Sprints and Weekend Eats

Hi!!

I hope you all had a fantastic weekend. My roommate’s parents came to visit and we had a really good time with them. On Friday night they had all of our friends over to our apartment and served us a large amount of delicious food! Just to give you an idea of the amount of food there was, we had chips and veggies and crackers with like 5 different kinds of dip, pizza, salad, roast beef sandwiches, chocolate chip cookies, lemon cookies, chocolate fondue with all kinds of yummy dippers, and candy. Um yea…let’s talk about how I felt like my stomach was going to explode after eating haha. But it was worth it :).

Here’s a picture of just the snacks and dip:

And Saturday night they took us out to an awesome dinner at Legal Seafoods. I had a super tasty dinner that consisted of asian style vegetables and brown rice with a thai curry sauce, topped with scallops. Holy yum it was amazing!

All day yesterday I had to work on an assignment that is due this morning. But, I did take a midday break to get in a quick workout. I completed tabata style intervals on the treadmill. I did 4 tabatas total, with a 1 minute rest break between each one…so my workout took 20 minutes. A tabata involves 20 seconds of really hard work followed by 10 seconds of rest. This is done 8 times for a total of 4 minutes.

So, I sprinted on the treadmill at speeds of 8.7-9.0mph. I tried to do 9.0mph for as many of those 20 second intervals as I could, but on some of them I had to lower the speed a bit so my heart wouldn’t literally beat out of my chest hehe ;).

Source

That workout left me with a bright red face, a pounding heart, rapid breathing, and a nice sweat. Whoever says you can’t get in a challenging and awesome workout in a short period of time doesn’t know what they’re talking about! I felt like I got a better workout yesterday than I did from one of the 50 minute workouts I did earlier in the week.

And if you need a good laugh before you start off your Monday…I found these on pinterest this weekend πŸ™‚

Source: lolsnaps.com via Lindsay on Pinterest

Source: bit.ly via Lindsay on Pinterest

 

Have a good day friends!!

Question:

Do you prefer shorter or longer workouts?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on April 2, 2012, in Dinner, Friends, Life, Random, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. omg that peeta text is HILARIOUS!!!

  2. Bahaha that peeta text just made me die!! Glad to hear your weekend was superb my friend, nothin beats good food, friends, and a kick butt workout πŸ™‚

  3. Oh my word … those things from Pinterest are hilarious!!! I love it!

    Glad you had such an awesome weekend, my friend. When do you get to see Chris again??

  4. Monday morning laughs are always good! Thanks for them. πŸ™‚

    And gotta love intervals! Have a great Monday!

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    HAHAHAHA OH my goodness I am cracking up at that Peeta text!!!!!

  6. Ha ha thanks for some Monday morning humor girl! πŸ™‚ Some days I prefer longer work outs and other times I like them to be quick. Depends on my mood I guess!

  7. haha i saw that helicopter one on pinterest the other day. i used to love those πŸ™‚

  8. I prefer workouts like Tabatas because even though they aren’t always long they leave you feeling like you worked your butt off!!!

  9. LOL I love the Peeta one.. I saw it too a few days ago and yeah, funny stuff πŸ˜€

    Yay for Legal Seafood, that place is just fantastic! Phew what a workout too woman, I would have been ready to take a major face plant after πŸ™‚

  10. haha i love the peeta text! and now i know what it’s talking about too since i finally saw the movie. i think i need to read the books though… i’m hearing all over the place that it’s totally worth it if i liked the movie!

    have a great monday linds! πŸ™‚

  11. OMG that Peeta text is HIlarious!

    I like longer workouts if I have the time, but if I’m crunched, intervals are definitely the way to go! And that scallop dinner sounds awesome! I need to make some kind of stir fry like that!

  12. Haha how awesome is that Peeta text. Love. I adore short, intense workouts. I feel like it works me so much better! What a great workout you did sounds intense! Have a great monday girl!

  13. HAHA. LOVE that Peeta text. Thank you for making.my.day. πŸ™‚

  14. hahaha oh my goodness I loved that petta text! That is hilarious! Really did make my day, thank you!

    Sounds like you had a great weekend! That is so nice of your roommates parents, that is so much food! ha Looks so delicious though! πŸ™‚

  15. Those meals both sound absolutely delicious! I have a question about the tabata style running workout…so you run for 20 secs at 9mph (or 8, whatever is super sprinting for you) and then for 10 seconds do you just step off to the sides of the treadmill then hop back on? Haha I’ve never really done much experimenting with treadmill workouts but when it gets warmer here, I know I’ll be moving some runs inside and I’ll need something that won’t bore me to death!

  16. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    That website is so funny! Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

  17. Short workouts are so much better, especially when I’m pressed for time. Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred DVD is one of my favorites when I only want a 20 min. (but tough) workout!

  18. That little text conversation made me giggle. Like an immature, ridiculous child. Love.

  19. all that food looks delicious!!

    and that last pin about the hunger games totally cracked me up- hilarious!

Leave a Reply

