Mountain Climbers Are Challenging

Hi everyone!

It was really neat reading some of your favorite moments in life. I also loved that many of us share the same favorite desserts :).

I will be absent from the blog world for the “work day” hours today…but I’ll catch up tomorrow evening! I have fieldwork from 7:30-5ish today. Basically I’ll just be observing what OTs do in this particular setting. I’m really excited!

So yesterday I got to see my cousin’s baby, Cael! OMG you guys he was so precious!

Just look at that precious face :). It was so nice to see him and my cousin! They are both doing well, as is daddy but he was at work so I didn’t get to see him.

Yesterday I also completed my first bootcamp workout for this week. Man, all I have to say is that my legs were on fire! They’ve been pretty sore these past few days since I started working them out again. Good thing I gave them some rest on Sunday or I think yesterday’s strength workout would have happened!

I’m totally enjoying having workouts created for me. And you can tell that Tina really knows her stuff! I’m so glad that I decided to take part in her bootcamp.

We were supposed to complete 20 minutes of steady state cardio after the strength workout, but since I don’t have a gym to go to right now and it was raining outside I was kind of stuck. I decided to do a variation of Julie’s jumping jack’s circuit workout! I shortened it a bit and added in a couple of different moves as well. All in all though, I was huffin’ and puffin’ at the end. Whoever says you can’t get in a good workout at home was lying!

And I just have to say- mountain climbers are incredibly challenging for me when done for longer than 30 seconds. My shoulder’s start burning and I get so fatigued that I can’t complete them with good form. That’s when I know to take a break- I’d rather do less with better form so that I get the benefit from them!

Source

Anyway, I hope you all have an amazing day!

Question:

What is a more cardio-based exercise that you find really challenging?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on March 13, 2012, in Bloggers, Family, Fitness. Bookmark the permalink. 35 Comments.

  1. Oh my goodness that baby is soo flippen adorable 🙂 Goooo!

    And yes, mountain climbers really are challenging! I always throw them in my workouts for intervals…. and yep, I am huffing and puffing at the end!

  2. I think jump squats are challenging – or burpees! Oh my gosh, burpees kill me.

  3. I usually take breaks with mountain climbers right around the 30 second mark. High-knees for me take the challenge-cake, though!

  4. He is adorable! I love looking at baby pictures :).

  5. For some reason, when I do those mountain climbers, they really hurt my back! Does that mean my form is bad??

    • Hmm…it could mean that! Try them while making sure to keep your back flat and don’t stick your butt up in the air!

  6. See look at that face!! 🙂 Dude mountain climbers are hard, but burpees kill me. I think the exercise gods invented them just to tick people off haha

  7. My cousin is pregnant with her little boy, due in May! I can’t wait to meet him, I love babies! 🙂 the hardest cardio based/strength move for me is definitely burners. That exercise kills me every time!

  8. Oh baby Cael! I just want to snuggle him!!!

    Mountain climbers are definitely tough–I always stick my butt up in the air! I also have a hard time with burpees and plyometric lunges. Anything with jumping takes it out of me!

  9. aww baby cael is so precious!! 🙂

    mountain climbers kick my booty too! burpees are another one that wipe me out pretty quickly.

  10. I agree! Mountain climbers are rough…worse than burpees for me.

    Enjoy your day in the field 🙂

  11. Oh yes I have a hard time with mountain climbers for a long time as well! My arms just start giving out and my legs refuse to go up any more haha Those and burpees get me some days! Great workouts none the less!

    Your cousins baby is so adorable!!!

  12. Burpees! Hands down most challenging for me

  13. That baby is so adorable!!!

    Interestingly enough, I do not find mountain climbers to be crazy challenging…which makes me think I am doing them wrong. I do a circuit with those in the middle, and I actually look forward to them!

    Hardest for me is burpees, if I am not half-assing them 🙂

  14. Mountain climbers are pretty rough…it always get my heart pumpin!

    Your cousins baby is SO cute!!

  15. Aw, baby face!!

    Yes mountain climbers are nuts. They make my upper body sore and when I stand up I’m dizzy, lol.

  16. GREAT point. You nailed it on that comment–SO much better to do a move correctly for a shorter amount of time then to keep pushing it with bad form!! Wish everyone knew this little nugget of wisdom 😉

    Mountain climbers ARE crazy tough–you’re in the same boat with us all! hah.

  17. Yep, mountain climbers are killer!

  18. I AM IN LOVE WITH CAEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ahhhh I love him 🙂

  19. Soooooooo cute! I love babies so much.

    Mountain climbers are awesome but deadly.

  20. It’s crazy how running 3-4 miles seems much easier than a minute of mountain climbers! Don’t even get me started on burpees :)!

  21. Hes so CUTE!!!!!! Mountain climbers are TOUGH! As are jump squats!

  22. I can’t do more then a few tuck jumps to save my damn life! Sooo hard!!!

  23. I.hate.burpees. They kill me!!

  24. I find mountain climbers to be very challening on the ab ball. I get very fatigued. I love your header, btw!

  25. Three-way burpees just kill me! Asking me to do three sets of 10 is borderline torture…but I do them…just not very often, haha!

  26. I met with a trainer at my gym and she had me doing mountain climbers, I really thought I was going to die!!! They are SO hard!

Leave a Reply

