Foods I’m Loving

Hi everyone! I hope your mornings are off to a good start :).

I just wanted to highlight a few food related things that I have been loving these past couple of days.

1. The Bees Knees peanut butter from Peanut Butter and Co

Source

I haven’t had this stuff since last summer and I had forgotten how delicious it is! The honey adds a touch of sweetness to the peanut butter and it tastes perfect in my oats. I’ve been eating it with bananas too and that’s pretty darn tasty.

2. Chocolate Oikos Greek Yogurt

Source

I am incredibly shocked that it has taken me this long to try this stuff! It’s delicious!! I had been hesitant to buy it because I know that greek yogurt can be bitter and I didn’t want it to ruin the taste. But, then I saw that Kristen had tried it and knew that if she loved it then I probably would as well and that it would be sweet enough for my liking :). And my assumptions were correct! It wasn’t too sweet at all, but it was sweet enough that it was darn tasty and a perfect snack for when I was done doing a hard lifting workout yesterday!

3. The Laughing Cow Light Creamy Swiss cheese wedges

Source

Oh my goodness, this stuff is so good. It has the consistency of cream cheese when you spread it, but it has the taste of swiss (my favorite cheese for sandwiches). This is another product that I haven’t bought in a while because I was on a cheddar kick there for a bit, but I think I’m hooked again hehe. I also want to try putting this in pasta and eggs which I’ve seen Courtney mention on her blog.

4. The “thai” style sauce that Chris and I made to cover our pasta last night

We wanted to make a quick and easy dinner last night and I suggested making this sauce for our chicken and pasta instead of using a canned red sauce. We both always have red sauce so it was nice to change things up. I made this sauce last fall for a tofu dish and knew that Chris would like it. It’s super easy to make too:

Combine in a food processor and puree until creamy:

  • 2 Tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup salsa
  • 1/4 tsp dried red pepper flakes
  • 1/3 cup water

Last night we doubled this recipe since we made a lot of food. It was just has yummy as I remembered and Chris really liked it too! You can make it more or less spicy depending on the type of salsa that you use and the amount of red pepper flakes you use.

I hope you all have a great day!

Question:

What’s a food related thing that you have been loving lately?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on March 19, 2012, in About Me, Bloggers, Chris, Random, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. 45 Comments.

  1. I’ve been obsessed with Dark Chocolate Dreams from PB&co recently…soooo delicious, like dessert!

  2. the bee’s knees flavor is one i haven’t tried yet from peanut butter & co! it sure does sound tasty though. i’m sure it is amazing with banana!

    i just recently discovered the new honey peanut pretzel luna bar, and i absolutely love it. the sweet & salty combo is perfect!

    have a great day linds! πŸ™‚

  3. I love the dark chocolate pb from PB & Co, but have never tried the Bee’s Knees. I am sure it is tasty though! πŸ™‚ I have been loving roasted kale chips lately (I had them 3 times last week, maybe overkill! Lol). Also kashi go-lean honey almond flax and silk almond milk are at the top of my list!

  4. mmm all of those food products sound amazing! I love all the pb and co flavors but the cinnamon raisin swirl is my all time favorite!

  5. It seems that I can’t get enough PB2 lately, but I’ve also been craving breakfast foods like its my job! The Bees Knees is a great PB from PB & Co….I also love the cinnamon raisin swirl and the white chocolate. SO good! πŸ™‚

  6. Yum! I’m not a huge fan of honey but its growing on me, I’ll have to check out that PB! And the Luna Bar! I love anything Peanut Butter – so my fav item recently has been PB2! I make a PB dip for apples, add it to yogurt or cottage cheese, add it like nut butters to my oatmeal to make it peanut-buttery…basically anything I can put it on!!

  7. I love PB&Co! I am currently working my way thru a jar of Mighty Maple.

    I like plain Greek yogurt so I have been hesitant to buy the choc Oikos because of its sugar content and just because I’m afraid it’ll be too sweet for me. I like putting sugar-free chocolate syrup in my plain Greek, just a dash, as a substitute!

    I LOVE LAUGHING COW. I eat about 5 wedges a week haha on English muffins. Have you had the other flavors? You must! I love Sundried Tomato Mozz, Chipotle, and Bleu Cheese!

  8. Love lauging cow! I swear I use that stuff daily. In salads, in eggs, on sandwiches, in pasta, anywhere!

  9. i just bought another 4-pack of the chocolate greek yogurt – even though it’s a little expensive i love it! it is the perfect thing to satisfy my sweet tooth.

  10. Lately I’ve been loving dry roasted chick peas. I can’t get enough. The thai style sauce sounds great. I definitely want to give it a whirl.

  11. I may have to try that sauce; thanks for sharing. This weekend I was loving green beer, but this week I’m going to be loving lots of salad! haha

  12. I love the Chocolate flavor from the Peanut Butter Company! It’s probably my favorite chocolate flavored nut butter out there.

    I also love the Oikos chocolate greek yogurt…..I can’t find it where I live, so if I get it, I have to stock up on it! πŸ™‚

  13. I’d never think of putting peanut butter and salsa together, very interesting! And I’ve never tried any flavours of the peanut butter and co nut butters! I’ve heard I’m seriously missing out though! I’ve been loving coconut butter lately! OMG! soo good.

  14. I can not stop eating deviled eggs. I just made my forth batch in row. They are so convenient to have in the fridge. I keep waiting for the day I just can not stomach another one but it is not happening!

  15. I love laughing cow. I buy it for my daughter’s lunches.

    Thanks for the Thai peanut sauce recipe. Was just thinking of making chicken & tofu skewers this week… maybe some basmati rice and some sort of veggie.

  16. I’m glad you’re liking that Greek yogurt! I really like it, too!

    Honestly right now, my eats have been pretty boring. Since we’re trying to save money, I haven’t been branching out and trying a lot of new things … I’ve mostly been eating what the hotel is offering (which means a lot of peanut butter and banana … like more than normal, if you can imagine!). But that yogurt is definitely on my list of foods I’ve been loving recently! πŸ™‚

  17. I love laughing cow!! My favorite new food is actually PB & company too, the cinnamon raisin swirl flavor I picked up on Saturday. I had it in my oats this morning and it was really, really yummy πŸ™‚

  18. Laughing Cow is the best invention ever. Hands down.

    I’m seriously growing a huge love affair with peanut butter. I just can’t get enough of it. Or oatmeal. Always.

  19. I have been loving Unsweetend Almond Milk lately- I grew up being lactose intolerant but knew I needed more calcium in my life so I tried that Almond Milk and I LOVE it!

  20. Wow that sauce sounds delicious! I will have to give that a try! My boyfriend doesn’t like any type of red marinara sauce, yes weird I know, but we get bored with others, this will be perfect! πŸ™‚

    And that chocolate greek yogurt, I must try that!!!! Sounds like a perfect dessert!

    Hope you are enjoying your time with Chris! πŸ™‚

  21. Uh, YES to that pasta sauce! So unique and delish! Must try. πŸ™‚

    Loving smoothies lately, specifically green monsters. With this early spring, they’re the perfect treat!!

  22. I LOVE PB&Co, I have to try that one! Also, that sauce sounds really different and good!

  23. Hmm that’s a tough one! I have been really loving the honey greek yogurt from Trader Joe’s. I top it with granola or blueberry muesli.

    Ohh I also love homemade smoothies. There are just to many yummy things I love for this comment πŸ™‚

  24. The white chocolate peanut butter from them is the only kind I’ll eat…nothing compares! I also LOVE the laughing cow cheeses…so good!

  25. Why, whyyyyyy can we not have fancy peanut butter in Canada??? (or at least at the stores I frequent) it is un. fair.

  26. I’m pretty much in love with any sort of PB and Co products πŸ™‚ Haven’t tried the spicier one though and to sure if I will, as I like my pb sweeter!

  27. They make chocolate greek yogurt?? Amazing. I need to track that down ASAP!

  28. I have some of that chocolate greek yogurt waiting in my fridge! I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m thinking tomorrow morning might be the day!! I saw Kristen loved it too and had to get some.

    That “thai” sauce looks easy and awesome. I think I might have to try that too!!

  29. Greek yogurt comes in chocolate flavor?

    I’m in trouble now!

    Thanks for the new temptation; LOL!

  30. When I saw the title to this post I got so excited and the post definitely did NOT fail me πŸ˜€ Do more of these πŸ˜€ I loved it πŸ˜€ !!!!!!!!!!!!

    I really want to try that swiss laughing cow! I have never tried laughing cow before, but I think it is time for sure!!!!

    One food I just cannot get enough of lately is spinach – seriously. I feel so deprived if it is not in my meal in some shape or form! Hahahahaha so many salads lately!

    Also, apples πŸ˜€ I nice crunchy apple is totally up my alley these days πŸ˜€

  31. Ooo I want to try that yogurt! Anything chocolate is usually good to me! πŸ™‚

  32. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    I’ve never tried the chocolate Oikos! I’ve got to get on that, thanks fr the reminder!

  33. Nothing exciting lately but I need to try that Oikos yogurt. Sounds good!

    And the Laughing Cow cheese is good. We had friends stay her a few weeks ago and she brought a package and left it. I had the last piece and it was tasty.

  34. Laughing Cow cheeses are a definite staple in my lunches. I’m also loving fresh strawberries now that they’re coming into season here in Arizona!

  35. The Bee’s Knees name is cute enough to make me eat it. I just got restocked on PB2 so I’m sooo happy. And I got some Click too!! Just trying it for the first time!!

  36. I need to get my hands on all of the above- sounds delicious! Apparently I can’t get enough of quinoa & hummus lately: together, separately…either way, my taste buds beckon!

  37. I hope that you are enjoying Boca! I have been aching to be lying on East coast beaches πŸ™‚ Jealous you have 8 days with your guy as well. . . .soak them in!

    I have been LOVING Trader Joes pb lately. Everything it goes on is delish!

  38. That sauce sounds delicious!! I think I may have to make that with some noodles and fake “chicken” later! πŸ™‚

  39. Smoothies!! I think it’s the warm weather, but I have been loving making chocolate smoothies/shakes for breakfast πŸ™‚

  40. Everything on your list (except for the sauce I want to make ASAP!) is on my list of favorites as well πŸ™‚

  41. Peanut butter lovers unite πŸ™‚

  42. Chocolate greek yogurt?? How have I not tried this?!

  43. The chocolate greek yogurt looks great! I’d totally be skeptical of it too because of the bitterness, but this post makes me wanna try some! I think I will πŸ™‚

  44. I’ve been dying to try that chocolate yogurt, and I can’t find it anywhere!! 😦

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti Squash | life after swimming

Leave a Reply

