8 glass baking dish. Mash down so that it fits.
  • Bake at 325 for 25-30 minutes or until the top is a golden brown color.
  • Split into 9 servings.
  • Enjoy!

Pin It

Sooooo tasty. And I am super excited that there are so many leftovers. YAY!

I hope you all have a great weekend :D.

 

Question:

Do you ever like to mix vegan foods with non-vegan foods?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on February 4, 2012, in Dinner, FLOW, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. that looks delish!

    I’m going to pin & share 🙂

  2. I mix vegan with non/vegan all the time. My fav way? A Whole Foods vegan cookie with a non-fat latte! ha kind of defeats the purpose I guess, but vegan cookies seem so much doughier than regular. Love them! Your casserole looks really good! I bought quinoa last week and have never had it before, I am excited to try it!

  3. oh shoot, i totally forgot to put the FLOW button on my post yesterday! i’ll try to remember that next week… 😉

    this casserole looks so tasty! i love oh she glows vegan cheeze sauce! it’s really good on steamed or roasted veggies. i’m far from vegan, but i don’t mind using vegan recipes from time to time.

  4. I honestly think I’m going to make this very soon. I’ve made quinoa twice (ever!!) and I’m loving it. I want more ways to create a nice dish with it. This one seems right up my alley. Thanks for posting!

  5. Gosh I can’t remember the last time I had a chicken casserole…this looks awesome!

    I love cheese, so I have a tendency to put cheese on anything that’s originally vegan.

  6. This looks delicious! I’ve never cooked with (or even tasted) quinoa … but I really think I’m going to need to try to make this!!! 🙂

  7. I’m totally a mixer. I love lot of vegetarian things, but i throw in meat sometimes for my husband. haha.

  8. Yummm! What a great recipe. I’ve definitely mixed vegan with non vegan. Oh well 🙂

  9. Goodness gracious this sounds delicious!! Thanks for sharing!

  10. Is it bad that my first thought was “that would taste so good with cheese” LOL. I’ll have to try it both ways .

  11. Yum!! I love that you’re posting more recipe ideas lately … this one looks delicious!

  12. This looks great. I’m always looking for things to do with quinoa. My diet is basically vegan dishes with meat added. It’s kind of funny, but it’s just what I’ve grown to like.

  13. Great recipe! I am certainly saving this for another time.. a healthy recipe, but obviously tasty and chalk full of tasty ingredients 🙂

  14. Ahh! This sounds so good. I am obsessed with anything that resembles a chicken, broccoli, and rice casserole! 🙂

  15. I mix vegan and non vegan food all the time. Sometimes I top my eggs with cheese and nutritional yeast. I also love stir fries with meat and tofu. I was swamped this week but I can’t wait to participate in FLOW next week.

  16. Ahh this should be called “Come to me Casserole” I love it!!!!! I want it now…for lunch…in my tummy..swoon

    xxoo

  17. That looks VERY tasty! Yumm. I love chicken, so yes, I mix vegan and non-vegan stuff all.the.time. Hah 🙂

  18. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m so glad to see that you had such a fantastic turnout. And it only gets better from here 😉

  19. mmm that looks delicious!!!! 😀

  20. wow sweetheart! that looks phenomenal! i will be making this soon ❤

  21. Wow this looks so tasty! I’ve been needing new dinner ideas! 🙂

    I always love a good quinoa recipe! Thanks for sharing!

  22. I’ve been looking for easy casserole recipes lately, I’ve never thought about using quinoa in my casserole before, great idea!

Leave a Reply

