Fitness Loves of the Week #7

Happy Friday!!

This week has been crazy for me, and thank you all for understanding how busy I’ve been!

I haven’t really had a chance to make up any new workouts this week since the ones I’ve been doing have been bootcamp related or steady state cardio. But, I do have a move that I want to highlight from one of Tina’s bootcamp workouts! That move is the turkish get-up.

A turkish get-up is a full body move that can be done using a kettlebell or dumbbell.

Source

When I first saw this move listed on Tina’s workout I had no idea what it was. I talked to Chris and also did some online research. I discovered that it is great thing to do to work on functional strength. The turkish get-up was actually really challenging and all I used was a 5lb weight doing 5 reps per side! One thing that was really important for me to remember was to keep my elbow straight. Here’s a video so you can get another idea of what it looks like.

So, do you wanna participate in FLOW?

“Fitness Loves of the Week” (FLOW) is a link-up party similar to What I Ate Wednesday except it’s all about fitness! On Fridays I will post either a routine that I have created that week, a picture or video of a move that I have done, or even a post abouta workout. You guys simply do something similar! If you’ve had a great workout/fitness post earlier in the week and you don’t want to make up a new one, you don’t have to! Simply grab the picture from my site, paste it in your Friday post, then when you link up you can use the link from whatever post of yours you want!

FLOW Link-Up

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on March 16, 2012, in Fitness, FLOW, Lifting. Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Dude these look killer!! I’ve been hunting for some new kettlebell moves and I think this is the answer 🙂

    Hope your weekend is superb m’dear!

  2. Isn’t it crazy how tough that move is with such few reps?! It always shocks me!

  3. It’s funny because it seems like it would be easy, but I’m sure it’s quite the opposite!!! I feel the same way about burpees. They don’t look like they’d be that challenging, but I’m wanting to quit after 5 every time!

  4. This is mine 😀 http://adashofmeg.com/2012/03/12/motivational-monday-that-feeling/

    I have never performed the exercise you shared before but I will have to try it 😀 So happy you are lovin’ the boot camp girl 😀

    • Woot woot! Thank you!! I’m SO sorry, I just realized that I totally forgot high five friday…boooo. I promise I will participate again next Friday because I absolutely love it!

  5. I’m not gonna lie – that looks TOUGH! Might have to try it sometime…

  6. I have never done a turkish getup but now I want to try one. Looks pretty challenging from the video!

  7. I give y’all a ton of credit for doing all these fancy moves! I’ll stick to DVDs and Body Pump where someone tells me EXACTLY what to do. 😉

    Have a great weekend, Linds!

    • At least Tina’s telling me what to do during this bootcamp or I would have no idea haha. Hope you have a great weekend too ❤

  8. that exercise is no joke…i did it, redid it and took it step by step…wow it was a process! Boot Camp rules

  9. Thank you for another great workout idea!! Looks tough but I wanna try it 🙂 I love all of your workouts – If you’d be interested in making one (although you don’t have to!) I’d love to have an idea of a short-ish routine I could do that just focuses on abs. I usually throw in an ab move or two to the end of the workout, but would like something that takes 10-15 minutes and would really work my core! Just an idea – Have a great weekend, Lindsay!

  10. Always love the new ideas on here! I need to get another one going — so uncreative! Hopefully Crossfit gives me some new ideas 🙂 Just pinned the workout!

  11. Toni@runninglovingliving

    Thanks for the great description of a Turkish getup, I think I may have finally gotten it now!!!

  1. Pingback: Sweet Weekend « Andi and Her Candy

Leave a Reply

