11/22/63

Hello friends :D.

I was a teensie bit sad last night. Why you ask?

Because I finished this book:

Source

Oh man you guys. This is seriously one of my new favorite books of all time. It was absolutely amazing. I posted the synopsis two weekends ago, so click that link if you want an idea of what it’s about! I don’t want to spoil anything about this book for you because I highly recommend that you read it!

11/22/63 was really long- 697 pages on my Nook, which means probably over 800 for a hardback…but it honestly did not feel long at all. In fact, I was really happy that it was so long because that meant the story just kept going. It was such a good story that I didn’t want it to end. Hence me being a bit sad.

The story was a mix of historical fiction (although many things were true), time travel, action, and romance. And somehow those words don’t quite seem to capture the full essence of what the book was. There was never a dull moment in 11/22/63. I thought all of the characters were incredibly well written and you can’t help but love most of them (there are some that you just want to hate too haha).

I thought it was really neat that Stephen King actually tried to write this novel back in the early 70s but he didn’t because he A: thought it was too soon after the Kennedy assassination and B: didn’t think he had enough time to do the proper research that was involved while being a full-time teacher. Well, all I know for sure is that I’m really happy he did go ahead and write it.

11/22/63 is seriously a beautiful story. Don’t let the large number of pages scare you off!

Here’s a quote from the book that I absolutely loved:

I believe in love, you know; love is a uniquely portable magic. I don’t think it’s in the stars, but I do believe that blood calls to blood and mind calls to mind and heart to heart.

Okay, now that I’ve professed my love for a book πŸ˜‰ I’ll wish you all a wonderful Wednesday!

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on April 18, 2012, in Books, Reading, Review. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. I’m 70% done with this book right now!!! (so my kindle says!) I’m loving it!

  2. Wow that sounds fabulous! Stephen King is SUCH a good writer, I’m definitely gonna have to pick this up. πŸ™‚

  3. Now I have to check this one out!

  4. Happy Wednesday, to you, too! πŸ™‚

  5. I am only about 20% through but i am loving this book so far!!

  6. Thanks for the book suggestion! I am always looking for good reads. I really want a Kindle so bad, but I can’t decide if I would rather just save up a little more and get an iPad instead! Decisions, decisions!

  7. Interesting book concept! Glad you liked it. Once I have more disposable income, I want to purchase some new books! πŸ™‚

  8. What a great quote! I love it when I read lines of books that resonate with me like that. I have a few pages flagged of quotes in the book I’m reading right now. I def will have to read this book sometime, sounds so intriguing, hope my attention span can take me through its length haha.

    • Haha I was sort of worried about the length too, but it didn’t even feel long! What are you reading right now?

  9. I keep hearing this book is good, I’ll have to check it out when finals are over!

  10. I read this book too! Is it not sooo good! I was super upset when it ended. Nothing I read now compares! Have a great day Lindsay!xo

  11. Looks great, I just added it to my “to read” list on Goodreads πŸ™‚

  12. I completely understand you’re feeling right now, I hate when you get soo into a book and a piece of you feels empty when you finish! ha

    I’ve been looking for a new read, this sounds awesome! I’ll have to check it out!

  13. I seriously wish I read as much as you! You are so admirable! I am going to read a book RIGHT when I finish exams on the beach in Barbados πŸ˜€

  14. I’m about halfway done with my current book (one that Craig is “making” me read) and I’m not too into it, so I’m adding this one to my list so I have one to be excited about when I’m done!

  15. I started it, but life got crazy and I had to return it to the library 😦 But I liked what I read….so thanks for inspiring me to find it again!

  16. Wow–putting this on my to-read list ASAP!

  17. Ahhh I LOVE hearing other peoples recommendations!!! Thank you!! Is it scary??

    xxoo

  18. I’ve seen this around a few different places, but hadn’t really heard about what it was about. So thanks for the review! I will make sure to check it out. πŸ™‚ I love a good read!

Leave a Reply

