Fitness Loves of the Week #10

Happy Friday! I’m so glad that we’re pretty much at another weekend!

I appreciate all of your input on my last post! Before we get to Fitness Loves of the Week, I wanted to update you on my hips and the pain I’ve been experiencing. I originally mentioned this a few weeks ago when I was home and told you all how I’d had shooting pain on the side of my hips whenever I walked. Well, this pain has continued since then and it’s actually gotten worse. Sometimes it hurts so bad that I don’t even want to go to class because getting there is painful. And I also now have aching sometimes when I’m sitting and sleeping.

Last week I decided that I couldn’t handle this anymore, so I made an appointment with an orthopedic. I met with him on Wednesday and he diagnosed me with bursitis in both of my hips :(.

What is hip bursitis? It’s inflammation of the bursa between the greater trochanter (the bony prominence on the outside of the hip) and the IT band. My inflammation is apparently being caused by really tight IT bands. In fact, in my left leg, if you place your hand over that great trochanter area you can actually feel my IT band snapping across the surface when I walk. Um yea…not fun.

Source

Thankfully, hip bursitis is easily treatable. For right now I have to ice my hips 2-3 times a day for 20-30 minutes each time. This should help with the inflammation. I’m also going to be seeing a physical therapist a couple of times to learn the best way for me to stretch out my IT band so that this can be prevented in the future. I’ve always thought that I did a decent job of stretching out my IT band, but I guess not!

However, if none of this is working after about 4 weeks, then I’ll go back to the ortho to have an x-ray to see if anything anatomical is going on. Let’s hope that isn’t the case!

As soon as I got home from the doctor on Wednesday I started icing my hips. After two days of doing this, I’ve actually noticed that my joints are more achy and I’m in more pain? I’m hoping this is a fluke and it will stop asap!

I also want to thank Allison who is a physical therapist and after reading my original post about this has been emailing me back and forth with suggestions and information!

————

And on another quick note…my new favorite thing to eat is a sweet potato topped with chocolate PB2 :D. It’s amazing!

————

Okay, and onto Fitness Loves of the Week! I don’t have a new workout for you today because I’ve been doing Tina’s bootcamp workouts this week and haven’t made up any of my own. So, I thought I would share with you my favorite moves that I have learned from this week’s workouts :).

First up, we have butt kicks:

Source

These butt kicks are done standing in place. Basically, your are kicking your butt with your heel on each stride. I felt this more than I thought I would! And it really got my heart rate going :).

Second up we have decline push-ups on the stability ball:

Source

I have come to really like doing push-ups and always enjoy finding new ways to challenge myself with them! You can make this exercise harder by putting your feet on the ball instead of your shins! Talk about working on stability!

If you want to participate in FLOW:

Fitness Loves of the Week” (FLOW) is a link-up party similar to What I Ate Wednesday except it’s all about fitness! On Fridays I will post either a routine that I have created that week, a picture or video of a move that I have done, or even a post about a workout. You guys simply do something similar! If you’ve had a great workout/fitness post earlier in the week and you don’t want to make up a new one, you don’t have to! Simply grab the picture from my site, paste it in your Friday post, then when you link up you can use the link from whatever post of yours you want!

FLOW Link Up

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on April 6, 2012, in Fitness, FLOW, Health, Snack. Bookmark the permalink. 45 Comments.

  1. Bummer about having to ice your hips and having to deal with that snapping pain, hope you heal up pronto! And I can’t believe I’ve never tried to top a sweet potato with chocolate pb2, you my friend are a GENIUS!!! I know what I’m having for lunch! 😀

    Have a blessed weekend girly!

  2. I’m so sorry to hear you’re dealing with that kind of pain. 😦 I really hope the icing and stretching help quickly!!

  3. Argh! That stinks about your hip. I’m having similar pain in my right hip right now, and my chiropractor indicated that it could be bursitis too. I’m a stretching/icing fool!

    Oh Em Gee. PB2 on Sweet Potato. You’re an evil genius.

  4. Oh nooo I am sorry to hear about your hips! My friend actually had this same diagnosis last year.. but it took her a LONG TIME to figure out what it was and she was living in pain for so long. From what she described it does feel awful and I am just so sorry you are experiencing this! Hang in there Lindsay and keep doing what you need to get better 🙂

  5. I’m so sorry about your hips. It’s so frustrating. I have pain in my legs and I can’t tell if it’s my hips, it, knee, or even coming from tight calves. I guess I’m getting old! haha!

    I hope you feel better soon!

  6. So sorry to hear about your hip! Hope you heal up soon!

    Great idea with the PB2! I will have to try that!

  7. Hey–Sorry you are having the hip issues. I had a nightmare with IT band issues last year. One thing I learned is that you can’t stretch them–they are fascia, not muscle. So please don’t try to stretch them into submission. Instead, work on getting your glut medius to fire properly. Many of us have the issue of them not firing b/c of years of sitting at desks, etc. When they don’t do their job, the strain goes onto the ITB. SO–very simple exercise you can do to help: Stand on one foot, hands on hips. Take leg that is up and move it backwards–you should feel the glute engaging. Repeat 10x on each side and do 2 sets. I hope this isn’t too confusing! A good video on this can be found on Eric Orton’s web site (google him). Hope this helps!

  8. I am sorry to hear about the bursitis girl, but I am happy to know there are options for recovery and that the ice is already helping! Hang in there, you will be better than new before you know it! 🙂

  9. i’m sorry to hear about your hip! you’ve probably seen it already but julie of pbfingers had a post this past week about hip stretches. love your blog! i’m a newish reader.

  10. “I have come to really like push ups . . .” You are nuts, my friend! But I love you for it! 🙂

    That is really weird that your hips are hurting more with the ice. I have no idea why that would be! I just hope they stop hurting soon and that bursitis resolves itself. Injuries are the pits!!! But at least it’s Friday! I have a feeling there’s a glass of wine in your future! XO

    • Hahaha I know I’m crazy sometimes ;). Oh there will for sure be a glass (or 2) or wine tonight! Hope you have a fantastic weekend pretty lady xxoo

  11. i’m glad you figured out what was wrong! i hope everything you’re doing for it helps and that the pain won’t last much longer. 🙂 happy friday my friend!

  12. BABE! Look at you go! Look at all of the link ups you have!!!!!!! Good job babe 😀 How exciting!!!!!!!

    I love those stability ball push ups, too! Very core targeting 😉 hahahaha.

    I am glad you got your hip figured out. Obviously I am not happy to hear that my girl is so sore 😦 But it is treatable so that is a plus ❤

    Love u

  13. Ahh sooo sorry to hear about your hips girl 😦 I hope you feel better soon!

  14. Sorry to hear about your hips! Hope they feel better soon 🙂

  15. ohhh bursitis! I’ve had that in the heal. And my dad had it in the hip. ICE and REST for sure. Hope it feels better linz. xoxo

  16. Thanks for the mention! Hang in there, the inflammation will get under control soon. I hope you have fun in PT! Maybe you will learn some cool hip strengtheners as well!!

    • You’re welcome! I hope I do too…if I can ever get in! I’ve called all these places and they can’t get me in until May, which is when I graduate and move back home. I’m waiting for a call back on Monday to see if I can go in like 2 weeks. Keeping my fingers crossed!

  17. Holy smokes!! I hope they can get you in. Too bad I don’t know anyone in your area!!

  18. Glad you were able to figure out what was wrong. Hopefully it heals up nice and quickly 🙂 I have never heard of peanut butter on a sweet potato!! Hmmm sounds interesting!

  19. SO sorry to hear about that pain! OUCH! But glad you know what it is–first step to recovery is being aware of the issue. Have a good weekend!

  20. Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo

    chocolate pb2 on a sweet potato sounds like a good idea!! I haven’t opened my jar of chocolate pb2 yet and this sounds like a good way to use it first 🙂 I’m so sorry about your hip :/ I hope it feels better soon and I’m glad you were able to go to the doctor and find out what is wrong! It’s always a relief to know why something is hurting.

  21. Ouch! Hope your hip is feeling better girl!

    Wanted to pop in and wish you a happy easter! ❤ Hope it is wonderful!

  22. Love peanut butter on my sweet potatoes! I hope you start feeling better soon…I’m sorry you’re in so much pain :/

  23. I’ve had my fair share of injuries, so I know how frustrating they can be 😦 Glad it’s treatable though and hopefully you’ll be back to pain-free ASAP!

  24. Aw, so sorry about the diagnosis, but the good thing is you went to the doctor soon enough! My mom actually has that problem in her knees, and she ended up having to get surgery. They took the bursa out of her knee and the surgeon said it was the size of a baseball!!! So your lucky you figured it out before it got worse! The FLOW is starting to get more hits, I’m excited to read on all the new workouts! 🙂 Hoping your hip heals fast ❤

  1. Pingback: Taking The Time | Itz Linz

  2. Pingback: Happy Easter

  3. Pingback: I Love It When…

  4. Pingback: Fitness Loves of the Week #11

  5. Pingback: Exercise Comparisons

  6. Pingback: Red Sox Game and Circuit Workout

Leave a Reply

