Quotes I’m Liking

Hi everyone!

Remember when I posted about recharging your batteries? Well in it I mentioned that I had purchased and started reading a daily devotional. This devotional is called “Love out Loud” by Joyce Meyer and I’m loving it! It has 365 devotions- one for each day of the year. I really like that each day is just a one page long message. It’s short and to the point, but the messages are always really profound.

Source

I’m not going to write a post on faith. I believe in certain things and I absolutely respect that everyone has their own beliefs and opinions! I do however want to mention some quotes from the book that I think could resonate with any person, no matter what their beliefs are!

Yes I’ve been highlighting :D.

Here are some quotes from the book that I’ve really liked:

We must understand that no one else can develop our potential in us. We must each discover our own God-given gifts and talents, and then put ourselves to the task of developing those gifts and abilities to their fullest extent. – Joyce Meyer

I think this is so incredibly true. It’s important to find the things we are good at and things that we are passionate about. I believe that by doing these things we will be able to live lives in which we are truly happy and feel fulfilled! I’m still trying to figure out some of the things that I am good at and passionate about, but at least I’m trying, eh? :)Most of us spend more time in life trying to avoid rejection than we do trying to develop good, healthy relationships…

When we give our smiles or a happy hello, we can make someone else smile, and that is one of the best gifts we can give. – Joyce Meyer

One of the things I’ve noticed since I moved to the Boston area is that people don’t smile at and say hello to one another when passing on the sidewalk. This was really shocking to me! Back at home that’s just the common thing to do and it really is amazing how a simple smile from someone else (even a stranger) can instantly brighten your day.

Source

No matter what shape you are in physically, it’s never too late to improve and do some repair or maintenance on your temple. You start by learning the basic principles of good nutrition, drink lots of water, employ stress management, exercise, and rest. Laughter is also important. It has been scientifically proven to improve your health.

Our bodies are the only ones we’ll ever have. It’s not only important, but absolutely necessary to take care of them! And I do believe that laughter is one of the best things for us and for our health. Just think about the last time you really laughed- didn’t you feel amazing overall during that moment? And hey, if you’re like me, your abs were probably burning too ;).

When you are with people who make mistakes, immediately try to remind them of their strengths or of something amazing you have seen them do recently. We should not take anything that people do well for granted. – Joyce Meyer

This is something that I want to try really hard to start doing! I know how down on myself I can get when I make a mistake and I don’t like feeling that way. I can imagine how other people would feel as well, and why not turn one of my own strengths into helping others be reminded of their own?

Too many ordinary days, especially if stress is ‘ordinary’ for you, can lead to fatigue, lack of joy, resentment, or even bitterness. The way to avoid these things is to take time to celebrate and do things you enjoy – for no particular reason. Do them to celebrate life and to keep yourself in a good frame of mind. – Joyce Meyer

I can’t begin to tell you how much more I need to do this….every.single.day! I know that I can be a worry wort and get too caught up in things but, I want to live a happy life so why shouldn’t I celebrate more? A celebration doesn’t have to be large; it can be really small and simple. I’m truly realizing how essential it is to enjoy everyday life!

Source

I hope you all have a great Tuesday!

Make sure to check out Tuesday Trainer over at Lindsay’s List today!

lindsayslist.co-tuesday_trainer

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on February 7, 2012, in About Me, Bloggers, Books, Boston, Health, Mind, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. 45 Comments.

  1. LOVE this and I think I will buy the book now πŸ™‚ I seriously LOVE these books so much. And like you said, if it’s just one page, it’s easier to say that “I am going to sit down and read”. I am so busy with classes, that it seems so hard to get away from the school books, but if I have just one page to read that’s an easier task πŸ™‚ Thanks Lindsay ❀ beautiful quotes! beautiful post

  2. I am so bad at doing devotionals – but I feel like if I had one that was short and to the point, I could totally make it happen! Thanks for the push!

  3. These are so awesome! During the semester, I tend to just focus on school work and forget to let loose every now and then. Thanks for the inspiration to party! πŸ™‚ Hope you have a wonderful Tuesday too friend!!

  4. I love Joyce Meyer…I think I’m going to order this book from Amazon today! I need to remind myself to have fun more often too…it’s easy for me to get caught up in the stress in my life!

  5. I love inspirational and directional quotes, and Joyce Meyer is one of the best! There were quite a few of those quotes that resonated with me this morning, Especially the last one about stress. I hope to take some time out of my day to laugh and relax. My mom always tells me to do the next thing and not worry about what’s to come, I should only focus on the day and present moment. πŸ™‚

  6. I love that last one about celebrating just because. So so true! I need to get myself into that habit.

    I also agree with you about laughter. Since I got Roo, I am laughing every day, and I never realized how lacking laughter was in my life. It feels so good to smile and laugh every single day! I love it! πŸ™‚

  7. I adore Joyce Meyer

    I’m going to get this book now πŸ™‚

  8. I am in need of a new devotional – I think you just helped me decide which one! Excellent quotes πŸ™‚

  9. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    You’re making me fall in love with this devotional! I especially love the first quote in regards to finding our talents. This is SO important to recognize, because not everybody has the same potential or gifts in life.

    Oh, and don’t worry, I’m still in the process of discovering mine too πŸ˜‰

    P.S. I linked this up in my morning post! ❀

  10. I absolutely loved this blog entry! I rarely “like” or “share” blogs, but this one I did. Thank you for the inspiration! I am going to amazon ASAP to find the LOVE OUT LOUD book =)

  11. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    “One of the things I’ve noticed since I moved to the Boston area is that people don’t smile at and say hello to one another when passing on the sidewalk.”

    Ahaha! I find this so funny because its it definitely true! Since I have lived in the Boston area for my whole life, I guess I just never noticed that people are sort of “snobby”. This was particularly brought to my attention when I went to Cleveland in October. Literally everyone would go out of their way to smile and say hello! I think it is because Boston is a very fast paced city, and the people are sometimes so caught up in what they have to do and where they have to go, that smiling and things of that nature get pushed to the side. Unfortunately, I’m not sure that this will ever change, but I do think that their is a slight improvement! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  12. I really love this post! Thanks for sharing it, it is always great to take time and read inspiring devotionals such as these to help us throughout the craziness of life sometimes. ❀

  13. I live in the “Westside” of Los Angeles – beautiful area but the Biggest. Snobs. Ever. (Beverly Hills + Santa Monica … big surprise?)

    Fortunately, I live in a cute little pocket by the beach where it is customary to shout “Good Mornings” with a smile to each passing neighbor. (Except outsiders … My neighbors scowl at strangers, sometimes even set their dogs on them.) Anyway, your post today reminded me that my toothy grins and frantic hello-waving should extend outside of my cozy little pocket. I will start today!

    Thanks for the great post. πŸ™‚

  14. Such a great, great post, thank you for sharing! I find the last one particularly resonates with me. I get caught up in the hectic rhythm of life so frequently that I forget to take time and appreciate the things that truly matter to me and bring joy into my life. Definitely writing down the quote into my planner for this week πŸ™‚

  15. love Joyce Meyer! Great post πŸ™‚

  16. What a great post – I love the thought of celebrating more and also on focusing on strengths vs. on weaknesses. That’s something we try to do at barre n9ne – praise our individual strengths vs. tearing ourselves down. In the end, we have just one life to live, THIS life, so why not make the most of it, and celebrate that fact as often as possible?

    If you love Joyce Meyer, you’d really dig Joel Osteen — I actually like his messages even more than Joyce’s, I think it’s his delivery, he is just brimming with joy, it’s written all over his face and in how he speaks. It’s really incredible to see. I actually DVR his Sunday night 30 min show so I can watch it whenever I need a mood boost. His books are great too. πŸ™‚

  17. LOVE this post Linds! so positive and uplifting! thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚ and that last little video of everyone dancing… LOL! too funny! i loved that. have a great day pretty lady!

  18. AWesome-so beautiful! I love smiling–it does make a day (and someone else’s) SO much better!! πŸ™‚ thank you!

  19. These are amazing quotes! It’s funny how a sentence or two can really make you think so differently at your life, and give you so much inspiration. Thanks for sharing these!

    That book sounds amazing, I will have to see if I can find that on my kindle! πŸ™‚

  20. These are so great. Each one was more uplifting than the next. I gave my sister a book like this for xmas this year and was so tempted to keep it for myself. You’ve made me want to go get one of my own. An uplifting, positive reminder each day is always a good thing!

  21. Glad to hear that you are enjoying that book!! πŸ™‚ Hope you’ve been having a good week, my friend.

  22. Some truly great quotes, I enjoyed each and everyone. Thanks for sharing!

  23. I loved this post! I’ve actually been looking for a devotional book, and I really want to look into this one now! The last two were my favorites- and both things I want to work on.

  24. Thanks for sharing those quotes! The one about a smile is something I’ve thought about a lot lately. Hope you are having a good week!

  25. Your Jim Carrey video made my morning. I used to be so good at finding random funny things to laugh at, but like you, I get caught up in being a worrywart and make things way more intensely than they need to be taken. Time to stop taking life so seriously!

  26. Ahhhahaha! I’m so sure you included an Ace Ventura gif! So funny.

    I love that first quote so much, that really resonated with me!

  27. You have me really wanting to read this book even more now!

  28. Thanks for posting about this! I love Joyce Meyer:)

  29. I love Joyce Meyers!!!

  30. My mom used to listen to Joyce Myers all of the time! I listened to a few as well, and yes, very enjoyable and moving! Thank you for the reminder Lindsay πŸ˜€

  31. My grandmother lives by Joyce Meyer! When my gpa was in the hospital this summer we would watch her every day on TBN without fail. She is an inspirational women stating God’s word just the way that we need to hear it.

    Whenever I start to worry or stress I hear this in my head-

    “Cast all of your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you” 1Peter 5:7

  32. Love the quotes and your thoughful follow ups. I need that reminder about “ordinary” days too. It’s about enjoying each moment, right? Why do I feel like dancing right now (and wearing a tutu)? πŸ™‚

  33. You’ve definitely got me intrigued about this book now! I’ve hear fantastic things about Joyce Meyer; I know quite a few people who have done studies by her. I’ll have to see if this is available on my iPad!

  1. Pingback: Long Distance Puppy Love

Leave a Reply

