Danskin Triathlon Series [Giveaway]

**This giveaway is now closed. Thank you to everyone that entered!**

Hi everyone!!

I’ve got something exciting to share with you today…and I’m actually really jealous because I won’t be able to participate.

I was recently contacted by the Danskin Triathlon Series to check out information about their races.

The Danskin Triathlon Series has 8 sprint distance triathlons throughout the country. A sprint triathlon consists a 1/2 mile swim, 12 mile bike, and a 3 mile run! These triathlons are for females only and the series is actually the country’s largest for women and girls in the sport!

Danskin Triathlon Series has a great mentality: “women empowering other women”. How awesome is that?! And since these races are a sprint distance, they are completely friendly for triathlon novices. Of course, experienced athletes participate as well. So it sounds like a great meshing of novice and expert female athletes!

Another thing I learned, and that I really like about this series, is that they support the Breast Cancer Research Foundation and Team Survivor nationally. Additionally, they support a local food bank and women’s shelter in each of the race cities!

So, when and where are these races??

  • May 13 – Clermont, FL (greater Orlando area)
  • June 3 – Austin, TX
  • July 22 – Webster, MA (greater Boston area)
  • August 5 – Howell, MI
  • August 19 – Seattle, WA
  • August 26 – Chicagoland
  • September 9 – Sandy Hook, NJ
  • October 7 – Palm Springs, CA

I have always thought that it would be awesome to participate in a sprint distance triathlon (no way would I ever want to do a longer one haha). I enjoy biking, swimming, and running shorter distances and I think that combining all 3 would be a great and fun way to challenge myself!

Sadly, I won’t be able to participate in any of these events :(. I’ll be moving home at the end of May and none of these locations are near me…plus, with the internships I’ll be completing I won’t really be able to travel.

But, I have some awesome news. The Danskin Triathlon Series wants YOU to TRI something new. They are offering a complimentary entry to one of my readers!!!

The Danskin Triathlon Series is a great first-timer friendly Swim, Bike, Run event that can be done on an individual or Relay team basis. Get your girl friends, sisters, daughters, and nieces involved by signing up to do this fabulous women’s fitness event together – of course if you win, your entry will already be paid for. Terms & Conditions apply.

Yea, I’m pretty jealous of whoever wins this giveaway hehe ;).

**In order to enter this giveaway, you must be able to attend one of the races!!**

So, how can you enter??

1. Leave me a comment telling me why you have or why you would want to do a triathlon!

2. Tweet the following and leave me a comment telling me you did: I want to win a race entry from @TheDanskinTri and @SweetNHealthy!! Enter here: http://wp.me/p1RDDv-HX

Good luck! This giveaway will end Sunday April, 15th at 8pm!

—————-

Don’t forget that tomorrow is Fitness Loves of the Week!

 

**Disclaimer: I was contacted by Danskin Triathlon Series and offered a free entry into one of their races as compensation to share information about the event with you all. Even though I can’t participate, I still wanted to share!

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on April 12, 2012, in Fitness, Giveaway. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. The nearest one to me (Austin) takes place during my summer semester, so I won’t be able to race it, but that is SOOOO cool you’re doing it Lindsay!!!

    Best of luck to whoever wins, this is such an awesome giveaway!!

  2. I WOULD LOVE TO DO THIS!!! I have always wanted to do a triathlon since I am not a runner, but I do swim and bike! Oh my gosh this would be amazing!

  3. Oh wow this is fantastic Lindsay! I have completed 5 sprint triathlons and I keep participating in them because there is nothing quite like the feeling of crossing the finishing line and realizing the extent of your accomplishment! I would love to do another one this summer 🙂

  4. I would love to do this Danskin triathlon, because I have done it once before! During the summer of 2009, I completed a sprint triathlon!

  5. I did a sprint-triathlon last summer because I wanted to switch up my workouts from the traditional running. I learned to love swimming and the fabulous workout it provides!!

  6. I do not live near any of the races, so don’t choose me. 😉 But I think that’s awesome! Someone is going to be a very lucky girl (or guy!)! 🙂

  7. Wow! I’ve never done one, but I do all three sports and would love to try one. The Danskin triathlons have caught my eye being women’s only events, which I think would be awesome! I would do the Chicagoland one since it’s close to where I live, Madison!

  8. I definitely would want to complete a tri sometime in my life..problem is, I’ve never competitively swam and I don’t own a bike! But, if I won, I’d probably join the other gym in town with a pool, get myself a bike, and try something new! 🙂

  9. I’d love to do this!

  10. What an AMAZING giveaway, I’ve wanted to participate in a sprint tri for awhile now! I hope you get a chance to do one soon too!

  11. I would love to win because I think it would be so fun to try out a sprint Tri! It would be a great way to see what a tri is like, plus I love all three activities!

  12. I’ve done the Danskin before and it is awesome! I did a recap of it on my blog even though I did it a couple years ago. http://eatpraytri.com/2011/12/20/danskin-tri-2010-seattle/

    I wasn’t thinking about doing it again this year, but if I won an entry I TOTALLY would!!

  13. I would love to do the one in Orlando. I’ve always wanted to do a sprint tri and I just got a recreational bike for Christmas so this is the perfect year!!! Winning the entry would give me the push I need!

  14. WOULD love to do this!!!! I could possibly travel to CA….. 🙂

  15. I would LOVE to win this!! I could do Austin, Boston or Chicago (which would be my first choice!) I’ve wanted to do a Tri for a while–but the swim part makes me nervous. This would be great motivation to get over that and DO IT!

    ~Tiffany

    http://tiffanyd22.blogspot.com

  16. I did my first Danskin Tri when I was 16 years old in Seattle, Washington. It was so much fun! The fact that it is all women is awesome, you get to see those who have beat cancer along with everyone who supports them! I highly recommend the Danskin series. I hope to do the 2012 in Seattle, but I need to start training for swimming, which isn’t my fav.

  17. I love doing sprint tri’s! I think the Danskin one looks awesome, since it is all women. That would definitely not be as intimidating. Chicago is not too far…

  1. Pingback: Lighter Workouts Are Needed Right Now

  2. Pingback: Marathon Monday

