Spring Break

Hi friends! I just wanted to pop in and say a quick hello.

I arrived in Boca Raton, FL Friday evening and have been enjoying every moment since :). Not only do I love being with Chris again, but this weather is seriously amazing!

This is my morning view right now as I eat breakfast…and yes, it’s 10:15am. Chris and I slept in, which was glorious!

Yesterday we woke up and went to the gym. I forgot that when it’s warmer outside it always feels warmer inside gyms too, even when the AC is on haha. I was a sweaty mess and my face was bright red! I’m sure that the large amount of windows in the facility made it feel warmer too. But I’m not complaining. The warm weather is totally welcome :).

Yesterday afternoon we went to the beach and laid there for a while. Oh man guys, it was glorious. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. I absolutely love the beach. The smell and the sounds and basically everything about it are so relaxing and wonderful.

I also got a little red yesterday and that’s really frustrating! I guess that can give you an idea of how pale I was haha. I was wearing spf 30 and we were only out in the sun for like an hour and a half…and it was later in the afternoon when the sun isn’t at its strongest. Grrr…oh well. I just need to be careful!

—————-

As I’m sure many of you know, The Hunger Games movie comes out on Friday. Who’s excited? Because you better believe I am! Well, while traveling this past week, I purchased the latest issue of Glamour magazine. Jennifer Lawrence is on the cover (you know, the lovely lady that is playing Katniss in the movie) and after reading her article, I totally love her!

Source

I have admired Jennifer Lawrence ever since I saw pictures of her at award shows in 2011 because she isn’t rail thin like so many of the young actresses today. She also hasn’t become super skinny after being in the spotlight. And I think she is gorgeous!

Source

To me, she looks healthy and that is often a rarity in Hollywood these days. In her Glamour article she stated:

“I don’t diet. I do exercise! But I don’t diet. You can’t work when you’re hungry, you know?” – Jennifer Lawrence

Can I get an amen?! I totally admire her for saying this. And I know many actresses say things like this, but I actually believe her because she looks healthy and doesn’t look like she’s starving herself.

Anyway, I just wanted to share that because I think it’s refreshing to see a gorgeous actress like this. Plus, it just makes me even more excited for the movie hehe.

Okay, Chris and I are gonna walk to Whole Foods now and then enjoy the rest of the beautiful day here! I hope your Sunday is fantastic :).

Question:

Who is your favorite healthy actress?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on March 18, 2012, in Beach, Body Image, Chris, Life. Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. I never really noticed that about her but you’re totally right. Great role model. I love Taylor Swift – she’s more thin, but that’s just the way she’s built. She’s a healthy role model too.

  2. ahh i’m jealous of your beach time! 🙂 i’m so glad you’re having a great time so far though. you absolutely deserve it!

    i couldn’t agree more with what you’re saying about jennifer lawrence! she does look beautiful and healthy, and i think that’s so refreshing to see. i love jessica biel and scarlett johansen… both of them are healthy and gorgeous and aren’t rail thin!

  3. Haha oh my goodness – YES AMEN! And thank YOU for posting about her 🙂 WOW I love that quote from her 😀

    I think Mila Kunis is a healthy actress? 🙂 I admire her very much.

    You seem so so happy Lindsay 😀 I love it! Beautiful pictures

  4. It sounds like you’re having an amazing time! I’m so jealous of your time at the beach – it looks beautiful there. 😀

    My favourite healthy actress is Jessica Biel – she looks so strong and toned!

  5. Oh, Katniss, you’re such a badass. And I love that advice about not working if you’re hungry. Exercise is definitely greater than diets, IMHO.

    Plus, during the Hunger Games, you eat what and when you can! I am so beyond stoked for the film!

  6. ah florida is awesome!!! we are in arizona right now for my spring break and totally loving it! enjoy your vacay! 🙂

  7. Enjoy your spring break! Sunburns are the worst. They always take you by surprise.

    I’m excited for the movie but I don’t have high hopes. I think it will be slightly better than the Twilight movies but we’ll see, I hope I’m wrong!

    Yes she is gorgeous and healthy looking!

  8. I saw her recently in an interview, and I liked how real she seemed. She was truly shocked to see a picture of herself as a junior high cheerleader in one of the celebrity magazines. And she said she was hesitant to be in the “Hunger Games” because she knew just how famous she’d become, and it scared her a bit. I’ve definitely been impressed by what I’ve seen so far!

  9. oh enjoy that sunshine. I love the smell of beach, perfect. Never even heard of jennifer lawerence and I just found out about hunger games. I’ve been living under a rock!

  10. Jennifer Lawrence is really pretty! I really like Kaley Cuoco and Katherine Heigl…though I recently learned that Katherine Heigl smokes :(.

  11. be glad you weren’t further south..in Pembroke Pines..where it’s rained every danged day for over a week *sigh*

    my daughters spring break sucked 😦

  12. I am SOoooo excited about hunger games!!! I can’t even begin to explain… Ha, ha.

  13. Yep, I think she looks good! 🙂

  14. I love her! I CANT WAIT TO SEE THE MOVIE! Have a great time in FL 🙂

  15. I’m so excited for the movie to come out. I loved all three books!

  16. I am so excited for Hunger Games!!! I am counting down the days! ha

    I read that article today too!!! And I now love Jennifer Lawrence! She is such a great role model to girls out there! She has an amazing figure!

    Flordia is beautiful! I hope you enjoy your week!!!!

  17. What a gorgeous setting, you’re so lucky to be able to have your spring break on the beach 🙂

    I haven’t really heard much about Jennifer Lawrence, except for some photos on the red carpet, but after reading that quote of hers, I think she’s a celebrity that I would really like! I don’t really know if I have a favorite healthy actress. Even though magazines are constantly bombarding us with celebrity “health” secrets, I don’t really think we should hold these people up as healthy icons. It’s a bit sad that our society has come to define thin and healthy as being one and the same…

  18. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    First of all, YOU ARE SO CLOSE TO MEE!! I have faith that we WILL have a South Florida meetup eventually, hopefully even at the beach 😉

    Second of all, thanks a lot for sharing this about Jennifer Lawrence! I never knew of her before she was cast as Katniss, and LOVE that she doesnt fit the description of “Hollywood beauty”, you know?

    Hope you’re having a great time with Chris! Enjoy our Florida sunshine 8)

  19. Awww! The beach sounds so nice! Altho it is 70 degrees here in NH these days. I love the Hunger Games and she looks amazing on the cover… I can not wait to see the movie.

  20. Jennifer looks so beautiful and healthy in that photo! I’ve had that Glamour for awhile in my magazine “stockpile” haha I’ll have to read it first.

  21. I don’t understand why you think she isn’t thin. I mean, she doesn’t look like she has an eating disorder, but she is definitely thin. I wouldn’t exactly call her a revolutionary for women in Hollywood, as there are “thicker” actresses and people in the spotlight who actually do make some (whether small or big) difference (e.g. Sophia Vergara, Christina Henricks, Adele, hell, even Kim Kardashian).

    While it’s nice that she isn’t touting a new diet or extreme exercise regimen, I wouldn’t look to her as the new curvy girl in Hollywood. She looks like a normal, thin girl. But, still, she doesn’t look like the general population of women, who have cellulite, curves and more body fat.

    • I’m so sorry that you took my post that way! I didn’t mean to imply that she wasn’t thin…because she is! I think she is a healthy thin though and not an eating disorder thin, which is often a rarity among young stars. So yes, she does look like a normal, thin girl, but not among hollywood standards and that is what I was impressed by. And I agree with you that she isn’t a revolutionary, but as a star who will likely be an influence to younger women I think it’s great. Also, just because I highlight what she said doesn’t mean I’m touting her as the new curvy girl in hollywood to look up to. I simply read an article about her, liked what she said, and wanted to share it!

  1. Pingback: Body Image Brainwashing

Leave a Reply

