Jersey Shore Mini Vacation

Hi everyone!!

I hope you all had an amazing weekend and Monday! I can’t wait to catch up on all of your lives :).

I had such a great weekend at the Jersey Shore! My friends and I arrived to Ocean City, NJ early Friday evening. After a long day of driving, we just wanted to hang out. So we went to the boardwalk and got some food to take back to the house for dinner. We spent most of the evening chatting at the kitchen table over food and wine and had lots of laughs. It was so nice to have a fun girls night in!

During the day on Saturday we headed to the beach to soak up some rays! The weather was gorgeous with blue skies and temperatures in the mid-70s!

While on the beach I started my new book that I downloaded – House Rules. It’s really really good so far!!

It’s been forever since I’ve read one of Jodi Picoult’s books and I don’t know why…she is such a good author! I’ll let you know about the book once I finish it!

Anyway, back to the shore…Saturday night we got a cab and headed into Atlantic City for a night on the town. We got dinner at one of the restaurants inside Ceasar’s Palace. It was delicious! It was tapas style, so we ordered several dishes and shared them :).

Cara, Jessica, and Emily

Kelly and I

The whole group!

After dinner we went to two different places inside of Ceasar’s for drinks- 21 Bar at Dusk and Dusk Nightclub. It was so fun to let loose a bit, chat with my girls, and dance the night away!!

Sunday we were back at the beach :). It was a bit too windy to really sit there though because the sand was blowing all over us! So we went back to the house and laid out on the porch. In the afternoon Emily, Kelly, and I walked to the boardwalk to get some ice cream!

That ice cream was chocolate covered pretzel…SO GOOD!! And isn’t the view gorgeous?! Later that night we just hung out, ordered in food, and watched some tv. It was a perfect, relaxing evening for our last night there!

While this mini vacation was short, it was definitely awesome and so worth the 6-hour drive! It was so nice to get away with friends and to relax and have a fun night out. And you know what else is great? I didn’t workout, and more importantly, I didn’t feel guilty about it :). I think my body really appreciated the 4 day break and in addition to feeling very refreshed, I’m also so happy that I didn’t let myself worry about the things I was eating and drinking on top of not exercising. I just completely enjoyed myself and it was so worth it!

Anyway, today I have to start packing up all of my belongings to move back home…I’m kind of dreading it haha.

**Oh and just a reminder, Tessa and I are meeting at the Davis Square J.P. Licks tomorrow evening at 7:30pm! If you’re in the Boston area and want to come, please do!!**

Have a great day everyone!

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on May 15, 2012, in Beach, Body Image, Friends, Life. Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. Wow what a FANTASTIC vacay!!! Looks like you and your friends had such a blast, and who can beat ice cream that looks like that! 😀

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    It looks like both of us had our fair share of fake vacationing this weekend– Except you had the beach in your weekend, so you win 😉

    Sounds like you had such a blast, and I’m so happy to hear that you did so well with the whole not working out thing. You’re making such great progress in such a short amount of time– I’m so proud of you!

  3. Love all of your outfits! A mini vacation is better than no vacation! 🙂

  4. Ice cream at the beach is the best!

  5. I love Jodi Picoult! I’ve only read one of her books but it was so good and brought me to tears! I’ll definitely have to buy this one and check it out. Glad you had a blast at the Jersey Shore, I’ve never been! And can’t wait to see you and Tessa tomorrow night 🙂 Yummm fro-yo!

  6. Stellina @ My Yogurt Addiction

    Looks like so much fun and you had great weather! I really want to visit the Jersey Shore at some point!

  7. Can’t wait to read that book & also go to the Jersey Shore one day! As a Carolina native, I have always grown up by the beaches here but have always wanted to check it out up there and by your blog, it looks like an awesome place to visit! 🙂

  8. That ice cream looks insanely delicious!!! I’m glad you had a fun time with your friends!

  9. Sounds like the perfect girls-only getaway weekend! Sometimes our bodies and mind needs a restful weekend like that.

    Can’t wait to meet you ladies tomorrow night!

  10. Fun! I’m happy to hear you had such a great time.

    I’m eager to hear more about the book. I almost read that one a while ago, so maybe I should look into it again.

  11. how FUN! i have to admit, i’m a little bit jealous of your time at the beach… 😉 i think cody and i need to plan a beach vacation soon. i miss it so much!

  12. Sounds like so much fun 🙂 Trips to the beach are always fantastic! Oh and the ice cream sounds amazing..

  13. Sounds like a great time! That ice cream looks amazing!

  14. What a fun little vacation! Glad you had a great time 😀

  15. That looks like such a great mini-vacation! Sometimes I wish I didn’t live in a landlocked state, so I could take quick trips like that too :)!

  16. That sounds like the perfect mini vacation! That is awesome that you had no “food/drink/exercise guilt” that we all know can come with a vacation. I’m so glad you had fun! Love you!

  17. OCNJ is my home away from home. It is actually my favorite place on the planet, and I can’t wait to head there for the month of July and soak up the sun, the sand, and the tasty boardwalk treats! Your post just got me all a-twitter with excitement.

  18. I’d give anything for some of that ice cream!!

  19. Looks like such a fun weekend! Glad you enjoyed yourself. Mmm that ice cream looks good too. Since we seem to love the same book, I am so checking that one out 🙂

  20. Fun!! It’s always nice to see girl friends. 🙂 Have a great time meeting Tessa!!

  21. ok, just so you know I am crying right now. I don’t know why!?!? This just makes me so happy! I just love knowing how happy you are! Oh my goodness! Thank you for sharing these pictures with me! I just love seeing that beautiful smile of yours!

    And the ice cream!? Chocolate pretzel!? Oh my! I haven’t even heard of that! 🙂

    I have House Rules, but have never read it!? I love Jodi, too! I am happy to hear you are loving it so far 🙂 I should have brought it home with me (it’s in London). Gee whiz.

    Your Friday night sounds PERFECT! I just love spending a girls night in!

  22. i’ve read house rules before… SO GOOD just like all of her other books!!!!! i wish i could meet up with you guys!! come to st louis?? 😉

  23. Sounds like a great weekend! Is House Rules Jodi’s latest? I think I have read it, is it about a boy with Asperger’s?

  24. Sounds like a great weekend!! I’m counting down the days until I see the beach. You look amazing in your pics by the way! 🙂

  25. Goodness this is great Lindsay and you and all of your friends are looking fiercely gorgeous 😉 Ice craem= a win, especially that delicious sounding flavor! I am excited to hear your thoughts on that book once you are done too

  1. Pingback: Grad School Graduation Weekend

Leave a Reply

