Cleanse

Hi everyone! I was amazed by how many of you have had moles removed as well.

I’m not sure how many of you remember this, but way back toward the beginning of my blog I mentioned that Chris is a distributor for Advocare. AdvoCare is a health and wellness company that offers some awesome products for weight loss, energy, nutrition, and sports performance.

Well, I’ve finally decided (Chris has been asking me to do this for a while haha) to take part in Advocare’s 10 day cleanse. Now before you get all freaked out on me, know these things:

  • I am not doing this to lose weight in some unhealthy way. I am not doing this to lose weight period!
  • This is not something crazy like a juice cleanse.
  • This is safe.

Okay, now that we’ve covered that, let me explain a bit more. I decided to do this cleanse because it does sound really good for the body, I want to see how it makes me feel overall, and I want to see if it has any impact on some of the digestive issues I caused myself with my disordered eating.

The basic idea behind the cleanse is to remove toxins and waste from the body, support improved digestion, and act as an anti-inflammatory. There are several products that I am consuming during this 10 day period and they are the Advocare Herbal Cleanse (fiber drink, herbal cleanse tablet, and probiotic supplement – not all of these are taken each day) and Advocare Spark (a good for you energy drink).

The basic and simple rules are this:

  • No fried foods, refined sugars, corn or white starches, or bread
  • No wheat products
  • No dairy products
  • No alcohol
  • No coffee

So essentially what it means is that I am eating a very, very clean diet for these next 10 days! My meals and snacks just have to consist of fruits, vegetables, lean protein (minus processed lunch meat), and “clean” carbs such as rice, quinoa, hummus, etc. I’m really glad that I’m going to be eating really clean these next 10 days because since I won’t be working out nearly as much as I normally do, this can give me a way to stay on track with making healthy choices!

Yesterday was my first day doing this and it honestly wasn’t too bad! I did realize though how much bread and wheat products I consume on a daily basis. Also, snack time was a bit challenging because I tend to eat things like granola bars and greek yogurt. So I decided to tackle of one Katie’s fudge baby recipes!

I made her Peanut Butter Babies which were so incredibly easy to do and they were really tasty!

The great thing about this recipe is that there are only 4 ingredients!

I followed Katie’s recipe exactly. When I was done blending everything together in the food processor, I rolled them into balls and then put them in the refrigerator! I think they taste fabulous cold :). I ended up with six balls of goodness.

I am loving my new little snack that is healthy, meets the requirements for the cleanse, and that satisfies my sweet tooth!

I hope you all have a great day!

Make sure to stop by Lindsay’s List to check out Tuesday Trainer!

lindsayslist.co-tuesday_trainer

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on February 28, 2012, in Bloggers, Chris, Health, Life, Recipe, Snack. Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. I might have to make myself some babies today…my sweet tooth is out of control and my wallet is empty!

    good luck with being super clean πŸ™‚

  2. I love making those nut balls! such a great snack!

  3. I’ve done that cleanse about 3 times. I like it because I can keep my normal diet and it just makes me feel lean and mean! Good luck!

  4. There are so many variations of this recipe, and I never make them the same way twice.

  5. I have heard SO much about spark and advocare. I have really wanted to try it! Maybe if you absolutely love it, I will buy some πŸ˜€

  6. good luck with the cleanse! can’t wait to read about it

  7. Definitely interested to see how this goes!! I’m a sucker for these types of cleanses!

  8. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    I’ve always wanted to try a cleanse like this before but have always been kind of skeptic towards it. Giving up dairy and coffee would be the hardest for me to do! Can’t wait to hear about your results! Good luck πŸ™‚

  9. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Perfect timing for a cleanse!

    I’ve never actually done one myself, but I’m curious to see how it goes for you! And I’m glad that this isn’t one of those “eat only grass and water” cleanses either πŸ˜‰

  10. Interested to hear your thoughts and feelings on the cleanse girl! I hope it is a positive experience for you! πŸ™‚

  11. This sounds like a good cleanse–not too extreme! I think clean eating is always a good idea! I have to try those babies. I always see them on Katie’s blog and then forget! But I think I have all of those ingredients and I do need snack ideas. πŸ˜€

  12. Im actually intrigued by this and I think these types of cleanses are good! My trainer even suggests some of them that help flush toxins. He obviously is not for ones that are all liquid or limit you to eating like 2 things! Ive never done one but i feel like I could benefit from one similar to this, cant wiat to hear how it goes!

  13. oh good for you to do the cleanse! i’ve never done one before, so i’m curious how it goes for you. keep us updated. πŸ˜‰ as long as they’re healthy (which your’s seems to be!), i have no issues with them. i think it’s probably a good thing to do for our digestive systems every once in awhile.

  14. Ahhhh nut balls! Must make asap. I think this weekend (the hus will be gone) I will be in the kitchen…..lots. Oh and reading. Hah πŸ˜‰

  15. These look delicious! I love anything with peanut butter! I’ll have to give these a shot!

    Can’t wait to hear how the cleanse goes! πŸ™‚ I have always thought of doing something like this, just to clean out my system not so much to lose weight!

  16. I am excited to see how the cleanse goes. I am always so interested in doing them, but never have so I can’t wait to see how you like it.

  17. This sounds great. I am excited to see how this goes. I know it is hard to post things like this in fear of people thinking you are trying to “lose weight”- but everyone needs a good cleanse sometimes to get on a healthy eating tracl!! Good luck!

  18. Hmmm, I’m not so big on cleanses. My can do it on it’s own!

  19. I’m not going to lie, when you first said “cleanse” all I could think was that it was some sort of crazy juice cleanse, which is something I’d never be able (or willing!) to do. But this sounds safe and healthy. It sure seems like it would increase fruit and veggie intake, which is always good! I’m anxious to see how it works for you!

  20. This sounds like a good idea! It’s definitely not what I think of when I hear “cleanse” it seems just more like a general cleaning up of your diet, which is great! I’m interested to see how it helps out your digestive issues, because I’ve been having quite a few of my own lately (actually my whole life..haha) and this might be an idea I consider trying!

  21. Those balls look delicious! Can’t wait to hear how the cleanse works out!

  22. I like that this is not a “diet” or restriction at all.. I think the theory behind it is great as a matter of fact! And I have to go make something like this, so much variation for them πŸ™‚

  23. Good luck with your cleanse! I am not anti cleanses, but I don’t know if I have the discipline to eat that way for 1o days. There are still a ton of things you can eat, obviously, but what you are cutting out are all my favourite things! haha. Semi joking (semi not ;))

    But those PB babies do look delicious.

  24. Good luck with the cleanse and I hope your leg is feeling better!

  25. Those PB babies look good! Peanuts are so underrated πŸ™‚

  26. My husband is an Advocare distributor too! We did the cleanse last year and really liked it. I still take a few supplements and we’re thinking about doing the cleanse again soon. We started a blog (www.advocafe.wordpress.com) to share recipes that fit the nutrition plan, we took a little break from it though because we recently got married and moved across the country πŸ™‚ but we’re actually starting it back up in the next week or so!

    Good luck on the cleanse! It’s really not that hard and we definitely felt good afterwards.

  1. Pingback: Bench Dips

  2. Pingback: Easy and Healthy Turkey Chili

Leave a Reply

