Lighter Workouts Are Needed Right Now

In case you need some giggles or someone to laugh at…please look at my autocorrect mistake from Friday night when I tweeted:

Wow…I’m a dumb dumb πŸ˜‰ haha. In all seriousness though, these chips are addicting! Try them asap!

Yesterday was fantastic. The weather here was absolutely gorgeous. It was in the low 70s, the skies were blue, the sun was shining, and it was just all around awesome. I went for a really long walk- probably about 5 miles and it was just so nice to be outside and not do a workout that was intense.

I think I’ve been overdoing it lately with the workouts. My body is aching a lot. My hips were feeling better and now they are hurting again. Every workout feels kind of blahh. I absolutely dread going to the gym right now. These are not good things. I chatted with Ashley a bit about this because she was experiencing the same thing, and she’s definitely helped remind me that as hard as it is to step back and take it easy, it’s necessary and good for me.

When she asked me what my workout schedule has looked like, writing it down really showed me that wow, I’ve been doing things a little too intensely. Lately I’ve beenΒ  working out 6 days a week and taking 1 rest days. Those 6 days include 3-4 weight lifting sessions- combo of heavier lifting and circuit workouts, 3 interval workouts (some more high intensity than others), a day of just steady state cardio, and also some cardio after lifting. So only one day of something that’s a little less intense. No wonder my body is tired!

Chris has been great too and has been really supportive with my incessant talking about it. I honestly don’t even know why I’m so worried about backing off and resting more. I think that deep down I’m afraid that if I change what I’ve been doing it will change the way my body looks. The biggest and best things that Chris reminded me of though are that my body will likely not change (duh) and actually may do better because it’s being treated the way it should be, and that in the big scheme of things, how my body looks is not at all what matters- what does is being healthy and happy! I know these things, but it’s nice to be reminded of them.

Anyway…super long tangent haha. I had a really easy and super tasty dinner last night!

In that tasty mix is brown rice pasta, chicken, spinach, and a laughing cow cheese wedge (sundried tomato and basil flavor). Omg it was so good! Putting the cheese wedge into the mix, melting it, and stirring it all together is delicious. You have to try it!

I’m off to enjoy another day of beautiful weather and do some homework. Tomorrow is the Boston marathon and we’re going to watch! I feel so bad for the runners because it’s supposed to be over 85*!

I hope you all enjoy your Sunday <3.

**Today is your last day to enter my Danskin Triathlon Series giveaway!**

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on April 15, 2012, in About Me, Bloggers, Body Image, Chris, Life, Mind, Snack. Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Yay for Marathon Monday!!!!! Best day of the year to be in the city πŸ™‚ Enjoy!

  2. i’m so glad you are doing this for your body linds! i know for certain it’s already enjoying the down time. πŸ™‚ i’m always here if you need some encouragement and support! love you!

  3. listening and honoring your body is SO important and i think for a lot of us it’s hard to do just that! so good for you for taking it a bit easier and letting your body rest. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. I agree with the above comments–SO good to listen to our bodies now. In the long term it is SO Much better that way-than to decide what WE think is best. Our bodies are smart! WAY to go in stepping back when needed-that is a hard thing, and we all applaud you for that! Have a lovely day!! ❀

  5. That’s fabulous you’re so in tune with your body! Good for you for taking some time to relax πŸ™‚ Oh and those chips sound amazing, I have to hunt some down!

  6. Good for you for taking a step back and reevaluating your workout routine, that’s not always an easy thing to do! I can complete relate though. There are times when I start pushing too much and though my body is saying ‘slow down’ my mind keeps telling me to ‘push harder.’ It sounds like Chris is a smart guy though–being healthy and happy is all that matters! : )

  7. I literally LOLed when I read that on instagram πŸ˜€

    I love my rest days because that’s when your muscles really repair and grow! I know it may be tough, but you will prob feel a lot better after πŸ™‚

  8. Haha I love auto correct, it makes for the best stories. I wish I lived near a whole foods! So sad. Oh no, sorry about your hips and fatigue! I’m experiencing some of that as well. And am looking at decreasing my workouts. Its hard when I feel like I need to be working out daily though, I’m just super tired. Enjoy your sunday too!!xo

  9. sometimes we need more than just a rest day, we need a rest month, year, etc. Our bodies go through so much mentally, physically, and emotionally, and they are all tied in. Trust me, i feel ya on that! Rest in a way that is good for you. I know it will be worth it.

    p.s.

    LOVE that autocorrect! lol!

  10. I completely understand the difficulty between balancing tough workouts and rest. Even though your mind may want to work out, sometimes your body just says no! The walk absolutely lovely; walking is definitely one of the most underrated forms of exercise πŸ™‚

  11. I understand the worry about cutting back. Working out is such a momentum thing and sometimes when you take a break it’s hard to get back on the train. It’s necessary though so just try to stay active with easy activities like walking.

  12. I saw that about the temperature in Boston. Crazy! :/

    And good for you, for seeing that you need to cut back. I typically have the opposite problem … I don’t push myself hard enough. πŸ˜‰ But it’s good for you to recognize and adjust accordingly!

  13. BABE! You make me so proud πŸ™‚ I am glad you are in the right frame of mind now πŸ™‚ NO more rest will not change your bod πŸ˜‰

  14. Well this is certainly some kind of trend going on in the blog world lately with intense workouts lol…. I think we all need a serious break!! I am so sooo glad you are listening to your body, it inspires me to keep on doing the same with mine, even though I am having major difficulties doing so!

  15. #autocorrectfail

    I am THE WORST at resting!

  16. Wow- that is an intense workout schedule! I think a break will definitely do your body good πŸ˜€ And, you will probably have more energy and excitement about workouts after you take it easy for a while. Trusting our bodies so important, they are pretty darn good at what they do! I know it may be a little tough at first but your body is going to LOVE the break.

  17. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Nice job Chris! It sounds like you’ve got yourself a real gentleman there, girlie πŸ™‚

    Honestly, I think it’s GREAT that you’re backing off of the exercise a bit. I had to do so myself over the summer when my schedule got much busier, but it actually ended up being a great thing for my body! By giving myself the rest I needed, I finally fell into a comfortable spot with my weight, which was something that incessant exercise wasn’t giving me (go figure!)

    Keep us posted on how this goes! I can’t wait to hear about the changes you’re planning on making πŸ™‚

    • Yes he is :). That is really good to hear that you felt comfortable with your weight while you were resting because that’s definitely one of the things that I’m worrying about!

      • Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

        I think it’s natural for us folks who love health and fitness– Once you fall into a pattern that works its hard to imagine that there’s any other way for anything else to work too! I’m sure your body will be very grateful πŸ™‚

      • You are so right, it’s definitely hard to break out of a pattern! Thank you girlie ❀

  18. I know this post is super old, but this came at just the right time. I adore running – but lately i have been dreading getting up in the morning to run. Thus I am taking the next 4 days off to just relax before my internship starts up. A part of me was worried 4 days would make running harder and change my body but its only 4 days! I need the break πŸ™‚ thanks girl!

    • Aw good I’m so glad!! I’m sure your body is going to love the break and you will come back stronger and rejuvenated πŸ˜€

  1. Pingback: Fitness Loves of the Week #12

  2. Pingback: Exercise Comparisons

  3. Pingback: How Do You Heal a Bruised Ego? | Love, Sweat, and Beers

Leave a Reply

