FLOW #5

Happy Friday!!!

Let’s get another round of Fitness Loves of the Week started shall we? πŸ™‚

As I have mentioned, I can’t really exercise my lower body right now (boo…it’s actually really challenging!) so I’ve been walking and doing some upper body workouts.

One of my favorite upper body exercises is the push-up. Push-ups target so many different muscles and can be varied in so many ways to make them more or less challenging! These past few months I’ve really liked doing push-ups with my feet on a bench or doing them with a medicine ball. I recently tried a new (to me) type of push-up and can’t wait to keep doing it!

Can you spot Zoey’s tail in the beginning of the video?? I had to tape it several times because she kept getting in the way haha. I highly suggest you try these if your looking for a new way to challenge yourself!

This week for Meg’s High Five Friday, I want to say that I am proud of myself for taking the week day by day and not stressing about all of the assignments that have been due! It’s great how much better I feel when I don’t worry about everything that’s coming and just focus on what I can do currently.

Wanna participate in FLOW??

β€œFitness Loves of the Week” (FLOW) is a link-up party similar to What I Ate Wednesday except it’s all about fitness! On Fridays I will post either a routine that I have created that week, a picture or video of a move that I have done, or even a post about a workout.

You guys simply do something similar! If you’ve had a great workout/fitness post earlier in the week and you don’t want to make up a new one, you don’t have to! Simply grab the button from my site, paste it in your Friday post, then when you link up you can use the link from whatever post of yours you want!

 

Flow Link-Up

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on March 2, 2012, in FLOW, Lifting, Vlog, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. Oooh I’ve never tried pushups like that! Thanks for the inspiration! And huge high five for not stressing, you rock sista πŸ™‚

    Hope your weekend is amazing!

  2. Since I’m new to doing push ups I never tried this. Good idea!

  3. I’ve never done pushups like that…will have to give it a try

    goin to pin it too πŸ™‚

  4. I love those types of pushups! Such a good added challenge!

  5. Love this idea, Lindsay!! It’s definitely something I never would have thought of myself. I have a funny feeling that the first time I try it, I might end up falling over or something haha … but I am definitely going to add it to my routine!

    • Um I totally like smacked myself in the face with the resistance band because I let it go while there was still tension on it haha…whoops!

  6. Oh goodness I am goign to try these out but I’m pretty sure I am going to umm stink at them haha. I have trouble with regular pushups and yet, I want to give these a go πŸ™‚

  7. I love that resistance band push up! Anytime you can mix up the classic exercises and add some options is great!

  8. Id say I love that push up too—but somehow ive neglected to DO IT in eons.

    today.

    today.

    today.

  9. Such a great idea! I’ve never actually thought of doing push ups like that. Love it.

  10. ahhh i forgot to put the badge on my post today! i’ll go do it RIGHT now! πŸ™‚ as for pushups, i love ’em too! they work your entire upper body and core – score!

  11. One of my goals for March is to do some push-ups everyday, so thank you for this way to make them a bit more exciting! I’ve always wondered about resistance bands as well, now I know at least one way they can be used, thanks πŸ™‚

  12. I love these posts–so many ideas! Plus, you are super cute, as always. I don’t have a resistance band, but I need to get one! Have a great weekend, Linds! XO

    • Aw thank you pretty lady!! Hope you have an amazing weekend…and I hope things (especially your back) start getting better asap!! xxoo

  13. The only exercise my stubborn husband will do are pushups. I at least tried to get him to try resistance band pushups, and he still refused. Grrrr! I like ’em though. πŸ™‚

  14. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    I’ll admit that I rarely do upper body workouts! I really need to start though, I feel that I am muscularly imbalanced. My legs are strong and my arms are weaaaaak! I think since I used to play a lot of tennis in my younger years, I never felt inclined to workout out my arms since they always got exercised by default! Sorry I’m not participating in FLOW this week! Kind of been slackin on this weeks exercise related posts!

  15. I love pushups!! This is a great move-thanks for sharing!

  16. You are a beast! I do girl push-ups at Body Pump (okay this is after a multitude of arm workouts, but still).

    And I did see a tail of some sort ha!

    Love this idea! Linked an old post (hope that’s okay!).

    Have a great weekend!!

    • I’m pretty sure I’d being doing girl push-ups at body pump too haha. It’s absolutely fine to link an old post!! Thank you for linking up :D. Have a great weekend too!

  17. Oh my goodness girl! TOTALLY a high five for that! I have been concentrating on that too. Just taking one thing at a time. It works so well πŸ˜€

    love you pretty girl. and love your vlogs πŸ˜€ keep em coming!

    I was so busy this week that my posts have been so not – i don’t know. but anyways, what I am trying to say is that I am doing FLOW next week πŸ˜€

  18. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Okay, I want to apologize for being HORRIBLE about FLOW! I keep forgetting, and don’t end up reading blogs until the day after Friday! Gah!

    Anyway, love Zoey’s tail πŸ™‚ Popcorn would have been all up on my back if I tried to do push ups in the living room…

  19. adore the high 5 friday idea!!!! the flow is wonderful too, but that really resonated with me today

  20. Ohhh what a great way to do a pushup! I suck at pushups so I like to change up my routine to get my arms some extra strength πŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: National Eating Disorders Awareness Week

  2. Pingback: Friday Favorites | GOtheXtraMile

  3. Pingback: Featured Blogger: The Lean Green Bean | Food, Fitness, and Family

Leave a Reply

