Easy and Healthy Turkey Chili

Hi everyone!!

Chris is here :D. I am so happy! My exam went well yesterday (at least I think so haha) and then I was able to pick Chris up from the airport. After my class in the afternoon, Chris and I hit up Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods.

While at the stores we got ingredients to make up a tasty pot of chili!

I was starving by the time we got back from the store so we both started prepping away.

Oh how I’ve missed him…

Zoey wanted in on the action too:

Our chili was super easy to make and it tasted delicious. We have a ton of leftovers too which is really nice!

Easy and Healthy Turkey Chili

Ingredients

  • 1 lb lean ground turkey
  • 1 15oz can corn
  • 1 15 oz can black beans
  • 1 15 oz can red kidney beans
  • 1 15 oz can white kidney beans
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 28oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 Tbsp cumin
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder
  • Garlic powder, cayenne pepper, and oregano to taste

Directions:

1. Brown turkey over medium-heat in the bottom of the pot you’ll use for the chili

2. Add the diced onion and green pepper to the turkey (I diced my onion in the food processor…so easy, and no tears!!). Cook until the peppers and onions get a bit tender.

3. Add the cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, and oregano and mix well.

Look at that steam coming off!

4. Add the beans, tomatoes, and corn. Sprinkle with some more garlic powder and mix everything together really well. Let it sit for at least 20 minutes so the flavors can really come out.

Yummy :).

—————

So yesterday I decided to stop doing my cleanse 2 days early. The fiber drink was not agreeing with my stomach at all. The first couple of days of the cleanse I had some really bad stomach pain but I just chalked it up to things not “moving” well yet if you know what I mean. During the cleanse you have the fiber drink the first 3 days and the last 3 days. So once I stopped taking the fiber drink I felt great. Well when I re-introduced it on Monday my stomach felt really bad again. I decided then that I wasn’t going to do the fiber drink anymore.

Then, yesterday I was just hardcore craving my normal foods and I really missed my coffee. I decided that instead of waiting two more days I would just go with what my body was telling me. I’ve said before that I don’t like depriving myself, and I was getting to the point where that’s what I felt like was happening with the cleanse. I don’t want to cause any of the distorted thinking I’ve had before by denying myself and then wanting to over-indulge afterward, so I stopped before it could ever get to that point.

I did feel a bit guilty about it and said so on twitter, but many of you were great and supportive with your responses! Thank you :).

One thing I did learn from the cleanse is that I perhaps wasn’t getting as many fruits and veggies in my diet before, so that’s something I definitely want to start focusing more on! Also, I really enjoyed the Spark energy drink and think I’ll continue to use that in the afternoons when I need a pick me up.

Anyway, I hope you all have a great day!!

An article that may interest you: Should You Try the Bar Method? (it totally makes me want to!!)

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on March 7, 2012, in Chris, Dinner, Health, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. 40 Comments.

  1. Yay, have fun with Chris!! And the chili sounds great … I’m thinking perhaps that would be a good one for my slow-cooker, since I’m stuck in a hotel room?? 😉

  2. That chili looks so tasty! I think you made the right choice when it comes to the cleanse. You have to do what’s right for your body and mind. You make healthy choices anyways and give your body the nutrients you need, so the cleanse is just a spin-off of your regular intake! 🙂 Have fun with Chris girl and enjoy this time!

  3. So glad your test went well! No better way to celebrate than with your man and a trip to the two best grocery stores ever! 😉 This chili is making my mouth water, I have to make some stat!

  4. P

    R

    I

    N

    T

    I

    N

    G

    For tonight!

  5. First of all, there is just something so comforting about good ole chili and this looks great! I usually add beans into mine for a protein (instead of meat) but will try turkey next, I have never cooked with it!

    I am sooo glad your test went well! That must feel fantastic

    And no worries about the cleanse… I agree with the responses from Twitter! You just have to do what is right for your hawttt bod 😉

    • Yes! Chili is so comforting…love it :). And thank you, you are too kind! Hope you’ve had a great day Tessa!

  6. Hope you have a great time with Chris!! So nice that he’s visiting 🙂

    I totally agree with your decision on the cleanse, gotta do what’s best for you!!

  7. YAYAY for Chris being there! 🙂

    I agree that you should listen to your body. Nice work! I’m sure that just adding more fruits and veggies regularly will help get things moving–but drink TONS of water, too! It helps with the super glamourous bloating. 😉

  8. That chili looks great. And at least you learned something from the cleanse – I think you were right to listen to your body.

  9. i LOVE chili! it’s one of my favorite comfort foods. i haven’t made it in awhile, so i need to get on that soon! have so much fun with chris! xoxo

  10. the chili looks delicious! and zoey is so cute, too 🙂

  11. Enjoy your time with Chris! I have Sadie Lincoln’s Barre3 DVD and love it- I think it’s around $20, and great if you want to try the bar method at home!

  12. Looks really good! Chili is one of my favorite foods in cold weather!

  13. That pic of Zoey is adorable! Oh, and the chili looks good too. 😉

  14. Oooooh that turkey chili looks awesome! And YAH for being back together–so exciting!! Glad your test went well too 🙂

    And I agree–you go with how you feel, so good for you for listening to YOUR body.

  15. Chili looks amazing, can’t wait to try it!!!

  16. oh i love it. Happy healthy couple reunited! great recipe linz.

  17. That chili looks so delicious, and sounds easy enough I think I may be able to handle this! ha

    I think it is completely fine you stopped early, especially with your fiance being there! And a woman can really only go so long without her coffee! haha

    I hope you and Chris have a fun week together!!!! 🙂

  18. Chili is the best meal because it is so comforting and so forgiving. Any combo of beans, peppers, and meat always turns out great!

  19. Can I please come over to eat? 🙂

  20. That chili looks great!! I’ve actually never made chili with anything other than venison (I have a few hunters in my family) but I’d like to try it with something new!

  21. So happy you listened to yourself babygirl xoxo

    thats the most important thing 😀 you amaze me ❤

    And Zoey is so adorable in that pic! I LOVE IT

  22. yum! looks super tasty, enjoy your time with Chris!

  23. Hi girl! The fact that you went through with the cleanse for as long as you did totally means something! You are disciplined and did it for as long as you could and that is what matters most. I’m always reluctant to doing a cleanse that requires me to drink or eat a certain substance because I fear that it would upset my stomach or make me feel fatigued. On a different not, I totally want to try that bar class! Do you know if they offer it anywhere in MA?

  24. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m a little late, but I just want to say that you’re doing the right thing by stopping the cleanse! Not every diet plan, cleanse, or nutritional plan is going to work the same for every single person, and quitting 2 days early is still FAR later than I probably would have made it haha.

    One thing I’ve realized about myself is that I sometimes try out these new eating styles or exercise plans, but soon fall out of ’em because the ONLY thing that works for me in the end is the ability to have flexibility in life.

    Anyway, I love ya girl! Have a great time with Chris 🙂

  25. YES – try a barre class!! I promise you will LOVE IT!! 🙂

    PS. I love the pic of the cat trying to get to the food on the stove, so cute!

  26. Awww, girl, I think you made the right decision with the cleanse! That doesn’t sound fun!

    YIPPEEEE!!!! Chili for two and two in the kitchen, I LOVE IT!!! I love turkey chili, but havent’ had it for years…maybe I will make this!!

    xxoo

  27. Yay! I’m so happy for you that Chris is there finally 🙂

    This looks delcious, Lindsay! I haven’t had ground turkey since eating meat again…

  28. The chili recipe looks delicious! 🙂

    I probably would have stopped early as well. My tummy is not super sensitive, but things with too much fiber in it will inevitably make me feel bad. 🙂

  29. I love chili and that you used turkey here 🙂 Such a winter staple in my house!

  30. I need some chili soon, especially since it’s freezing right now. It’s just such an easy way to pack a ton of veggies into a meal.

Leave a Reply

