Skin Update

Hi everyone! I hope your weekends were good :D.

On Friday I had my dermatology appointment. The doctor agreed that I needed a bit more treatment for my back and chest acne than over the counter products can offer. She prescribed two different topical creams for me- one to put on in the morning and one at night. I love that I can feel the sort of tingling when I apply them. That makes me feel like they’re working haha. Hopefully it won’t take too long to start seeing some results!

Just for anyone who is curious, the products are clindamycin phosphate and tetrinoin cream. Apparently the clindamycin phosphate is supposed to help with the big guys that have already popped out and the tetrinoin is supposed to help clear the blackheads and keep the skin from breaking out.

I also told the dermatologist that my grandmother was recently diagnosed with melanoma so she looked over all of my moles (which there are a lot) and decided she didn’t like the looks of one of them. On the back of my right thigh, just above the crease that separates my calf and thigh, I have a mole that has always been black. None of the other moles on my body are that color so it’s always stuck out to me. However, I haven’t noticed it change shape or color.

The doctor looked at it and said that while black moles can be normal, she didn’t like seeing it on me because of the stark contrast with my fair skin. She decided to remove the mole and have it biopsied. I’ll the get the results in 1-2 weeks and I’m really hoping that it comes back ok! I’ll keep you guys posted.

One annoying thing about this mole removal though- it was big enough that it required a suture to close the wound. This means that I’m not allowed to do any exercise with my lower body until the stitch can be removed…which is in about 2 weeks :(.

Don't you just love the band-aid imprint?

Let me just tell you, this little guy has been painful! They numbed my leg to remove the mole and put in the stitch, but later on Friday evening it was definitely hurting. I tried to take it easy yesterday, but had to attend a CPR certification course. You don’t even use your legs when giving CPR, but after practicing my leg was feeling really achy! It’s amazing how many aches and pains such a small wound can cause. I’m also having a hard time crossing my legs and sitting back completely in a chair because anything that puts pressure on that spot produces pain.

I asked the dermatologist if I could at least walk and she said yes.I just can’t do anything that involves overworking my legs- so no running, lifting, ellitpicizing, biking, etc. It’s really frustrating because I won’t be able to do basically any of the workouts that I like to do until after Friday, March 9th. Grrr….oh well, I guess my upper body is going to get really toned ;).

I do understand what she means by me taking it easy though. I tried to walk on the treadmill yesterday and couldn’t go at what I consider a normal pace of 4.0mph. That spot on my leg started hurting so I had to slow down much more than I would have liked. Like I said, it’s amazing how such a small area can have a big impact! As much as I’m bummed about the lack of working out that will be occurring, I’m glad that the mole is being tested. I would much rather be safe than sorry.

So, if you all have any upper body and core workouts that you really enjoy, send them my way!

I hope you have a fantastic Monday!

 

Questions:

Have you ever had a mole removed? Was it painful?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on February 27, 2012, in About Me, Health, Life. Bookmark the permalink. 46 Comments.

  1. I have had two moles removed right in the middle of my back! They both came out okay, but I now have a pirate scar in between my shoulder blades. It definitely hurt to sleep on it! Crossing my fingers that your biopsy comes back okay!

  2. i’m sure it’s frustrating to have to ease up on workouts, but i’m glad you’re being safe! fingers crossed for you!

  3. I had one on my back removed … and it was the summer before my wedding, so I had a nice long scar showing when wearing my wedding dress. But fortunately, my hair covered it, so it wasn’t a big deal. And I’m just glad that I caught it before it got worse! Doesn’t it feel better to know that you’ve been checked out and (for now) you have healthy skin?? I’m planning on doing yearly skin checks to keep myself healthy! πŸ™‚

    • Yes it feels good to have it checked out!! That’s great that your hair covered the scar at your wedding…that’s definitely a time when you don’t want to feel self conscious about something!

  4. Hope your biopsy comes back okay! I’ve never had a mole removed, but I’ve witnessed my mom get some done, it kinda creeps me out haha πŸ˜‰

    Have a great Monday!

  5. i seriously applaud you for being so proactive about your skin – not only it’s current appearance but long-term health too. i’m so sorry that you had to have that procedure done and that it’s putting a damper on your workouts. hope you feel better and get back to it soon!

    have a great week!

  6. This is wonderful that you are really paying attention to the skin situation! YOu could choose to ignore it all, but then worst case scenario, what if you pretend something is not dangerous but actually might be?! How scary. I am of course hoping the biopsy come back a-okay!

    I had a mole removed on my lower back and holy hell it hurt! It was actually getting the shot of Novocain that hurt the most… literally one of the more painful moments of my life!

  7. I had a rather large mole removed from the left side of my chest about three years

    Ago. I had the mole since I was a baby, but it started to change in color and form so I made an appointment and the dermatologist wanted it removed. Now I have a nice size scar to remind me to keep an eye on my moles! πŸ™‚

  8. Hope your biopsy comes back ok! Make sure you’re using bacitracin ointment in your wound a few times a day so you wont scar. I work for a plastic surgeon so we’ve seen a lot of scarring on dermatology patients because of poor wound care.

  9. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    Ouch! I’ve never had a mole that big removed, but did have a small one removed before. Better safe than sorry! I hope the new creams work better for you πŸ™‚

  10. Oh no, sorry about the mole and the pain. It’s a good thing you get it checked out though. Good luck with the skin creams!

  11. Oh dear, I will be saying prayers that your biopsy comes back CLEAN! I don’t have any moles, just freckles, so I guess I’m lucky? I watch them pretty carefully, though.

    Good luck with the not working out–it’s been driving me nuts! Maybe you can do yoga???

    • Thanks girl! Yea, I think freckles are better…but who I am I kidding, I don’t really know anything in that area haha. I would do yoga, but I don’t want to stretch that area of my leg and cause the stitch to rip!

  12. Good for you for going to the derm, Lindsay! I have an appointment soon here, too. I hope it comes back A-OK πŸ™‚

  13. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Good call getting it removed! I think I had something removed when I was veryyy young, but just reading your post reminded me to call my derm and make a new appointment. I have a couple moles on my back that could be a little iffy, so it’s better to be safe than sorry

  14. Fingers crossed it all turns out okay for ya!! And good luck–heal up and you’ll be back at it and stronger than ever (usually this happens because your body gets its rest and then when you’re back at it, it can handle greater loads quicker. VERY cool. Rest works!)

    Cheers to healthy skin!!

  15. i’m glad you were able to have a successful dermatoligist appointment! ehh moles are no fun to get removed! i had one on my back removed in high school. it was in the middle of volleyball season, and i had to sit out of practices and games for two weeks! it was no fun at all. at least it’s better to get it removed and be safe than to not and be sorry! πŸ˜‰

  16. Oh no. It is good you got it removed but hopefully it feels better soon. Maybe you could do the arm bike for some cardio? I’ve never done it but I always see people with broken legs doing it πŸ™‚ I have tretinion and I can’t live without it. It’s going to make your skin red and peel off for a while but it adjusts. I had to keep lowering my % because it was too strong. But mine is for my face so I suppose that skin is more sensitive. Anyhow, good luck!

  17. I hope it comes back as nothing. Medical stuff can be so scary and cramp your style. No in all seriousness I’m glad you’re getting it checked out. Better to be out for 2 weeks than have it be way worse down the road

  18. Oh boo! All upper body then? I’m glad you are so proactive with your skin care! VERY SMART! Hoping the biopsy comes back with good news. Hugs!

  19. I’ve used clindamycin before with great results so hopefully you will too πŸ™‚

    I am so proud of you for being so proactive with your skin care … so many people aren’t! Being from Arizona I take sun protection so seriously and I get my skin checked yearly even though I don’t have moles. Skin cancer is no joke and I wish your grandma a speedy recovery!

  20. It’s for different reasons, but I can’t do any lower body cardio either!! I guess we’re just gonna have to get our upper bodies JACKED. Goodluck with the results on the mole though! I’m sure everything will be fine πŸ™‚

  21. I hope you heal up quickly, I can imagine it would be so difficult to find workouts that don’t use your legs much! Then again it’s sometimes nice to be forced to take a rest week πŸ˜€ I hope your biopsy comes back normal!

    I’ve never had a mole removed but I go to the derm every 6 months because I’m having a few watched and if they change at all, I have to get them biopsied! Hate myself for all the time I spent in the tanning bed in high school!

  22. I actually just scheduled my first ever dermatologist appointment for next month! After reading so many scary stories about skin cancer, I figured it was time for me to start getting checked.

    Way to be proactive about it! Hoping your results come back a-okay πŸ™‚

  23. Yowch. That does look painful. I hope you are all good and in the clear!

    It is funny, I have never had acne probs, until I started regularly working out. I have a derm appointment coming up as well (for the mole check), so I’m going to ask them about it… My new little friends are quite annoying, and I’m wondering why my over the counter stuff isn’t cutting it lately. Let me know how that stuff works!

  24. Good to hear that the dermatologist appointment went more/less well, I’m sure the creams will be working soon!

    I had a mole removed a couple of years ago from my back. The process wasn’t exactly painful, but I am terrified of needles. The first thing I did upon leaving the examination room? I fainted in the middle of the office. Yeah, not exactly a fun experience.

    Better safe than sorry though, in a few weeks you won’t even remember the pain or the need to abstain from activity. πŸ™‚

  25. I’m heading to the surgeon on Thursday to have a mole looked at … my dermatologist said it’s too deep for him to do himself and it’s on my hand … I think I’m going to be looking at at least two weeks recover time if not more … so I might take your lead and do a cleanse for that time too … GOOD IDEA!

  26. Hope everything comes back okay!! I used to be on clindamycin for my face but it dried out my skin terribly so I stopped using it.

  1. Pingback: Cleanse

  2. Pingback: FLOW #5

  3. Pingback: Blogiversary Giveaway

Leave a Reply

